We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sheets, room and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a great stay 3 nights at the end of Sep 2013. The location is by the Empress! So it's one block from the Inner Harbor launches for whale watching and tours. You are within 10 minutes walking of several excellent restaurants as well as the highly rated British Columbia Museum. The staff helped us with umbrellas when needed, restaurant recommendations that were perfect, and got us breakfast to go when we need to leave before the 6:30 am breakfast buffet opening.

The feel is like a little boutique hotel, snuggled in the bustling town of Victoria.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 2,866 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

It is something special, out of the ordinary, that inspires this posting.

Other posts rightly exclaim the virtues of this lovely hotel - staff, service, rooms, food and location. But it was the response the Front Desk staff and General Manager to our unexpected early departure (made necessary by emergency) that elevates status to the highest levels and distinguishes them from other high end venues. Specifically, we neither expected nor sought refund on nights not used, but we received that courtesy quickly and with ease.

Whenever service is "off the grid," not in the rule book, but in the highest interests of relationship building, focused entirely on the customer, this is when I know a hotel, its leadership, management and staff are extraordinary.

They will have our repeat business with thanks and gratitude.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost for harbour view. While still very pleasant, our room overlooked roofs of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Peter,

Thank you sincerely for your kind review of The Magnolia.
It was a truly a pleasure to have you with us at the hotel, and I am sorry that your stay was unexpectedly cut short.

I am pleased you appreciated our service. We have a wonderful team of professionals who care passionately about our business. As you correctly noted, it is indeed far more important for us to have a long term & satisfied guest than to enforce a penalty on what was an unexpected departure.

We all look forward to your return visit on your next trip West to Victoria,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Best location in Victoria. Close to the water, shopping, restaurants and museums. Felt safe walking around at night. Hotel room had a view of the waterfront on the 6th floor. Room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. We were given complimentary continental breakfast for the attached restaurant and that was also good. We did not use the Spa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My sister and I had the privilege of staying in this wonderful spot this last weekend. What a great hotel. It is close to everything in downtown Victoria. We found excellent dinner places within a block. Shopping and the water are a block away. The hotel has just been renovated and the rooms a beautiful. Ours had a lovely gas fireplace, the in-room amenities were Aveda, and wonderful plush robes to wear. We also tried out the Magnolia Spa next door, which was also lovely. The restaurant in the hotel Catalona was delicious for dinner.

My only reason for not giving 5 stars was for 2 reasons: 1. Parking is an additional $24 per day, which is steep. There was on street parking free overnight but because it is in a great dining location, it was difficult to find parking which was free after 6 pm M-Sat, and Free Sunday, so if you are hanging around the hotel to enjoy the close by things to do, you had to either pay the $24 or plug the meter on a regular basis
2. A wonderful breakfast served downstairs in the restaurant was lovely, however they didn't seem prepared for morning crowds as we had to wait both mornings for waffles and/or omelettes to be placed into the warming dish. They were delicious if you happened to time it right and get some, but felt they could have been better prepared.

OverLl, a great experience and highly recommend. We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel the first week of July for one night after spending two nights in Vancouver. I wish I had spent my entire trip here. The room was amazing. The bed was super comfortable. The staff bent over backwards to help with anything I needed. As a solo female traveller I felt safe in the hotel itself and down by the waterfront and parliament buildings. Two days and one night was not enough time.

I didn't have time to visit the spa but heard other travellers speak to how fabulous it was.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Rose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Rose from Toronto,

Thank you so much for the kind review of your stay with us in July.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room, and the location to the harbour and shops.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to The Magnolia on your next journey to Victoria,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After staying at the Magnolia in Denver on a previous vacation I decided to book again at a Magnolia on our recent 12 day road trip through Canada. One of our nights was to spend time in Victoria. People brag about the Fairmount (of which is beautiful), but the prices are way too high. We decided to stay at the Magnolia, which was just around the corner from the Fairmount. It would be hard to believe that they would get better service than we did. The staff at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa in Victoria was top shelf! From the front desk to the valet service, we could not have asked for more. The rooms were comfortable, clean, plenty large enough and the location was perfect, being no more than one block from the harbor. I will continue to search for a Magnolia on every trip we may take in the future. You can't go wrong. Just a hint. We were upgraded to a corner room that had a perfect view. Ask for one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Maxnsimon,

Thank you for the kind words following your visit with us.

On behalf of our entire team we truly appreciate the kind comments about the perfect location, guest rooms with a perfect view and exceptional service.

With respect to your wonderful stays with the Magnolia hotels in the USA, I did want to point out for clarity that the Magnolia Hotel & Spa is not affiliated in any way to the chain in the USA. I do understand however that the Magnolia hotel group in the USA runs a exceptional collection of hotels, and am certain they are equally as worthy of your kind feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel,

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is our second time staying at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa. We stayed three nights in a corner room on the 6th floor with a fireplace. We stayed last year and were surprised that they have upgraded the rooms. It is obvious that they upgrade before it looks like it needs it. What a clean, cozy, beautiful hotel. The lobby has a two sided fireplace so that you can also enjoy it in the breakfast area on chilly mornings. Victoria is known for the flowers. In the hotel lobby they have a huge fresh flower arrangement that is frequently changed. The rooms are spacious and feel luxurious. The bed is very comfortable. You feel like you are in a really nice private apartment when you enter the hotel. Location is right next to the Empress on the shopping side of town. You really can't get a better location. This hotel has is all. Great location, really, really nice rooms and bathrooms, great service, and a good continental breakfast with smoothies. They have single serve good coffee in the rooms. I drink a lot so they gave me as many packets as I wanted. When you walk out of the lobby you can be in the heart of shopping or the harbor in 3 minutes. It is 10 minutes to Beacon Hill Park. All the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace. Higher floors have better views. We have had both a water view and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your recent visit with us in Victoria, and returning for another lovely stay.

Thank you also for the kind comments about our 2013 room renovation. We did indeed plan our renovation to occur prior to the hotel's standards ever being allowed to decline. I am thrilled that you enjoyed this stay as much as your last in our luxe new rooms.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the luxurious rooms, the location, and the intimate feeling of our lobby.

I truly hope we see you back for many more visits with us,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,972 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,378 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,602 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £113 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel. Elegant rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, two poster beds and deep soaker tubs. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Restaurant closed for renovation, exciting new dining experience to be unveiled in Spring of 2018. Tranquil Spa Magnolia with 7 treatment rooms and organic products. Boutique luxury. Personalized service. Authentic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing