We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location but poor wifi and no air-conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right at the heart of the city on Douglas street. It is set in a historic/heritage building which adds to the romance of spending a night in this historic city.

The wifi, however, is patchy and unreliable. There is also no air conditioning and it can get very hot on a summer afternoon. Not sure if I would stay there if I am in Victoria again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twcsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is in the downtown Victoria, and for that the hotel get 1 point the 2nd point is for been clean. but there is no AIR CONDITION in any room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you have been worn. you can open the window only 4" to allow fresh air to come in together with the mosquito's. the maintenance of the rooms are very poor (burn bulbs, power outlet that not working etc). you have to see the TV! it's amazing, 19" from 20 years ago. the towels are so thin so you can see through.and they call themselves boutique hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

For a short holiday to Victoria, the Strathcona is perfect. Close to most tourist attractions and the bus station (bus great way to get on to the ferry and to Vancouver during busy summer months). Our room was clean, the beds comfortable and we couldn't hear any noise form the busy street or our neighbors. I agree with another reviewer that the TV's small, but that's to be expected for a "budget" hotel. Only small critical comment - the breakfast buffet (nice to have included in the price) could have a few more "healthy options".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were invited by friends to stay at the Strathcona Hotel for a one day/night stay in Victoria B.C. so we didn't pay for the room. But I thought at the time that the price was a bit high. The hotel was only so so and fairly nondescript. The room heated up during the day but the only way to cool it off was opening the window (which only opened for about three inches). By the time we returned to the room, the room had cooled off enough to sleep.

But the pub in the hotel was pretty good. We visited with our friends and the staff for over four hours. The bar menu prices were reasonable and the food was very good. I would recommend the pub and give it four to five stars. The hotel, I would give only three.

Room Tip: My suggestion is to avoid the hotel but visit the pub. And be wary of the rooms. They are dark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leerosenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Strathcona for our visit to Victoria. We thought the rooms were small and dingy. For the price we paid we definitely thought we were going to get a nicer room or perhaps a more updated bed. Rooms aside, we left our Mac laptop in the room and checked out at 11am and went home to Vancouver. When we came home we realized that we left our laptop in the room. We called the Strathcona at about 5pm thinking that we would have a friend pick it up or have them send it, however front desk staff said nothing was found but that the housekeeping manager may have it locked up and that someone would call us in the morning. After calling numerous times in the week that followed, we were not getting proper communication and were extremely frustrated. Eventually I was able to speak with the housekeeping manager, whom stated that she believed that our laptop was no longer in the hotel. She stated that the manager was deciding how to deal with the matter and would touch base with us shortly. We did not hear from the manager in the next days, however a few days later the housekeeping manager called to inform us that the laptop was found. We were very pleased and forgot about the unprofessionalism from before. After a week, we still did not receive the laptop so decided to call and ask for a tracking number. We were told that the laptop was still lying around and hadn't been sent yet. After two and half weeks of leaving the computer at the hotel, we finally received our laptop. This whole time we never were able to speak to the manager, left lots of messages and were told that the manager would return our call but until this date has never got in touch with us. We are extremely disgusted with the lack of communication from management and not to get taken serious about this problem. We would not recommend this hotel to anybody and advise you not to stay there.

Room Tip: double bed room: very small room, stand up shower, old tv, for the price you might as well stay at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen-Lennerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here only one night but would have stayed more if I needed to. The room was lovely with old charming features. My only complaints would be the TV was too small to see well while lying in bed and the bed was a bit saggy in the middle. Other then that no problems! They even let us check in early. Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsbondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hello Windsor Ontario,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Victoria. We are updating our TV's floor by floorto work better with new technology.

Hope to see you again for a longer stay in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is very well situated for the harbour and central Victoria. The rooms are basic but breakfast is included with the room. Really our room needed a refurbishment, as did the hallway carpets, the bathroom. Everything looked very tired. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was held in the adjoining Sticky Wickett pub. If your room overlooks the beach volleyball and rooftop pub, be prepared for plenty of evening noise, especially in the summer months.
Our room could not pick up the free Internet, so I had to sit in the corridor to send e mails etc.
The room prices reflect this, I would be happy to pay a little more and to have basics, such as in room tea and coffee making facilities, better showers and a chair in the room would have been nice.
Great for encouraging us to get out and about.d

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Nigel, Thank you for your comments. we are working with our cable/internet supplier to improve our wi fi throughout the property. We do have larger rooms in the Hotel with fully renovated hotel rroms and bathrooms with seating areas. Please check with our reservation staff when booking your accommodations as at to the types of rooms and locations in the property that are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
477 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £54 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria
The Strathcona Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing