We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Delta Hotels Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arbutus Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$165
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,921)
Filter reviews
2,921 results
Traveller rating
2,406
418
69
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,406
418
69
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roomturn down servicecontinental breakfastgreat boutiquevalet parkinggas fireplacedowntown victoriaperfect locationwithin walking distancelovely hotelsmall hotelvalet servicegovernment streetparliament buildingbeautiful roomwonderful staytop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,631 - 2,636 of 2,921 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We chose the hotel to be near the inner harbor, but still have a small hotel experience. It met our needs completely. The room was beautiful, the staff was accommodating, and it was an easy walk to restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cora2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Cora2364,

Thank you for your stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We truly appreciate your kind words about our location, great rooms and accomodating staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Pros:
Hotel website;
Special rates;
Making our reservations online, changing our reservations by phone;
Emails from hotel;
Ideal location - close and east walking distance to Government Street (leads to all the shopping), Inner Harbor, Chinatown, Royal BC Museum;
Parking (valet $20/day);
Hot coffee and tea in the Lobby 24/7;
Lemonade in the Lobby in the afternoons;
Comfortable, clean rooms and bathrooms;
Wonderful beds;
Continental breakfast - better than chain hotels';

Cons:
Front desk staff - none of them were friendly!
Based on the hotel website and emails showing smiling staff, I was expecting friendly front desk staff. We interacted with at least 3 (2 women and 1 man) over the course of our 4 day stay. They did not appear to be particularly busy (I did not see a line of people waiting to), so we couldn't figure out why they were not welcoming and happy.
Fortunately, the valet, bell service, housekeeping and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, a Superior Corner Room and a Superior Room. For a little more $, the Corner Room is noticeably larger and brighter.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loritomhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian44, Front Office Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear loritomhi,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Victoria and sharing your feedback with us.

I was very sorry to hear about your disappointment with our Front Desk Staff.
We strive to maintain a high level of service standards and are very proud of our ranking on Tripadvisor, our service awards and guest satisfaction scores.

I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience personally and have forwarded my contact information to you directly.

Julian Peters
Front Office Manager
Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My BFF and I spent 5 days on a "girls getaway" trip to Victoria, BC. Our stay at the Magnolia made the trip an A+. We booked a double queen room on a special summer deal, so got a great price. The beds were very comfortable, the room was very clean and up to date, with a nice flat panel TV. The complimentary continental breakfast was very tasty and filling - it included waffles, fruit, pastries, yogurt, cheese, hardboiled eggs, sliced meats, juices, coffee and tea.

We both had spa treatments - I had a hot stone massage and a cellulite treatment - the spa was very nice, wonderful robes to wear in the lounge before and after the treatments. While the treatments were a bit pricey, they were in line with other luxury spa treatment prices.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, although it was one of the higher rated steak places in Victoria - but it sure did smell good whenever we walked by at night.

The best thing about the Magnolia was the location - only a block from the Inner Harbor - located in the Old Town section of Victoria - so it was very easy to walk everywhere. The only vehicle transport we used from to/from the airport and out to Butchart Gardens.

I will definitely stay at the Magnolia the next time I go to Victoria - this time with my husband!

Room Tip: Check out the hotel specials on their web page
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thanks for the great review from your girls getaway with your BFF !
We're thrilled you enjoyed the location, our guest rooms and the Spa,

We can't wait to welcome you back with your husband on your next visit!
I have sent my contact info via private message -- please let me know if i can be of assistance.

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a pretty corner king room where we could lie in bed and see the seagulls circling around. This hotel is very handy for good restaurants and the downtown shops. Our main complaint is that they did not service the rooms of what they called "stayovers" until after 4pm. They will service the room earlier upon request, but the day that we requested earlier service, the staff did an incomplete job. We are cyclists, and we like to return to a made-up room so that we can shower and rest. Also the breakfast, included with the room, was not very good. Many of the items were tasteless.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merebruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you Merebruin for your recent stay and your feedback,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the central harbour location of the hotel, and our proximity to shops and restaurants, from your elegant corner room.

With respect to our housekeeping policy, I appreciate our being in touch following your stay to clear up any confusion with our hotel policies. The hotel housekeeping team services our rooms, both incoming and guests staying over, at any time in the day as they come available. Any requests for room service are attended to immediately and take precendence. I apologize that a miscommunication caused any inconvenience in your visit with us.

Thank you again for your business with the Magnolia. We hope to see you back soon with us.
If I can be of personal assitance at any time, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel for a few nights to explore Victoria after returning from a cruise in Alaska. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location to explore the city! The lobby is warm & inviting with comfy chairs and fresh flowers. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The hotel provides guests with plush robes and slippers. Our room was well maintained, and we had turn down service every night. The continental breakfast offers a good selection of food choices. On the first day, the staff was a bit slow in replenishing the food, but the service improved the next day. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed this gem in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailorgal12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thanks for your great review phylloef !

We were thrilled to have you as our guest following you cruise in Alaska!

I'm glad you enjoyed the warm & inviting lobby, plush robes and the selections in our deluxe continental breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews