We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent room, great service, unsurpassed location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This is one our our all-time favorite hotels. Small, with personalized and excellent service, the Magnolia is not to be missed. It is only a block or so from the inner harbor and is quiet and accessible. The rooms are well done and quiet; the bathroom one the best we've ever encountered. A very good continental breakfast is included with the room. The hotel's restaurant, Prime, is the best steakhouse in the city. It is just as well run as the hotel and the food is excellent. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardbeg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,654 - 2,660 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

We were on a trip to Vancouver island with not much of an itinerary. We reserved rooms for two nights at this hotel knowing we would move on to other parts of the island. After touring nanaimo, etc, we liked this hotel so much we stayed for an additional two nights at the end of our vacation. We had our bicycles and they happily stored them for us ...they have a special place for them. We took off on our bikes directly from hotel to ride Lochside Trail to Swartz Bay (highly recommended by the way, it is about 42 miles round trip but terrain is all but flat/rolling). The staff is great, and although they tried to charge us more for the room the second time we checked in, once I pointed out the lower rate we had just days earlier, they happily matched that rate. Oh, and complimentary continental breakfast is great. Includes the basics but also has waffles, eggs, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boozpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This hotel is all class. I was so impressed with the quality of service and the quality of the room. Everything about this hotel tells that the customer is important and valued. Wow, what a classy place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spahomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This is a wonderful hotel located near the Fairmont Empress. It is equally luxurious with none of the presumption. Quite fine accomodations for the discriminating and those with finer taste. We loved it.

The area is safe and beautiful and you will be able to walk just about everywhere you will likely want to go except for Beuchart Gardens (17 miles outside the city) and Craigraddoch Castle (a walk that takes 25 minutes and is partially uphill).

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in May and we had an excellent experience. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and spacious. Our rate included breakfast with was very good. The staff was very gracious. The bathroom was great including a separate shower and bathtub. The location is just perfect, with in walking distance to both the harbor and downtown. the only drawback was that it didn't have a pool but they give you access to a pool nearby if you ask for it.
Overall excellent experience, definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I want to first start by saying I have never taken the time to write any kind of review. However with that being said , I have travelled quite extensively both domestically and abroad, and have never stayed anywhere quite like this. My wife and I arrived via ferry from Port Angeles , Washington. Victoria in itself is such a beautiful and friendly and safe city. Upon check in we were upgraded to diamond level for no apparent reason. The room was stunning with two poster bed, fireplace, wet bar 42" Plasma tv, work desk and chair, overlooking Inner Harbour, the marble bathroom had Aveda bath products bath bombs, razor shaving gel , separate soaker tub and glass shower stall, closet containged bathrobes, slippers umbrella ( nothing seemed to be overlooked) Everyday we came back to our room to fresh fruit, chocolate and toffee. The staff we so friendly we felt as if we lived there. The concierge was very helpful with places to eat and things to see, the bar was very nice and had a great selection of wine. Free continental breakfast wouldn't blow your mind, but it contained the basics and seeing as I'm not a huge breakfast lover it had all I needed, eggs, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, yorgurt, several juice selections, waffle press etc.
Overall we loved the hotel and its perfect location ( walking distance to everything in Inner Harbour) excellent staff and accomadations and have already recommended it to friends and will continue to do so. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winners321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a trip around Canada & Alaska and this is by far the best hotel we stayed in. We had a room on the fifth floor, could see the sea (just!) and the Parliament building. The room was extremely comfortable, the complimentary continental breakfast was excellent - included waffles which is what I would have paid to have anywhere else! The location could not have been better, middle of downtown with everything easily accessible. Would so definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,081 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,330 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,889 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,572 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £123 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing