We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have stayed at the Magnolia several times. Their rates at Christmas time were most attractive including, as usual, the self-serve, (with server attention as requested or required), good variety, continental breakfast and, this time, no-charge valet parking. In addition, on the 26th of December, there was a self-serve afternoon provision of food and drink similar to the fare at breakfast. On the 27th of December - we did stay two nights, the 25th and the 26th, there was to be a wine and cheese reception for guests. We could not attend that.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade to a top floor corner room. Downtown Victoria is fairly quite in any case s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Rodney,

Thank you for your recent stay with us over the holiday period.
On behalf of our entire team I am thrilled that you enjoyed your
visit with us, and some of the extra offerings we had around Christmas.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    380
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
414
1,297
114
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was very enjoyable. It was close to a lot of the places to see. The hotel was clean and comfortable and we would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindamariewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel once in the winter for three nights and it was great experience. The staff were great and helpful, the lobby was warm and showed hospitality by free hot chocolate, apple cinnamon and more. What I like it in this hotel more is room service, the cleaned each room twice a day, they put a chocolate and a nice message each time. The only con in that the hotel does not have sauna, stem room or swimming pool; however, they give you free pass to close gym where you can get this. I got the booking from Price line so the rate was almost half.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had a corner suite on 6th floor which had a fireplace. Both elevators were large, and quickly available at all times. Great location -- easy access to stores and eating places. Heating equipment was very quiet which is rare.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Our 3 nite stay at the Magnolia Hotel was nothing short of brilliant. The service, location & breakfast really make this place special. We didn't spend much time in the room but found their standard king to be spacious & comfortable, albeit looking over a carpark. The self serve coffee/tea in the lobby was great, and in the evening they offered hot apple cider & the best shortbread cookies I have ever encountered. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WylieKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed 3 nights in December and love this hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There was even a mini view of the parliament buildings from room 403. We moved rooms on 2nd night (due to way I had made reservation) and room 510 which had a city view was bright and quiet too. I would request room ending in 03 or 04 next time though on floor 4 or higher as it was great to have the peekaboo view of the water and parliament building. We parked the car upon arrival and walked everywhere, exploring and shopping. It is right next to the Empress on a quiet side street.

The hotel offers coffee and tea in lobby and the breakfast included was fantastic (toast, eggs, waffles). There was also a piano player in the lobby (not sure if that is only for holiday season but was nice touch).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes boutique hotels and is travelling to Victoria. Thank you Magnolia for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 03 or 04 4th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantraveldiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Canadiantraveldiva,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us!

I'm glad you enjoyed room 403. There are some great views of the harbour, and the interesting old buildings in our neighborhood, from this side of the hotel. I'm also glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the piano playing. Our pianist currently plays on Saturday mornings most every week.

Being nearby from Courtney, we do hope to see you back soon!

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please email me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

The in room amenities here were great, the room was lovely, the staff were friendly, the location was very convenient. I really recommend requesting a higher floor, the first night I had to wait until the drunks stopped yelling at each other and singing to sleep. The bed and bedding were super comfy and the soaker tub was awesome. Comfy plush robe and slippers and the deluxe continental breakfast was really generous and yummy.

Room Tip: higher floor = less street noise (I hope!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisontedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Alison,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

We truly appreciate your business. I am truly sorry that the outside
noise on the evening you stayed took away from the many positive areas
of the stay you noted. This is very disappointing given there were
so many elements you enjoyed about your visit.

I hope we can welcome you back again. Please email directly
at gm@magnoliahotel.com and it would be my pleasure to ensure
we deliver and even more comfortable stay on a higher floor as you noted.

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing