We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A one night trip to Victoria with my boyfriend and there was no doubt that we would stay at The Magnolia once again. A superb boutique hotel just steps from the downtown action. Rooms are immaculate and we stayed in room 704, which is the top floor. We had a view of the harbor and two murals on nearby brick buildings, and a slight view of the Parliament buildings to the left, if you were right up at the floor to ceiling window.

The staff are helpful, attentive and welcoming. They even remembered the reason for our trip was to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday - and left him a card and box of Roger's chocolates in our room! Fabulous service and their attention to detail is what keeps us coming back. Breakfast is included in your stay and is quite the spread... oatmeal with brown sugar, dried blueberries, dried cranberries, yogurt, bagels, toast, belgian waffles with whip cream, syrup and berry toppings, cheeses, boiled eggs, meat slices, cereal choices, apple juice, orange juice, Tazo teas, coffee, hot chocolate, apples and bananas, and I've probably even missed something!

The king bed is so comfortable and I wish I knew where to buy those sheets! Our room had a gas fireplace as well. Nice large soaker tub with separate glass shower. Aveda products. Have not tried their spa, but the gym has expanded with more equipment than last time and there is now an infrared sauna to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
kinx81,

Thank you for the great feedback about your return stay with us!
I'm thrilled you enjoyed 704 and the chocolates we had for your arrival.

I appreciate the great detail in your review, and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,207
    395
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
452
1,387
121
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Arrived at the Magnolia and was promptly greeted by an apparent hotel staffer inquiring if we were checking into the hotel. At our positive response, he stated he would be right back to help with our lugguge, went back into the hotel and we did not see him again during our check in. We took care of our own lugguge from there on out. Poly at the front desk, was very cordial and efficient. She had made requested restaurant reservations prior to our arrival and was helpful in showing us restaurant locations on map. Upon arrival to the room, we found the bed already totally turned down (6 pm) which made me wonder if the bed had even been changed (probably just me); however, the initial impression when seeing a room for the first time is not the same as seeing a room perfectly clean and made-up. Found the bathroom decor okay, a bit dated and showing some wear, but the shower was found with moldy and soiled areas in various places. View was pretty good with glimpses of the harbor and better veiws of the Empress and government buildings. Staff were generally found not overly friendly or helpful. Breakfast buffet was okay for a time or two, but repetitive and nothing special. Would suggest variations every couple of days and maybe a couple of signature items. Great location to downtown and habor areas. Poly was great, but the other staff need a few lessons in PR. Might want to also follow-up on housekeeping services.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_light57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Travelling_light,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback.

I'm truly sorry that some of the aspects of your stay were disappointing. I have forwarded my contact information to you via private message and would love to be in touch further.

I appreciate the kind words about Polly. This is the personalized level of service you should expect from every staff member with us, and I'm sorry that this was not consistent during your visit.

With respect to the rooms, we have some updates and touch ups planned to rectify many of the nicks and scuffs from a busy season. We strive to keep our product at an impeccable level at all times, and it appears this was below this expectation on your last visit.

I hope we can be in touch further, and truly thank you for your business and your feedback.

Sincerley,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I've travel a lot to Victoria and have become quite picky over the years. Let me tell you that the Magnolia beats out almost any other local hotel (can't comment on the Delta or Empress as I haven't stayed at either yet). It's small, but not too small. Has all the amenities a business traveller needs (fitness centre, business centre, free continental breakfast - with a good variety of choices, etc). I do wish the fitness area was bigger but given the comfy beds, huge rooms, beautiful bathrooms and other pluses, I'll compromise.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaMiamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our congrats to hotel manager Bill Lewis.He made our our 5 day stay fantastic. We had a room glitch which he kindly heard and responded to immediately and that went for all the staff as well. We also enjoyed 2 dinners at Prime restaurant in the hotel. The location is great , we loved the valet parking ease and rooms were clean and spacious. Staffers Chasity, Catherine and Marilyn were exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1234trip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our grandchildren and friends on the Island. The hotel is superb in every way from the really comfortable bed to the excellent buffet breakfast. The finishings in the room and bathroom are top of the line and the view from our room to the Parliament Buildings was great. Bathrobes/up-scale toiletries/wireless internet....you couldn't ask for anything more. The staff were great helping us with information and asking if we needed anything else. We both enjoyed the wonderful spa facilities next door with a facial for me and massage for my husband. What sets this hotel apart from others is the fact that it really caters to the customers comfort and goes all the way to ensure a great visit to Victoria. It is located right down-town close to all the sights and the harbour. We absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone visiting BC's capital city. Bev Thompson,Blue Mountains' Ontario

Room Tip: Corner Suites have a great view of the Parliament Buildings which are lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BevMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

As a tourist or business traveller this is the perfect accomodation. An older building with high end finishing located in the heart of downtown.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

What a joy to find this hotel where we stayed two nights.
A large, well-appointed bedroom with an equally impressive bathroom. Elemis toiletries in the bathroom. Very comfortable beds.
Situated less than half a mile from the harbour and Downtown it is very well positioned in a quiet side street.
The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious, comprising cold cuts, waffles, fruit, cereals, yogurt, hot porridge. Free tea and coffee all day in reception.
Quite honestly there is nothing to fault in this gem of a hotel and I would unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotted-Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,030 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,600 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing