We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria Island Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Victoria Island Gem”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We travelled to Victoria Island for our wedding anniversary and the staff at the Magnolia Hotel treated us like special guests at check in. Our room had a great view of the harbor, with a warm fireplace, and a chilled bottle of champagne awaiting us! The bathroom had a soaking tub and first class amenities. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the continental breakfast each morning was great to have before starting the day. The Magnolia is in a great location to the ferry, bus tours, Parliament House, and local restaurants. I would recommend this hotel over the Empress because the staff provides more personal care to its guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    385
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
424
1,318
115
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

One of the best hotel's I've ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable about everything in the area. When I tipped the front door staff for recommending a restaurant, he was almost embarassed to accept it. This hotel is within close proximity to all the attraction in the inner harbour. Our room was beautiful, and had a great view of the harbour. My wife and I sat and drank wine while watching the sea planes take off and land. I would highly recommend the Magnolia to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLuv2travel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Really nice hotel,clean, and friendly staff and close to everything in Victoria

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed here 2 days/1 night for an overnight in Victoria for our 10th wedding anniversary. It wasn't super special, but I have definitely stayed in worse.

The room was fine. We stayed in the nicer class of room on the 6th floor. The fireplace was nice, but having a way to relax in front of it would be better. There was definitely some dinginess around the baseboards, bathroom tiles, etc. but I actually walked around without flip-flops, which is pretty good for me (or maybe I was too tired to care). TV was pretty big. Bed was pretty comfortable.

The bathroom, as I said, was a little dingy, but not really dirty. You could really hear everyone else in their bathrooms and the hallway. We specifically wanted a spa tub for some relaxing, but it didn't fit 2 people at all, and the drain kept gurgling. Lighting varies from off to harsh to very harsh.

As vegetarians, the steak restaurant wasn't the best option, but that was our only option for room service. They did try, but it ended up being a meal of sides. Baked potato (sour cream and onions, no cheese, no butter, no broccoli...) cauliflower gratin (tasted good, but it was runny and the cauliflower could have been cut smaller), and mushroom risotto (very good), Breakfast had a lot of options, more than pastries and juice, but the quality was just average. As someone else said, it was enough to tide me over until lunch. The families just hanging out with their crying kids in the restaurant made me wish I had taken it to my room. There seemed to be a lot of kids running around and yelling for a spa hotel. Especially at night in the hallway.

The service overall was indifferent. They would do anything you asked, but only if you asked. Nothing was offered. Nothing special was arranged for our 10th anniversary like the website mentions. The location was pretty central to Victoria, so that was nice. They will hold onto your bags before check-in and after check-out (if you ask), especially needed if you're coming/going on the Clipper.

It's a fine place to stay, but the only advantages you get over a more budget hotel are:
feels slightly cleaner
fireplace
tub (not very relaxing, though)
big TV
chocolates
more options at continental breakfast

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pongojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Found this on Trip Advisor -- one of the nicest hotels I've EVER stayed at. It was impeccably clean, with beautiful rooms and very personal touches, including an especially nice turn-down service. The mattress was really comfortable, the bedding luxurious. The location is smack in the middle of Victoria's waterfront district -- a couple of blocks from the water, next to the Empress Hotel. This is not a "view" hotel, but I didn't care, as it was raining and I just wanted a nice room. Also, I didn't have a car this time, but if I did, the only option would be valet parking ($$), since it's right downtown with limited street parking. But otherwise, this is a new favorite!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftCoastGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel and were very pleased we did!
We had booked to stay in a Diamond level room which was an excellent choice. Spotlessly clean, well furnished and beautifully presented. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive and the breakfast was excellent.
We were there for a belated anniversary celebration and the hotel provied some chocolates and champagne which was a beautiful surprise.

The only problem we incurred was noise through the night from the air conditioning system and the ice machine directly opposite our room. Both noises were not noticeable during the day time but in the dead of night became quite apparent. We had already turned our air conditioning off but the noise still came from the vents and we assumed other rooms running theirs. Also once awake, the ice machine appeared much louder.

As we were only there for one night there was no point in asking to move to a quieter room but it did slightly spoil an otherwise perfect stay.
We would definitely return and recommend the hotel, but next time request a room away from the ice machine!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kestrel1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was a fabulous hotel experience. The location--a block from the inner habor, the Empress, Government Street, etc along with a great choice of restaurants--was perfect. Our room was large with a separate seating area, very comfortable, quiet. Staff was exceptional; I ordered some flowers for our room as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary while there, and a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates also appeared. Breakfast was included, and was generous. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria
Magnolia Hotel And Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing