We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victoria gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont
1 review
“Victoria gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent location near The Empress and major tourist activities of Victoria--easy walk to BC Museum, Legislature, tours, water taxis, shops, restaurants, bus terminal (and a do-able but more challenging walk to Craigdorrich Castle). Staff very professional and service with great finesse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,093
    385
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
424
1,319
115
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

An additional five minute walk to Johnson Street than the centrally located hotels but the quality of The Magnolia Hotel made up for it. Quiet, clean, friendly and helpful staff, wifi and breakfast included, comfortable bed, discount for advance payment everything you expect from a high quality hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roy R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent location, very friendly staff, lovely hot breakfast vouchers for each morning of our stay (because we booked directly with the hotel). Our 7th floor corner room was wonderful, with tall ceilings leaving you with a spacious, airy feeling. Definite value for the money. We enjoyed feeling luxurious on our anniversary while not spending an arm and a leg to do so! Did I mention the location is AMAZING?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sthgink_aras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a Fairmont client, I had considered staying at the Empress hotel (which just happened to sold to a local private businessman, during my stay at the Magnolia).

However, I decided instead to stay at the Magnolia, after reading ta reviews,and what a great decision that turned out to be.

Great location, and a delightful room, with all the amenities, and a comfortable bed.

Staff were service oriented, and that was much appreciated.

May I add, that the attached restauarant dining room also serves during dinner, the best Carpiccio I've had anywhere.

Also, try the restaurant across the street, "10". Great for lunch, or a beverage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayToronto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ray from Toronto,

We're so pleased to hear you tried the Magnolia for your most recent trip to Victoria.

I am so pleased that we met your expectations, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us. Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and the restaurant. They are truly appreciated.

As you'd mentioned ownership, you'll be pleased to know that The Magnolia is also locally owned having been built by two locals in 1998.

Please feel free to reach out directly at gm@magnoliahotel.com on your next visit and it would be my pleasure to make your reservations personally.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location and the room was gorgeous. Everyone was very friendly and helpful especially Lukas and Blaine. A must do is whale watching with Eagle Wing tours. So fun! Gorgeous stay. Miss it already.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicolette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Nicolette,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback on your recent visit.
We will be sure to pass along your feedback to Blair & Lukas.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in Victoria at our boutique hotel.

Please let me know at gm@magnoliahotel.com if I can be of personal assistance at any time.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

well recommended for its position in Victoria ,clean and with all the amenities modern hotel needs.nice touch is free fruit in room and reception.
the reception sorted our problem with transport to back to Vancouver efficiently

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dan/ Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

On my first trip to Victoria many years ago, I really wanted to stay at The Empress--until I found out there was no air-conditioning (and I was visiting in July). The A/C issue, led to my discovery of the Magnolia Hotel. A wonderful little boutique hotel tucked one block from the Empress Hotel, the Inner Harbor and one block off Government Street. Well after my first visit, I realized the lack of A/C is really not an issue (and since then The Empress has added air conditioning to floors 6 & 7), but I still chose to stay at The Magnolia on most visits. Restaurants and pubs abound in the area and Murchie's is only 3 blocks away for a wonderful cup of cocoa or hot tea.

Large rooms are equipped with Kuerig, small bar refrigerator, desk and sofa. Guests may also enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast, soaker tub and Aveda toiletries. A spa is available onsite, as is a business center and fitness center. Complimentary newspapers are delivered to rooms daily and nightly turn-down service is provided.

Now for some tips on rooms; fireplace rooms will have a view of the car park across the street; corner rooms have an absolutely beautiful view of the Parliament Building, but also come with a ton of street noise; rooms on the harbor side of the building just "behind" the corner rooms are my personal favorites. The corner rooms with the harbor view are also very nice and I don't mind them--however I sleep with earplugs most of the time. If you are a light sleeper or travel with children who retire before 11:00pm, the corner rooms are not for you. The rooms just behind the corner rooms have the beautiful view and less street noise, because there are not as many windows.

Hotel staff are courteous and efficient, which when combined with location, make this one of the best places to stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveSuitcaseWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest from Illinois,

Thank you for the lovely and detailed review following your visits with us.
We appreciate your business and I thank you for taking the time to share your review.
It was a pleasure to read.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon to our boutique hotel.
If I can be of assistance at any time, please let me know at gm@Magnoliahotel.com or my direct phone line of 250 412 8480

Your room tips are very useful for travelers, and I would agree that the "07" numbered rooms on a higher floor, or "08", "09" & "10" rooms on the city side are typically the quietest room locations. The "07" view from the 6th or 7th floor is one of the best in the hotel.

I did want to point out that fireplaces are available in all Diamond Level rooms : City View, Water View, and Signature Diamond, thus there are several different views available with fireplaces. If I can arrange on of these personally on a future visit, please let me know.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing