We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better options in Victoria.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are nicely appointed in a modern classic style. Its a very short walk to the Empress, Royal BC museum, the Parliament Building and all the shops of downtown. There's a great little "farm to table" restaurant right in front of the hotel called 10 Acres too. The Diamond-class rooms with a "water harbour view" don't actually have a great view. The water is there, in the distance but you won't be lazing around the fireplace staring out at the water. That's right, there's a gas fireplace in the room which is a nice touch on a chilly night. Oh, and the bathroom is well stocked with Aveda products.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smox62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,910 - 1,916 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Always an amazing stay every time I go for business. Thank you for being so friendly and personable!! The front desk staff to the valet attendants are always so helpful and easy to deal with. Love it !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Taylar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It's close to the clipper and from our window we had a great view of the port. The room was nice although you'd expect it for that price.
They give you a coupon for an item of the a la carte breakfast - I went for the (small) continental buffet instead.
Overall I expected more from it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Magnolia Hotel having made a last-minute decision to enjoy some great weather in Victoria. We were able to book a superior room on the top floor; though there was no ocean view room available, it was still very pleasant. We requested an allergy-free room.

The booking process was easy; called the hotel and they were very pleasant and accommodating. In fact, though we only stayed two nights, the staff were always very helpful. We arrived really early and were not expecting a room to be available (thought we’d drop off our luggage and if tired, maybe book a room for half a day), but were so surprised to find out that the room was available prior to the promised time.

The room, as requested was allergen-free. We walked in and no smell; it was great (though should have brought our own soap as the Aveda soap starts to smell). The superior room was large with lovely huge windows (windows open on the sides to get fresh air). There was a big flat screen TV, large bathroom with separate shower and bath, coffee maker/supplies including creamers in the bar fridge, little sitting area and desk area. The bed was really comfortable. Wi-Fi strength was great and you didn’t have to repeatedly log in as once you logged in the system recognized the request.

We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast; had it the first day and upgraded to a full breakfast the second day. We enjoyed both breakfasts. Room service is available.

This hotel is a block and a bit to the harbor so the location is great. Again, I’d like to mention the staff; everything went along like a well-oiled clock (we’ve stayed at 5 star hotels, not reviewed, with a multitude of problems).

I’d definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you book in advance, try to get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hotel Magnolia is an ideal Location to visit and explore Victoria. Very friendly and service mindet staff, clean and Relaxing rooms and Hotelambiance. Nice and rich Breakfast with fine food Quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Martin,

Thank you so kindly for the lovely feedback following your recent visit.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast.
It was a pleasure to speak with you in the lobby, and I truly hope
we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Booked before and liked the location & service ....but this time when we booked through Expedia.ca....the continental breakfast was not included because of booking through expedia.ca....had no service upon arrival...had to retrieve my luggage my self and place it on a trolly....phoned prior to having our car reading and when it was time to go... the car was not ready....poor communication between front desk and the person retrieving the car....they didn't get the car until we were standing there asking where the car was...had to ask the maid for more water for our rooms. Sheets had some stains... was not impressed...had the harbour view with bird poop on the window....getting to be a run down old hotel that charges it's customers too much especially around June.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

I am very sorry for the issues you faced during your visit with us. The issues you mentioned are clearly not at the level you should expect at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa. This is truly disappointing to hear and I have reached out via private message and hope we can be in touch further.

With respect to breakfast, I am also very sorry to hear how this impacted your stay and any confusion about being included. The Magnolia Hotel launched a new breakfast & brunch program in January. Breakfast is not included in all rate plans and packages. The hotel makes every effort on our website to ensure that all policies are very clear. We also have a wonderful team of service professionals available by phone to answer any reservations questions at any time.

The entire team at The Magnolia takes great pride in delivering an exceptional and personalized boutique hotel experience, including keeping the hotel in pristine condition. I was surprised you felt the hotel was “run-down” given our extensive room renovation last year in a building that is only 15 years old.

Thank you again for your business with our hotel. I hope that we can be in touch further and see you back again with us in Victoria.

Sincerely,


Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Tel: 250 412 8480
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've stayed in the Magnolia a number of times before and always enjoyed it. Great central location. I do recall that on a previous visit I was thinking that it could do with some refreshing. Well they have done just that, updating the rooms & giving it a nice new vibe while maintaining the comfort & elegance that had always brought me here before. My husband & I stayed in a really lovely corner room (#402) which actually had a nice harbour view and four windows which brought in a wonderful amount of light (and sunshine in the afternoon which made the room a very nice spot for an aperitif before going out for dinner). The King bed & plump pillows were comfortable, the bedside lamps now have plug-ins so you can charge your phone or iPad easily without having to find a wall socket. The small marble topped bar with hidden fridge underneath & newly upgraded Keurig one-cup coffee/tea brewer is great. A nice Green touch is the use of large, elegant stoppered glass carafes filled with water which replace the previously used plastic-bottled water provided. Also a nice touch are the two wine glasses provided on the bar. The service here is excellent, both rooms & lobby. A nice touch was that when they mistakenly brought around the wrong car from the garage one afternoon they comped the Valet Parking fee for that night - much appreciated. We also loved the latest incarnation of the restaurant - now Catalano. The Italian-style tapas, "cicchetti" were excellent & the rest of the menu sounded good as well. My husband loved the Catalano burger with the Gorgonzola (but warns you must love Gorgonzola!) & fabulous duck fat frites with piquillo aioli. We each had excellent wine by the glass (the Argento Malbec is very good value) & their choices are interesting. The restaurant is also the stage for your complimentary Continental breakfast (with the option now to upgrade to a more substantial one). I think the new restaurant serves a much better Continental than the previous one did. While the selection is smaller, the fresh French pastries are more interesting, the greek yogurt & jam packed in little Mason jars is to die for, and the coffee is much better than before (thank you!). I also had the pleasure of a spa session in the serene & well-appointed spa. Still love the Magnolia, love the changes they've made & will definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the harbour side get afternoon sunlight & are delightfully bright & welcomin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tullyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Tullyree

Thank you so much for the wonderfully detailed review about your recent stay.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room refresh which we completed about a year ago.
We were so pleased by the new look that our hotel designer came up with, and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the new look. We take great pride in ensuring that our boutique hotel continues to improve and upgrade our service levels and product to keep our hotel at the highest level.

Thank you also for the lovely comments about the breakfast changes and the in room water. As noted above we continue to look for ways to improve our offerings, and both of these changes also allowed us to considerably reduce waste and produce some great upgrades in both areas. We agree that Chef Aaron has really come up with a great breakfast concept, along with his wonderful Cicchetti and Mediterranean inspired food.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know at GM@Magnoliahotel.com or my direct line at 250 412 8480

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,193 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,006 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,618 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £104 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel. Elegant rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, two poster beds and deep soaker tubs. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Restaurant closed for renovation, exciting new dining experience to be unveiled in Spring of 2018. Tranquil Spa Magnolia with 7 treatment rooms and organic products. Boutique luxury. Personalized service. Authentic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing