We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Hotel Ever”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We always stay at the Magnolia and would not stay anywhere else. We are locals who choose the Magnolia as our monthly get away from home. I love everything about the hotel. Can't wait to open the door and jump into that big,, beautiful bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    389
    68
    19
    6
See reviews for
435
1,354
118
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I visited Victoria for an overnight stay on business, and chose the Magnolia because of the excellent government rate they offered. I am so pleased with this hotel that I will now stay nowhere else when I travel to Victoria (I have tried many others and this is the best by far).

The staff are friendly, very attentive and caring. I experience similar service only at five star hotels. Check in and check out were simple and quick.

I was invited for a free appie and warm drink in the lobby, and although I didn't choose to take them up on this, it was one of many touches that makes you feel warmly welcomed like an invited guest.

The room was fantastic. Spacious, and they should give their designer a promotion; the decor is superb with tasteful grays and sumptuous linens. The bed was pillowy soft and I appreciated the extra pillows. The lighting is soft but adequate, and the bathroom was absolutely spotless, clean grout, with no signs of mildew anywhere.

So many little touches; bed turned down, bathrobe laid out, chocolates and fruit, and.....oh.....coffee maker in the room with fresh milk and cream in the fridge ready to go. Fabulous.

Restaurant is great too, and there are many less expensive options within walking distance.

Highly recommended. Let me know if you find anything better for this price in Victoria; I would be surprised if you do!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharimck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Shari,

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review.
I truly appreciate your taking the time to share your review and the lovely photos.
I was so pleased to see you took a photo of our newly launched welcome plates,
featuring a large filtered water along with fruit and chocolates.
We are always looking to find ways to perfect our boutique luxury hotel experience,
and I am so pleased that these touches had a nice impact on your visit.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again,

Sincerely,

Kind Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As always a great place to stay with very friendly staff. Excellent location in downtown Victoria just minutes from the inner harbour, historic James Bay and the shopping area around historic Government Street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have stayed many times at the Magnolia. The staff are always welcoming and the hotel itself is really lovely with all the rooms being very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The location is fantastic as well,within walking distance to the inner harbour.

Room Tip: Corner suites facing the harbour are best. Ask for a higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller040404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years. Our visit here last week was our first since the refurbishment of the rooms. We liked the previous décor but the new updated rooms are even better! They have been tastefully refreshed and are a pleasure to stay in. All staff at the hotel, whether it be reception, housekeeping or attached restaurant are pleasant and helpful. We will continue to use the conveniently located Magnolia Hotel & Spa on future visits to Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjoh1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

First time at this Hotel, lived up to what I have heard from friends. Will stay there again. Even though we did not have our dog we were pleasantly surprised that we could have taken her with us.......



  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Magnolia hotel is an elegant hotel situated very close to the harbour and downtown shops and restaurants. Our room was beautifully furnished and we enjoyed the fireplace and great amenities. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,520 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing