We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Talk about good!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spend a lot of time in hotels across North America and wanted something nice for a special occasion. The Magnolia was a sight unseen choice, but we went with it - and am I ever glad we did. Located in the heart of downtown Victoria and walking distance to everything, the hotel offers great amenities and gracious hosting from all staff.

The top floor room had views of both the harbour and parliament and was wonderfully appointed with fireplace, big windows that opened onto the view, large comfortable bed, simple but beautiful decorations and a large and modern bathroom.

The manager made sure everything was perfect for our evening and called me to personally ensure that all was in order prior to our arrival.

Staff were pleasant and friendly, from our early check-in and great valet service to the advice and suggestions for eating out in the town.

We had a drink in the attached restaurant and loved the cheese-board appetizer. Then off for a adventure.

We arranged for a horse and carriage to pick us up in the early evening and it arrived outside the hotel exactly on time and as promised. We felt like royalty.

Great night out on the town and with the hotel so close to everything, no worries.

Slept beautifully on the comfy bed and crisp linens and late check out helped with our slow start to the next day. All was perfect as we checked out to find our car packed and ready to go with our baggage.

It was a little on the pricy side, but if you we looking for a great night out for something special, you can't go wrong. We would certainly go back for something special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mark B

Thank you so much for the great and detailed review following your stay with us.
I am so pleased to hear given your travels across North America that the Magnolia Hotel
measured up so favorably for this special occasion.

I truly hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again with us,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know.

Yours Truly,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,089
    385
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
422
1,317
115
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very nice, clean hotel. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Slow service in the morning for breakfast, but the food was great. Walking distance to many restaurants and the harbor. When we pulled up to the hotel, valet gave us other parking options, but we ended up choosing to valet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We came to town for our annual Victoria trip. As my husband and I are creatures of habit, we have our favorite places to stay. The Executive House was closed for renovation so we decided to stay at Hotel Magnolia. This has now become our favorite place to stay. We will be back soon. The food, the service, the comfort, quietness, friendliness of the staff, restaurant next door/staff/service was all A+. Next time I will be trying out the spa also. Thank you Hotel Magnolia Staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jilliefive98033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, British Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We highly recommend this property. All of the staff were helpful and courteous from our arrival to our departure. Clean rooms with a generous sized bathroom that you do not find at all hotels. Book early as this property books up well in advance!



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J Wines H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent another night at the Magnolia Spa and Hotel for our 29th Anniversary. Again, the accommodations are top notch and the staff are awesome. If you are looking for a place to stay in downtown Victoria, this is the place to stay! We also had breakfast in the restaurant/lounge and it was very good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamnuts_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here twice during a recent tour of the Gulf Islands. I was very impressed during the first stay - got an unexpected room upgrade. Good service, atmosphere, decor etc. The reception the second time was OK. I sensed a bit of racial profiling. Do not stay in room 209 - nice room but facing an enclosed concrete wall. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear holistix,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that your first stay in an upgraded room was very nice, but was disappointed and offer my apology that the 2nd room was not to your liking. The hotel was unfortunately at full occupancy on the 2nd visit and I understand from our team that there were no alternate rooms available. I offer my sincere apology that your 2 stays were not more consistent in room location.

With respect to your service at the front desk. I have reached out via private message to inquire about the "senses" you've shared online. This is quite a serious and shocking allegation, and I hope you will have the courtesy to be in touch further so that we may discuss your concerns and look in to this.

Thank you

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff was courteous and hotel room exceptionally clean. Considering the cost of the suite I’d expect a king size bed (as requested) and a better view. Picked this hotel for the location. Overall a good place to stay.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing