We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Can't Be Beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Nw Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location Can't Be Beat”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a return stay for us and we were not disappointed. We would definitely stay the next time we are in Victoria. The Guest Services staff does everything possible to make your stay excellent, even arranging for some personal guides.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackson1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,248
    398
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
459
1,414
123
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at the Magnolia a few times. It is always enjoyable. The staff are friendly, helpful, efficient & courteous. Rooms are impeccably clean and spacious. The continental breakfast is ample.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Basyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of the Magnolia is perfect for finding a great restaurant, shops, and views of Victoria. We were in town for a special occasion and the staff at the Magnolia went out of their way to make our room romantic with a bottle of wine and Magnolia petals in the shape of a heart on the bed. The staff was friendly and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear GPS11,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of our hotel from your visit in July!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the personal special touches to make your romantic special occasion. Our team takes great pride and enjoys these little service details when we're made aware, so it is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay!

I do hope that if your travels bring you back to Victoria we can welcome you back again at The Magnolia.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent staff and service. I stay here for all business trips to Victoria. Room is always clean, welcoming, and very inviting. Front desk and valet service is top notch. Location is perfect for all downtown sites and is close to many great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you Leslie for your lovely review on this recent visit with us.

We appreciate the kind words about the service, the rooms, and the location.
We pride ourselves in being Victoria's premier business address for hotel guests and
we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed two nights in June in a 6th floor "Diamond View" room. The room was spacious with a fireplace, and a nice comfortable bed. The website claimed we had a harbour view, but the view was really only from a tiny slice of the room. One half of the room looked at a parking garage across the street, while the harbour facing wall had structural elements which made the windows mostly face other buildings. If you positioned the lounge chair just right, you could get a decent view. The room was very quiet.

The hotel is very conveniently located, only two blocks or so from the harbour. The float plane and ferry terminals are very close by, as are many great restaurants. The hotel is a block away from the Empress, so the location is really great for exploring Victoria and seeing the sights.

Breakfast in the hotel was pretty good. The buffet has a decent selection, and the hot breakfasts are good, but not likely to be the best meal of your trip. The afternoon happy hour had some decent choices for a reasonable price.

The hotel staff was very helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations. The hotel had coffee and tea available in the lobby which was a nice touch. We celebrated an anniversary, and the staff gave us a box of chocolates upon check-in. They also offered turn down service with a chocolate on your pillow in the evenings.

Overall, it was a great hotel, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kenopdx,

Thank you for your recent stay with us while you were in Victoria.
It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Magnolia, and read your lovely and detailed review.

I am sorry to hear that the view wasn't as direct to the harbour as you were expecting.
Your description sounds like an "02" corner room, which faces both down Courtney Street in one direction and over the street to the other. Many of our guests really enjoy the added space in this room at approximately 375 square feet, and that the sitting area is situated towards the lovely view. If you are returning to Victoria it would be my pleasure to handle your reservations personally and ensure we assign the specific view you are looking for from our central location.

Thank you again for your stay and the lovely feedback about the happy hour, the location, the special touches for your anniversary and our helpful service team.

I hope that we can welcome you back and get that perfect view on your next stay to ensure a perfect return visit.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location and amenities were perfect for my needs. Close to great dining and the inner harbor is just a few minutes away. Room was great with very comfortable beds and pillows. Apparently there is a haunted room that i wish I would have known about and requested. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent business trip to Victoria.
We pride ourselves on being Victoria's premier business hotel, and I hope we welcome you back again for many more trips to our Capital city. If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know.

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Location is perfect -- close to the harbor and old town. Besides the location and charming hotel, I especially liked the little touches that many hotels miss such as the extra bathroom amenities, the paper every morning, the daily apples and water, the chocolates at night, and especially the superb service by the cleaning women. I did have a little trouble with Wi-Fi a few times, and I was not greatly impressed by the continental breakfast. However, it is a lovely hotel and service and friendliness of the staff were excellent. Magnolia will definitely be my choice to stay when I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacher7-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Teacher7-Sue,

Thank you Sue for staying with us on your visit to Victoria in July.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the special touches with some of the little details we strive for with each and every guest.

I am sorry to hear about the challenges with the Wi-Fi. For any guest that experiences challenges we hope you will let us know immediately so that we can resolve this. The hotel installed complimentary 15 Mbs service individual to each guest room, and have generally found it very reliable. Typically, in the event there is an issue, this can be resolved by our provider's tech support very quickly. I am very sorry again that you didn't experience the fast Wi-Fi you should expect with our hotel.

Thank you again for the kind review. I am pleased to hear that you will be looking to return when in Victoria and we look forward to welcoming you back again,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing