We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very lovely spot, convenient to center of town and restaurants. Nice room and business center. Staff extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this nice little hotel. Has a nice continental breakfast, wifi for each room. Valet parking for car.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our first anniversary and considering it was #2 hotel in Victoria I expected more. The hotel is decent, but not spectacular. The staff were great, very friendly and professional. The location was perfect for us. We checked our car into valet and walked where we needed to go. Right in the middle of the tourist area of downtown. Our city view room looked out at a parkade on one side and the neighbours roof on the other, the view definitely wasn't worth paying extra for. The Room was comfortable and clean but for the price I expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimb01974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jimb,

Thank you for your review and your business with our hotel. We truly appreciate your choosing our property for your 1st anniversary.

I appreciate and thank you for the many kind comments in your review. Specifically, the location, warm & friendly service, the cleanliness - all of which appear as though they had a positive impact on your visit with us.

I was very sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed overall based on the price, and with the view to the room. I have reached out via private message and hope we can make this up to you in some way.

The Magnolia Hotel prides itself in being a small luxury boutique hotel, with exceptional standards and service. While we would appear to have met this expectation on some levels, clearly we fell short in some respects during your August stay.

Thank you again for your business and your review,

I hope we can be in touch and welcome you back again,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This luxury boutique hotel us just 2 blocks from the harbor and has all amenities you could ask for. The most outstanding thing, however, is the friendly and welcoming staff. They were always such a joy to be around and so helpful. Lovely, comfortable rooms...coffee in the lobby all day...so many nice touches! Great location for everything. (Parking is extra, but you don't need a car really).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Chinana

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit. I am so pleased that you found our small boutique hotel lovely and luxurious. Our "friendly and welcoming staff" team is also thankful for the lovely praise about their service. It is a pleasure to work along side our team of professionals every day, and feedback such as yours truly inspires us to welcome every guest through our doors with this same level of service.

I truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is truly a gem in downtown Victoria! The service is personalized and staff are incredible. Great for business or leisure. The rooms are very comfortable and quite spacious. It's a definite favourite!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great service, nice accommodations, professional staff. Perfect boutique hotel in downtown Victoria. Expect to pay though. Liked the coffee and baked goods in the lobby for breakfast. Very quiet, ask for the harbor views and enjoy the planes!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank vintage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you Vintage for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your review.

I am so pleased to hear you found the boutique hotel "Terrific" and enjoyed many of the little touches in the hotel, The early morning pastries in the lobby has been a well received quick bite since we added this earlier this year.

Thank you again for choosing the Magnolia, and for taking the time to share you feedback,

Best Wishes,


Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We got a deal for this great hotel on Hotwire. The location is fantastic for visiting downtown Victoria. Just a block from the harbour, shopping, restaurants, the Parliament building. Our room was large, decorated in restful tones of grey, silver and blues. Valet parking is reasonable $24/day. Check in was fast and pleasant. I didn't use the Spa services but they provide Aveda soaps and shampoos in the rooms. The bathroom was large, with an awesome soaker tub and separate shower, marble floors and very clean. Fresh apples, water and chocolates were made available every day in the room. In house coffee is served all day in the lobby and there is a Keurig Coffee maker serving Starbucks Coffee or tea in the room. For a fee, there is wine, liquor and treats available in the in room fridge. The only downside to the room is there is no pay per view movies available but for us, that was not a concern at all. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which we didn't dine in but we ordered room service and the meat and cheese plate was very nice. I will definately be staying here again the next time we're in Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canucknurse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Canucknurse,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your lovely and detailed review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and plan on returning again with us.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time in booking a return trip please let me know.

Best Wishes,


Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Magnolia last weekend and LOVED this hotel! Perfect location, friendly staff, immaculate room with a lovely view of the capital and the water, we'd definitely go back. Room service breakfast was delicious and generous enough to share. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank drea389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,063 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,117 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £146 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing