We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is my husband any my favourite hotel to stay at. Lovely service, beautiful rooms and just steps away from the Parliament Buildings, waterfront and shops. I would not stay anywhere else in Victoria.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reffie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Reffie,

Thank you so much for the kind words in your review.
We truly value and appreciate the loyalty of our regular business guests and hope to see you again with us soon.

Best Wishes,


Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,796)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,928 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

room was a little cool, but otherwise i found everything else very good. The staff are very personable and welcoming, the floral displays along with the available tea or coffee makes the lobby feel inviting.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for a week and got an excellent rate direct with the hotel with great discount for prepaying (our dates were fixed so we didn't need a flexible rate). Booked a corner room and we were extremely happy, it was very spacious, with a good view, great amenities etc. Super comfortable, loved the coffee machine as I like real coffee not instant, well stocked mini bar.

I used the spa for a massage - great friendly and professional service, very relaxing. There is also a small gym with an infrared sauna, and a small business centre with internet connected PCs and printer.

The staff here are the hotel's greatest asset, we were consistently met with friendly helpful staff from housekeeping through to the reception staff. I'd say the reception staff were exceptional. There's 2 guys (one English guy and one with a beard to save naming them) who were just fantastic with recommendations, travel advice etc. One is clearly a real foodie and he gave us the most excellent tips for his personal favourites, which weren't always on the official list the hotel provided. On our early arrival we left our bags and asked him to direct us somewhere for lunch, and where he sent us (red fish blue fish in the harbour) was nothing short of excellent. So we used him a few times during our stay, just said what type of cuisine we were in the mood for and he would recommend something, and then throw in something a bit different. A great resource.

Other things, such as we'd booked theatre tickets online, but using my iPad rather than the PCs in the business centre, and needed to print the confirmation. I called reception and they said email the document to the desk and they print it. Within minutes it was brought to our room. There's no official concierge so these reception staff were doing what a concierge would do, and doing it brilliantly.


We never used the hotel restaurant (rarely do) apart from the breakfast service, so I can't comment on the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent though, plentiful if you got there in good time.

This was an excellent hotel for us, and if we ever find ourselves back in Victoria, I don't think we'll consider staying anywhere else. Loved it!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious and offer good partial views of the inner harbour and the government build...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at the Magnolia for 5 nights. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet, and the service was excellent. Our room had a fireplace and a harbor view through a huge window. Breakfast, whether the full breakfast or continental, was very good. If we ever visit Victoria again, this is where we would stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FrankFromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I use to travel a lot in all my life but, let me tell you; this Htl., is the best one i ever stayed, The ordinary Htls things(clean, etc.)? But in others(and unique)spects? Rare; it is charming, naturally elegant and low profile. Really deserve to be known. Obs.; sorry my poor english, i am brazilian.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Kubrusly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Kubrusly,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback online following your visit with us at The Magnolia. We are all so pleased to hear of your lovely visit with us!

I do hope we can welcome you back again in elegant and low profile style as you so well describe,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We only had a quick overnight here, but the overall impression was great. My room service tuna salad was light and zesty. Bed was comfortable. Hotel location was perfect. Staff friendly. Loved Luca at the front door. Breakfast was included and was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here March 5 for one night and booked 2 rooms with the Butchart Garden package. We were up-graded and the one room had a corner view. Very nice hotel. We walked from the ferry since we came over from Seattle and it was a sunny day and not too far to walk. We did load all the luggage in a taxi the following day to go back to the ferry. I think the taxi was about $6. We had a lot of suitcases and there is a small incline (hill) getting to the hotel's front door. It was very convenient. We walked to dinner and we took the public bus out to the gardens. We were lucky and only waited about 20 minutes for the bus. Across the street from the bus stop is a great bakery.
I would recommend this hotel. Everyone was so nice and breakfast was very good. The rooms were great. The walk from the ferry is not too far depending on the weather/amount of luggage, and how physically fit you are.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank read1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £150 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing