We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel recently and were most impressed. Our room (a basic queen) was large and very clean. The bathroom had a tub as well as a stand-alone shower, and a small cabinet which was most useful. The continental breakfast provided excellent variety. All of the staff were well-trained, helpful and extremely friendly. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Magnolia Hotel. We didn't use the spa so can't comment; we were in the city to visit with family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,358 - 2,364 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

While many folks want to stay at the Empress when visiting Victoria, you can have a lovely room just 2 blocks away for a much more reasonable price. The Magnolia has an attentive staff and very comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms. We slept very well and had a good continental breakfast in the adjoining restaurant the next morning while the waiter helped us plan out our day with suggestions of good walking tours. We would have missed the little houseboat harbor if he hadn't told us about it, although the promised sea lions were not in yet . . .probably because the fishing boats hadn't yet returned. Great location, and value. Wish we had time to try the spa!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

For our last night on Victoria Island we chose to stay at the Magnolia. Quite expensive, but located in the middle of the center of Victoria. The receptionists are friendly, helpful and they have humor. It is a hotel with style, but it lacks the stiffness of other good hotels. I liked that a lot!

The rooms are very good; even if you take standard rooms. Try to get on on a higher floor. From our window we could see the Parliament Building - at night wonderfully illuminated.

Beds are fantastic.We slept very well!

The restaurant - steaks - is fine!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanWilberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our son booked this hotel for us assuring us that it was one of the best he had stayed in (and he has stayed in many!), and we were not disappointed. Having just had two five night stays in huge city hotels in Toronto and Vancouver the Magnolia felt so relaxing to walk into. Checking in was quick and efficient and the jug of cold lemonade to help yourself to most welcome.
What a beautiful room - loved the decor and furnishings. Fruit, water and chocolates were a bonus we did not expect. Big, very comfortable bed. Large, spotlessly clean bathroom with large fluffy towels and bathrobes.
We did not have a room with a view but that was immaterial - we were only there for two nights so hadn't gone to admire the view from the hotel window.
Very well located - just minutes from the waterfront.
Didn't feel the choice for breakfast was wonderful but what was there was very nice and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. It was perfectly adequate and so convenient not having to go out and find somewhere to eat.
The lobby was very comfortable to sit in especially for that last half hour waiting to be picked up for the airport. Tea and coffee for you to help yourself to.
Overall a really lovely hotel with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneNewcastleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A lovely boutique hotel with large comfortable rooms, nice decor, and a great location. The little touches make you feel special - chocolates and apples left in the rooms every day, a free newspaper outside your room each morning to read at breakfast, free lemonade all day in the lobby, and we were upgraded on arrival and to a lovely corner room with a working fire in the corner! The staff were all really friendly and helpful too.

The only downside was the relatively small choice of options at breakfast, but as the breakfast was free (the other hotels in Vancouver we had to pay for it) we didn't mind!

Definitely one of the best, if not the best, hotels in Victoria

Holiday tips for Victoria/Vancouver Island: Eagle Wing whale watching tours are fantastic (we saw 30+ killer whales) and the Adrena Line (zip wiring) in Souk is amazing!

Raver & Kat

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raver_and_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We visited the Magnolia at the end of April for our anniversary. Our room on the top floor was excellent with a great view of the harbour. Service was great and staff friendly. Free breakfast was convenient if not gourmet (but it;s free). Having stayed in Victoria many times I'm suprised how close it was to everything. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Definite 5 star treatment. Wonderful email help before our stay: arranging Whale Watching tour including transportation; even notified us a couple of days in advance of our visit that a room that we may better enjoy was available for the same price!!! Amazingly proactive!!!! The hotel was built in the 1990s and has all new technology - quiet, well appointed, over sized rooms (at least in the Diamond rooms). The breakfast buffet was constantly refreshed and had a great variety of breads, fruit, drinks; waffles were freshly prepared and egg/cheese single servings were hot from the grill. To go boxes were available by request if leaving for early tours, etc. The hotel is 2 blocks from Visitor Center on the harbor, the Empress, the main restaurant/pub/shops streets of Douglas and Government. We walked everywhere - including the several blocks to Craigdarroch Castle. We were 2 women traveling alone, we always felt totally safe and cared for.

Room Tip: City View rooms may have very obstructed views due to tall buildings surrounding the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSophiemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,918 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,352 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 47 in Victoria
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £114 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing