We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early August. So many reasons to love this place:
#1: Friendly, courteous, helpful staff;
#2: Beautiful, clean rooms;
#3: Nice fitness room (small but cool);
#4: Good continental breakfast, lots of choices;
#5: apples, hot coffee & tea as well as iced-tea or lemonade in the lobby all day (sorry, but that is a nice little touch), and
#6: a list of local restaurants selected by the staff rather than just pushing their own restaurant.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thanks for the great review Rita!

We love that you found "so many reasons to love this place" and hope to see you back again soon!

I'm thrilled you enjoyed the clean rooms, Ice tea & Lemonade in the lobby and great staff recommendations. We've got a great team here at the Magnolia, and I'm glad they had such a great impact on your visit.

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,244
    398
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
458
1,412
123
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newzealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We did a lot of research before settling on the Magnolia for our two night stay, and we weren't disappointed. We arrived by Clipper from Seattle, and were able to walk from the ferry terminal to the hotel. We were early so went out to explore Victoria, but the hotel reception staff undertook to txt us as soon as our room was ready. The room was spacious, with a view out to the city, and the King size bed very comfortable, with good quality linen. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and provided a very satisfying selection of fresh fruit, croissants, etc. We also enjoyed the availability of complimentary coffee or tea in the Lobby. The hotel is ideally located, close to the Empress Hotel (afternoon high tea), the Legislature and many of the cafes and restaurants. Tour bus booths, for bookings to the Buchardt gardens, are only a minute's walk. We booked early and obtained a price which we felt compared very favourably with other hotels in Victoria. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caropete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Caropete,


I'm thrilled that we met your high expectations from previous reviews, and thanks for taking the time to share yours with others online!

I'm glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms, city view and the king bed in your room, as well as the hotel's close proximity to the inner habour, shopping, and tour busses out to the amazing Butchart Gardens.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again with us in Victoria!

All the best,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I love this hotel. It's very clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to the inner harbor so it's easy to just walk there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank googleroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Good location and beautiful, spacious and comfortable room in a Victorian style with a view of the roof of the Empress Hotel, though we did not need the double beds. Bathroom is large, luxurious.

I though was charged an extra even if I already paid through Expedia, which I had to call back for a refund. Refund was prompt and accurate.

Room Tip: Ask for bed preferences and because they will assume that everyone prefers two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sport5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for two nights. We were on a short tour around the Gulf Islands. I booked the hotel through Priceline so was expecting the lowest quality room. We were initially placed in a room with a view of a wall but after telling a staff person we were on our honeymoon we were upgraded for no charge to a room with a view of downtown Victoria. The room was very nice and spacious with a gas fireplace. The bathroom was large with a 2 person jacuzzi tub that appeared very clean and a nice shower. The location was great in that we could walk to many bars and restaurants. So all in all, a great value for your money and a nice hotel staff. They also have a breakfast in their restaurant that is included.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room, you will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, AUS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed at the Magnolia for one night before a long haul flight back to Australia. The room was spacious and had a great view of the harbour. The bathroom amenities were all Aveda (LOVE!). I had the breakfast in the morning which was quite good. It had a lot of cold selections, but also had waffles with berry topping , yummo!

I also took advatage of the spa the next day and had a couple services. Best spa iv ever been to. The atmosphere was so relaxing and very very clean. The womens locker room with a spacious shower and aveda products came in handy to freshen up before my flight.

I would be back again in heart beat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
JKrau,

Thanks for sharing such a great review about your stay!

It sounds like a wonderful visit with the spacious room, great view of the harbour and our Aveda amenities!

Thanks also for the wonderful feedback on our Spa Magnolia. We'll pass along your comments to their great team!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa,

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I recently spent two days at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa and found it a perfect base from which to see Victoria. We had a nice, spacious corner room with a view of the harbor. Service was good and breakfast was included. AAA discount helped. The hotel is just one block from the harbor, near the Fairmont Empress. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_duo_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing