We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, great fun”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Our room was large and modern, we even had a couch and easy chair. We were here for a wedding and some of our friends did say their rooms were very small, so I think the room size is variable. Everything was sparkling clean and the staff was very friendly. There is no iron in the room, but the staff will bring an iron and board up to your room if you call them. The best part is that we only paid $90 a night!! (I think the smaller rooms are $80). I've paid so much more to stay in much shabbier places. The location is perfect. We took the Clipper to Victoria and we were able to walk to the hotel comfortably, even with our roller luggage. There is a liquor store and tons of fun restaurants and bars right in the hotel. The Wedding was in the hotel and it was lovely. The food was tasty and the staff did a very good job. The continental breakfast is free but wasn't quite satisfying enough so we did go out to breakfast after we got our free coffee and bagels. I would definitely stay here again if I was going to Victoria.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for one of the upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emidolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    155
    133
    39
    46
See reviews for
64
197
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here once in the last year. The only reason was the price.The location is great and you can walk around the majority of downtown Victoria. That is the positive side to the place. The negative side is the rooms looked more like something you would find on the inside passage of a cruise ship. I actually laughed when I walked in the room. I have never stayed in a smaller hotel room in my life. The window faced Douglas street, right below the night club. The noise was unbelievably loud until about 3:00 in the morning. This is an old hotel and looks it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great location downtown and a nice fixed up older hotel. Food in pub which is very nice, is average. Continental breakfast - only bread and coffee - very meagre. Perhaps food in other restaurant better.
Nice helpful staff.

Room Tip: room we had very quiet - not a great view but no street noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We found this hotel by looking for cheap deals in downtown victoria and have been nicely surprised by the quality of the hotel. Yes, the hotel is old so it doesn't have all the creature comforts or the really nice feel of most modern north american hotels, but it is clean and has your basic amenities and a comfortable bed. Plus the location could not be better. Right on Douglas street you can pick up a bus to go anywhere on the island, you're a few minutes from the pretty buildings and the harbour and the Sticky Wicket (Pub/Restaurant) downstairs is fantastic! Great food and very reasonable prices.
Also, the complimentary breakfast offered by the hotel is "continental" but very substantial - we certainly had our fill. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a weekend Staycation to Vic. I know the pubs/clubs/bars in the Hotel better than the hotel and was surprised at how affordable it was for its proximity to DT and also its flavour.
Its a great venue featuring a bunch of really cool pubs/ bars. The sticky wicket is a great pub and Big Bads johns is something else entirely for a change of pace I suggest it highly.

The room was Small but clean and well equipped, it is not a HUGE room so I would suggest the 10$ upgrade toa superiro if you plan on spending any time in your room

Room Tip: Away from the elevators, get the upgraded room and ask about free parkin options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadAlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Strath seems to be the party hotel for the under 30's. Three bars and lots of noise. Street Prostitutes seem to use this hotel as their place of doing business or picking up business. Partying in the halls and rooms - just horrible. Drug deals and users were frequentyl seen outside of main entrance. Police seemed to be outside the hotel regularly, and I guess I should mention saw several fights. I would not recommend this hotel. It's a shame such a fine old hotel has turned into this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VictoriaMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Strathcona is old, but clean and central!
My husband and I have stayed there many times over the years either for business or a week-end away.
We booked a SPECIAL which is advertised on their website. $79 per night for Queen bed. They give you free parking, free breakfast and a $20 Food/Beverage Cert to be used on your first day.
It is AMAZING Value for a hotel on the main drag close to the Empress Hotel and Harbour Front.
The Sticky Wicket pub has a great sport atmosphere and the food is great. (Spinach Salad our fav). Use up your voucher right there folks.
Breakfast has cereals, fruits, bagels etc. Very nice and plenty to chose from.
ROOMS: Yes they are old and look kinda quaint. However, everything works and is CLEAN.
Bathrooms have hair dryer, but bring soap and shampoos if you don;t like the "one bottle fits all" dispensers.
You cannot beat this price for downtown Victoria. Everything is close, even cinemas and a great mall.
Staff are super and efficient at front desk.
If you are a partier: there is a neat nightclub right on site .
Will be back and thank you.

Room Tip: We like the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 49 in Victoria
512 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria
The Strathcona Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing