We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strathcona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
68
168
146
44
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
168
146
44
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationcentral locationnight lifehotel featuresliquor storebasic roomdesk stafffew minutes walkheart of downtownold world charmstayed two nightsferry terminalvancouver islandvisiting victoriainner harborwicket
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights there and felt not bad. Great location in downtown with resonable price and the staff is friendly there as well. If there is better wifi connection and also water kettle in the room, it would be prefect!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank for for your comments. We are always tring to improve our WiFi as technology improves we are getting better signals to hotel rooms. The new routers are now more friendly towards Apple products and that is helping with better service also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I got a smokin' good deal for the room and was very happy. The hotel is right downtown and is about 5 minutes walk to the Parliament buildings, provincial museum (must see), and the Bug Zoo (awesome if you have kids with you or, like me, find bugs fascinating).

This is an older hotel with high ceilings but smallish rooms. My room was in the third floor and quiet (There is a club in the basement which I could not hear but I don't know what a weekend would be like). It was clean, had a very comfortable bed and full bath with tub, TV, table and chair. My room was non- smoking as, I believe, the whole hotel is. The staff was lovely.

There are several food service options accessible from the lobby, while there is no room service I went down and got a nice beef dip for the Sticky Wicket (well known Pub in town). Ice was retrieved from their private liquor store, which as a bonus gave me an opportunity to discover the best Scotch Whiskey selection I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Auntbeast. Thank you for your very kind comments about Victoria, the Strathcona Hotel, the Sticky Wicket Pub and yes the finest selection of whiskys to be found in Victoria at the Strath Ale Wine and Spirit Menrchants. I will pass your comments along to all the staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed three nights in the strathcona hotel. Partly in the weekend.
Our stay was ok and as expected since we knew about the possible noise. It was at that time the best possible choice for our budget.
Rooms are ok. Sometimes bit dark but at least clean. Breakfast is next door in the pub and was a buffet, also ok.
We would not recommend to stay there in the weekend since the next door pub is then fully crowded and lots of people hang around (on the street, in the corridors of the hotel) and make a lot of noise. One night we even had 7 drunk youngsters in front of our hotel room banging on the door. Next morning we informed the reception and we got a new room without extra charge (other room was much bigger).
Overall not really recommendable but when you are on a budget, place is ok. Great advantage is the central location and the free parking lot (although not next to the hotel, on 2min distance.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarijeK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Marije, Thank you yot your comments and I am plesaed our desk staff relocated you for the second night. I hope yopu enjoyrd ypur stay in our beatiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our third stay at the Strathcona. We knew that it can be a little noisy and that it has the basics. We got a great rate that included breakfast, car parking, a $20 food and beverage voucher and a Queen room. It was supposed to be a premium queen room, but there is nothing premium about it. It was a very basic room with a queen sized bed, but clean and tidy.

Room Tip: No rooms have air conditioning and the nice bright ones on the main street are noisy!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Mere50, Yes location, location and the great value for our location. Thank you for taking time to comment about the Strathcona Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I picked this hotel because I needed two rooms and the price was unbeatable. I was travelling with my 28 year old son and his girlfriend who were looking to enjoy the Victoria night life. This hotel was perfect for both of us. The room rate allowed us to have two separate rooms (still worked out cheaper than most other hotels). The location is perfect as mentioned in other reviews. The "kids" really enjoyed the area and the nightlife. I Parked the car for $10 and walked to everything.
The rooms are small and dated, but clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very professional and pleasant. I was using the computer in the lobby and was able to witness their customer service over an extended period of time and was amazed how they were able to maintain such a pleasant attitude when guests asked very stupid questions and even complained about the weather! Geez people it is October in Canada! If you are looking for a great deal in a classic hotel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the volleyball court. Quiet, but there was nothing going on outside.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Sarah, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Victoria and tjhe Strathcona Hotel. Yes we have a great location close to the Inner Harbour and Downtown shopping and restarants. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews