We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent another night at the Magnolia Spa and Hotel for our 29th Anniversary. Again, the accommodations are top notch and the staff are awesome. If you are looking for a place to stay in downtown Victoria, this is the place to stay! We also had breakfast in the restaurant/lounge and it was very good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamnuts_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,004
    372
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
408
1,277
109
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here twice during a recent tour of the Gulf Islands. I was very impressed during the first stay - got an unexpected room upgrade. Good service, atmosphere, decor etc. The reception the second time was OK. I sensed a bit of racial profiling. Do not stay in room 209 - nice room but facing an enclosed concrete wall. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear holistix,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that your first stay in an upgraded room was very nice, but was disappointed and offer my apology that the 2nd room was not to your liking. The hotel was unfortunately at full occupancy on the 2nd visit and I understand from our team that there were no alternate rooms available. I offer my sincere apology that your 2 stays were not more consistent in room location.

With respect to your service at the front desk. I have reached out via private message to inquire about the "senses" you've shared online. This is quite a serious and shocking allegation, and I hope you will have the courtesy to be in touch further so that we may discuss your concerns and look in to this.

Thank you

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff was courteous and hotel room exceptionally clean. Considering the cost of the suite I’d expect a king size bed (as requested) and a better view. Picked this hotel for the location. Overall a good place to stay.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Overall I was very happy with this hotel. The room was super nice, modern and clean but comfortable. I reserved the upper level room and was not disappointed for the value. For some reason, I had the impression this was a waterfront location. It is not. The location was very good and I can't say that I saw anything I would have preferred so it worked out but there is a large highrise that likely blocks what was once a nicer view. That said, I got an end of hallway room on the side that looks out over the parliament building and that was cool because it is a wonderful photo especially when lit up at night and that was the best way to get the shot! Had a gas fireplace which we actually used (in July) for ambiance and the air is chilly at night. The reason they did not earn 5 stars was front desk. We dealt with a total of 4 different girls during our stay and they were all pretty useless. Called for walking directions from the seaplane terminal and they got me totally lost. Asked for restaurant recommendations and they didn't seem to know any. Tried to book a spa appointment after the spa was closed and they had no idea how to go about it and left it up to me to call in the morning (missed opportunity because I did not!) While polite and professional, they were the most uninformed front desk staff I've seen in a while. Very odd since the place overall seemed very put together other than that.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank winstonteaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear winstonteaka

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.
We appreciate your business and for taking the time to share your review online.

I was so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay, enjoyed the room along with the view and were able to make use of the fireplace on the Diamond Level Room you booked.

I was sorry to hear of any confusion with respect to the hotel's location or the views. It did sound as though you really enjoyed the view of the legislative buildings and the inner harbour. This is among the most popular views from our rooms and really offers a "signature" view of some of our best sights in Victoria.

To be clear and transparent to all Trip Advisor readers, the Magnolia Hotel & Spa is located a very short walk from the inner harbour (1.5 blocks away or approx 3 minute walk). A number of room types - Deluxe, Signature Corner, Diamond View and Signature Rooms - feature very nice views from the rooms including those of the harbour and the legislative buildings.
If any potential or arriving guests have any question about their views, please email me at gm@magnoliahotel.com or call our helpful team on our toll free line. It would be our pleasure to provide personalized attention to your arrival to ensure a wonderful stay.

Lastly, thank you for the feedback on our front desk. We appreciate all of your feedback in always striving to provide the best level of service at our small Luxury Boutique Hotel.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Direct tel: 250 412 8480
Email: gm@Magnoliahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Magnolia Hotel is a personal favorite of ours. The attentive staff always makes us feel welcome, and the air of luxury and charm is endearing. Access to events and sites is a plus. Our trip to Victoria was centered around this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Magnolia Spa is also for business travellers a very good place to stay, close to the conference center as well close to the harbour and the sea shore. The hotel itself is very friendly, very helpful staff, quite good wireless connection (the bandwidth could be stronger).

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the sea/harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAndy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
TheAndy12, Thank you kindly for your recent stay and your feedback.
It is truly appreciated!

I am pleased to hear of your nice visit to the hotel, and that you enjoyed our location so close to the sea shore.

I was sorry to hear that you found the bandwidth not to your satisfaction.
The hotel has installed individual guest networks at 15 Mbs in each guest room within the last year. If any guest finds the complimentary internet not operating at this type of speed, please let us know immediately and we can trouble shoot this issue with our tech support.

Thank you again for your business with our hotel,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked 2 rooms for one night and paid in advance to get a lower rate. The hotel is not cheap, but it is value for money and well worth it, not only for its location, but for its friendly, professional service, and the quality of the rooms. It is relaxing to drive up, have the bags looked after by friendly efficient staff, enjoy the valet service, register, and go to your room. Within easy walking distance are a myriad of shops, sights, and restaurants...and when we were there, there was a busker festival, so there was entertainment on almost every corner. We had a great time and recommend you try this hotel.

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normpimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing