We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A boutique hotel in a great location. Walking distance to most everything you'd want to see in downtown Victoria. Our room was excellent and very quiet. Every morning we would go to the free breakfast served in the resturaunt, and before we got back to our room, within an hour, housekeeping had very efficiently already cleaned our room. Each night housekeeping did a turndown service and left chocolates on the nightstand. As for the breakfast, it was a step above a regular Continental breakfast, consisting of an assortment of juices, milk, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, really good muffins, oatmeal, cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, cheese and turkey platter, waffles, and other things that I can't remember. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with the free Wi-Fi in our room and it didn't take 5 minutes for someone to be at our door to fix the problem. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When you reserve book on their website and ask for corner room. They offer some good deals on pre-p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 2,842 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Magnolia Hotel was beautiful and perfectly located within a couple blocks of the harbor, a wide variety of restaurants and shopping!!! The room was very luxurious and quiet with a side view of the Parliament Building ~ so lovely to see at night! :) Hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. I would happily stay here again! :))

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouncingbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear bouncingbunny,

Thanks for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback about your visit with us.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed the luxurious room and wonder view of the legislative buildings; particularly at night!

We certainly hope we get to see you again soon with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa,

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

When we arrived at the hotel I got a bit grumpy, where do I need to park my car? No signs pointing a parking out, help! Put the car in front of the hotel and we found out the hotel got valet parking, what a pleasent suprise! With the car out of the way the reception was very friendly and professional. Our suitcases where taken out of the car and checkin went very smooth.

Then on the room, we booked a diamond level room on he top floor which was very nice. We hoped for a room with a balcony but that did not really mind. The room was very clean and comfortable with very nice beds. The room was made ready with botle of water for everybody and chocolates for the taking. Around 6 pm he beds where taken down by the staff which felt being treated like a royal!
We really had a good sleep and found the morning paper in front of our door when we woke up, what a great service.

The breakfast was good and of good quality. We liked it very much!

The hotel is located in central Victoria hich is very nice. Only a couple of blocks away to all the highlights the city has to offer. Great icecream round the corner and very good restaurants nearby in all priceranges. We would definately come back again!

Room Tip: Go for the diamand level if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roses2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thanks for taking the time to share your great review of your stay with us.

To begin your stay, I'm glad our valet team got you settled in and car parked as you arrived and off to your lovely room. We are also thrilled that our welcome service with chocolates and water and evening turn down service left a royal-treatment impression. Overall, it sound like you had a great visit with us at The Magnolia.

Thanks again for the great feedback on your stay!

Yours Truly,

Bill Lewis,
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was a special occassion for my wife and I and we were treated with great attention to detail, kindness and respect. We did feel special thanks to the service and staff. Our supper at the steak house was beyond expectations. We are already planning our next stay

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Breakfast left quite a lot to be desired, limited hot food and did not meet our expectations

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank IanWhiteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were very pleased with everything about the hotel. The rooms are very large with lots of windows, nice views, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, and great robes. The buffet breakfast was also excellent, and included in the price. I think it would be difficult to find a better hotel value anywhere in Victoria that offers this level of comfort and service for a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I used to live in Victoria so we were familiar with The Magnolia, and decided to try it out. The location is excellent, perfect for exploring downtown.
The service is great, everyone was very friendly. The lobby seemed a bit tired, but decent. There was complimentary coffee and tea which was a nice touch.
Our room was nice, lovely furniture and a fireplace. The bathtub was tiny and the bathroom felt dingy, but they did provide razors which was great since I'd forgotten mine!
The view was....disappointing. Yes, we could see a bit of the harbor, but it was overshadowed by the rooftops covered in seagull droppings. It was disgusting! I realize there's nothing the hotel can do about it, but it certainly detracts from what could be a lovely view.
I had a pedicure at the spa and it was wonderful! The spa is beautiful, and everyone was super friendly. The Aveda products are excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you for your stay with us Mr. & Mrs. Scott,

I would like to first thank you for all the kind comments about the hotel, our friendly staff, beautiful rooms and our spa. We appreciate this kind feedback. I am sorry you didn't find our bathrooms to your liking. Our baths with seperate shower and deep tubs, marble counters and floors, and lit vanity mirrors are generally well received by our guests, so this is disappointing to hear. I was pleased that the razor we include in the bath amenities was useful. We specialize in those little details at The Magnolia, and I'm glad a simple inclusion of a razor was a benefit to your stay.

With respect to Victoria's seagulls -- I'm truly sorry that you were not able to enjoy the views from your room as a result of seagull droppings. As you may have read in our local papers during your visit, Victoria has had an unusually high seagull population this season causing all sorts of messy challenges throughout the downtown core. Again, I'm very sorry and disappointed that this issue had such a detrimental impact on your visit.

I have forwarded my contact information, and hope we can be in touch.

Warm regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,915 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,352 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 47 in Victoria
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £115 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing