We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is our second time staying at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa. We stayed three nights in a corner room on the 6th floor with a fireplace. We stayed last year and were surprised that they have upgraded the rooms. It is obvious that they upgrade before it looks like it needs it. What a clean, cozy, beautiful hotel. The lobby has a two sided fireplace so that you can also enjoy it in the breakfast area on chilly mornings. Victoria is known for the flowers. In the hotel lobby they have a huge fresh flower arrangement that is frequently changed. The rooms are spacious and feel luxurious. The bed is very comfortable. You feel like you are in a really nice private apartment when you enter the hotel. Location is right next to the Empress on the shopping side of town. You really can't get a better location. This hotel has is all. Great location, really, really nice rooms and bathrooms, great service, and a good continental breakfast with smoothies. They have single serve good coffee in the rooms. I drink a lot so they gave me as many packets as I wanted. When you walk out of the lobby you can be in the heart of shopping or the harbor in 3 minutes. It is 10 minutes to Beacon Hill Park. All the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace. Higher floors have better views. We have had both a water view and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your recent visit with us in Victoria, and returning for another lovely stay.

Thank you also for the kind comments about our 2013 room renovation. We did indeed plan our renovation to occur prior to the hotel's standards ever being allowed to decline. I am thrilled that you enjoyed this stay as much as your last in our luxe new rooms.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the luxurious rooms, the location, and the intimate feeling of our lobby.

I truly hope we see you back for many more visits with us,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a review for a stay that occurred from August 25-31, 2013

This visit was partially business (conference) and personal family travel. The locate is conveniently located near the Victoria Convention Centre and all of the tourist destinations within the core of Victoria, more importantly it is located a small side street (a very nice safe sidestreet) that is very quiet in the evenings.

We arrived early so our room was not ready, they happily stored our bags and offered to call our cellphone when the room was ready. They also indicated that they would have the cleaning staff tend to the room immediately. We left our bags and went in search of lunch. No sooner did we order than the hotel called indicating the room is ready. We wandered back after a great meal and formally checked in. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated, east facing (not the greatest view but we had a window that opened), and spotless -- not marks on the walls or furniture. It was evident that this hotel maintains their facilities on a regular basis.

Our luggage was already in the room, sitting on luggage racks. Our small groceries had been put into the fridge (there is also a mini-bar, the prices almost compared to what you can buy in the stores around the hotel). I imagine they would have unpacked for us if we requested.

**They had turn down service and chocolates on the bed side tables every evening** Nice touch.

Decent, but not great continental breakfast. Service at the concierge's desk was excellent, tech support for a wifi issue was prompt and efficient. All in all the staff took the time to be professional and friendly.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you Christopher for the kind and detailed comments about your visit with us.

I am so pleased that our service levels and attention to detail had such a positive impact on your visit with us in Victoria.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again with us. If I can be of personal assistance in any way in the future please let me know.

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Magnolia for our 2 night visit to Victoria in Sept 13 and absolutely loved it. We had room 706 - a lovely light filled room with views to the inner harbour. It also had huge bed with lovely linnen, plenty of space to spread out and a gas fireplace to boot. Spotlessly clean we could no have asked for a nicer room - probably the best we had in our 10 week trip away. The staff were very helpful with early access to our room on arrival (not bad for 10:30 in the morning) and a breakfast to go pack when we had to leave at 5am for our flight back to Vancouver. All up a great base to explore Victoria from.

Dining tip: if you are looking for a meal nearby try the 10 Acre bar and grill across the road for great fesh local food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights (family of five) at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa in July and were very happy with both the hotel and the location, which is very convenient to the harbor, restaurants and shopping. We found the "standard" rooms we had to be beautiful, with a partial view of the harbor. There were complimentary waters, apples and chocolates left in the room and lemonade was provided in the lobby. The rooms were very well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and there were plenty of options in the lobby restaurant, whose decor was very nice. (Minor note on the to-go cups for the coffee/tea...the cups were small and the lids provided were too large. I pointed this out and was told that was all they had, which made me think "then why even put lids out", but no big deal.)

The bathroom was nice. However, the shower was very small (which made shaving one's legs a bit of a challenge). Also, though it wasn't a big deal, there was no small recognition or reference to a special occasion we were celebrating, though it would have been nice. (I told each of the 3 hotels we stayed at on this trip about the occasion, and 2 of the 3 recognized it.) The front desk was helpful but I was looking for some stronger opinions about what we should do with our limited time in Victoria.

A few quick notes about the rest of our trip...Victoria is a beautiful city with hanging baskets of flowers lining the streets and we loved walking around it. The Canadian people are very friendly. The harbor area is beautiful. Definitely take a Harbor Cruise on the small, colorful harbor taxis. We had a great tour guide. We had dinner one night at an Italian restaurant called Zambri's (which some locals told us about when we went ziplining at Adrena) and it was fantastic. I would highly recommend it. It's a healthy walk from the hotel, but doable. We attempted to go the Irish Times one day for lunch, but was told it was Adult only (and we had 2 children), even though they have a restaurant that is separate from the bar area. Since we are from the states, this was a new one on us, but we moved on to The Local Kitchen. The food was good but a little pricey for lunch. Dinner last night at the Sticky Wicket up the street was fine, but nothing of note. Do not miss Butchart Gardens. It is spectacular (and I am not even a garden person).

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia and would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Looking from outside of the Hotel looked somewhat like a so so hotel to stay in. However, once we got into the lobby it was completely different story. From the friendly staff that valet my car and the cold and hot drink inside the lobby. The corner two rooms that we stay in was very nice and clean. The bathroom water pressure and the other little things in the room indicated the management was very thoughtful. The continent breakfast had a few selection, but the excellent bacon and the tentative service make up the difference. I would stay in this hotel again next time in Victoria.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

what a great hotel, we stayed here for three nights during our tour of Vancouver island

great location in the center of victoria, rooms were large and spotless, rate was very reasonable...and staff were very very helpful

great breakfast in the restaurant, altogether a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in Victoria, but the Magnolia was a fabulous property and we very much enjoyed it. Check in was fast, room was beautiful with harbor view. Room was large with chocolates, apples and bottled water in the room upon arrival. Also had mini bar with a nice selection. Restaurant had continental breakfast which had nice selection. Staff most helpful and friendly and very helpful is restaurant selection. Highly recommend the Magnolia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,000 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,617 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £106 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel. Elegant rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, two poster beds and deep soaker tubs. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Restaurant closed for renovation, exciting new dining experience to be unveiled in Spring of 2018. Tranquil Spa Magnolia with 7 treatment rooms and organic products. Boutique luxury. Personalized service. Authentic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing