We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, best location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night because of the great location. Room was a premier queen and was very basic but nice and clean. Lots of food and drink options on site, from clubs to pubs. Staff was very helpfull and friendly, and upon hearing of our anniversary they gave us $10 voucher for drinks. A little tip is to book through the hotel website, as it is cheaper than all travel sites.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

D.M., Thank you for commenting about the Strathcona Hotel and the Sticky Wicket Pub. I will pass along your kind words the The Hotel desk staff. Congratulations on your anniversary.

Cheers, Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. The hotel is in an excellent location on the main street of the city - Douglas. Ten minutes walk from the Parliament and the boat dock. Room was clean and affordable, there is no refrigerators in the room, televisions is small sample and old model, breakfast is simple. next to the hotel there is a nice pub .reception staff service is good. the room cleaner was rude and do not made ​​our bed by claiming it was messy!!! on the bed there was only a book and a map of the city, the reception maneger said thatis hotel's policy, not to touch things that are on the bed. Better not asked us to make the bed alone.nevr happened to us thirty years of traling in the all world.A simple apology from the hotel.

Room Tip: dont leave anything on the bed the cleaner will be angry with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Mendys, The Strathcona Hotel thanks you for your comments as customer service is important to us. We have reviewed our housekeeping policies and have implemented a new policy regarding the issue you reported. Our apologies for the improper service you received. Once again we thank you for taking time to comment about our property as customer feedback always makes us a better hotel.

Joel Chudleigh
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were recommended to book this hotel, by friends who we later found out that had never actually used the hotel, but for it's bars!
It's various bar venues are one continual trip through the hotel, except for 'Big Bad John's' which has a separating wall of peanut shells between it, the reception, & the 'upper class' elements.
Great expectations were marred by tired hotel rooms, with no a/c, a failure to replenish bathroom toiletries in the name of Eco friendly, & when requested an ironing board for Barbie!
We needed to be in Victoria BC for a wedding, the only positive I have for this venue - it was in Victoria BC.
The most unfortunate part were the numerous hotels in adjacent streets that did not appeal directly to every stag, hen, birthday or any other drunken debauchery we faced every evening as the night went on .
I amused myself with feeding the seagulls from the 4th floor, hoping they would rain my opinions on the exiting guests.
Victoria BC - excellent town well wort a visit, choose a nice hotel, visit the Strathcona for an experience on the 'other side'!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIFF1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Best advice, visit Victoria in Sept or Oct, weather is still great, but hotel prices come way down. Summer is tourist season and ALL the hotels jack up their rates. Having said that, the Strathcona's summer rates are very reasonable - especially considering it's great location. You can walk everywhere downtown, the inner harbor is only 2 blocks away, and Victoria's great bus system stops a couple blocks away. Arriving by bus from the airport was easy, cheap - $2.50 and fast. This is a downtown hotel so car parking is extra except on Sundays, skip the car and walk or bus.

I stayed 4 nights over the weekend. My room was quiet as I did not hear a thing the entire stay. As I booked last minute, my room was on the lowest floor and had no view, just looked at a wall. Ok for me as I really just slept and changed there and really wanted this hotels location. But if you want a view make sure to ask first. This is a very old building, so rooms are smaller than average. Very few hotels or houses for that matter in Victoria have air conditioning nor does this one. The window was designed to only open 4 inches for safety, but kept the room cool enough and the fan helped.

The hotel is mostly all bars and restaurants, - so if your not into or comfortable with that - maybe not the hotel for you. The knock on this hotel seems to be the Fri/Sat night bar crowds, but I was elsewhere so cant comment. But the price and location are great for what you pay. Room and hotel was clean, bathrooms looked recently refurbished, front desk staff very helpful. If you like have fun bars and decent restaurants - they have both right there. For me this hotel works.

Room Tip: room size, views, and noise are all things to ask when booking to make sure you get what's most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for a very accurate overview of the Strathcona Hotel. For those looking for larger and updated rooms we did a major remodel to 20 of our rooms in 2008. These are the Double Queen bedded rooms and are first to be booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have traveled for work and pleasure very often and typically, if the place is clean I am good with the accommodations. In this case, it does not apply. Our queen bed room was certainly clean however it was too small for our suitcases to be open. I can fall sleep anywhere and anytime, however I was constantly shifting on this bed as it was very uncomfortable and the pillow was so big and hard, it was better to try and sleep without it. Finally the room did not have AC and it was so hot in the room, we had to keep the window open, which in downtown Victoria is not a recipe for a great sleep even if you can sleep through just about anything. Motorbikes were racing down the street late at night and other people in the street made it hard to stay sleeping.

One good note was the staff were very friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend this hotel based on our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right at the heart of the city on Douglas street. It is set in a historic/heritage building which adds to the romance of spending a night in this historic city.

The wifi, however, is patchy and unreliable. There is also no air conditioning and it can get very hot on a summer afternoon. Not sure if I would stay there if I am in Victoria again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twcsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is in the downtown Victoria, and for that the hotel get 1 point the 2nd point is for been clean. but there is no AIR CONDITION in any room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you have been worn. you can open the window only 4" to allow fresh air to come in together with the mosquito's. the maintenance of the rooms are very poor (burn bulbs, power outlet that not working etc). you have to see the TV! it's amazing, 19" from 20 years ago. the towels are so thin so you can see through.and they call themselves boutique hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria
The Strathcona Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing