We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this B&B, in the Blue Heron Room, and our experience couldn't have been better. On arrival, we were greeted warmly by Sue and Zen, and then, over a glass of wine on the beautiful heated patio, Sue gave us a really useful orientation about the B&B and info on Victoria and region; definitely a nice touch.
The Blue Heron room is spacious, tastefully decorated, and looks on to a very pretty flower-filled garden. The King bed is super comfy. I had some initial reservations about being on the first floor, next to the front entrance, but I needn't have worried. The room was really quiet, very private, and I slept perfectly. Don't hesitate for a moment about booking this beautiful room (the big jacuzzi tub is a bonus).
The breakfasts are not only huge and tasty, they are also works of art. You can tell that Sue puts in tremendous effort in their preparation.
Across the Harbour B&B is only a 5 minute drive from downtown, but you should really take the time to do the 30-40 minute sea side walk. It's easy, flat, and has wonderful scenery.
Best of all, Sue and Zen are gracious hosts and just really nice people. The next time we come to Victoria, we'll be staying at this B&B.

Room Tip: They all seem good. Blue Heron is spacious, has a very comfortable King bed, big tub, and pretty vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binderdundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    10
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
117
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Rock
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

If we could give a rating of TEN we would. Sue and Zen are both outstanding hosts who make you feel special and well cared for. The excellent breakfasts are beautifully presented. Very relaxing and comfortable. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VE7CKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had an incredible stay with our hosts Sue and Zen. The BnB is immaculate with comfortable rooms and an outstanding view. It is an easy walk to downtown Victoria along the waterfront or a water taxi is handy as well. Our hosts were extremely friendly and provided first hand recommendations for attractions and local eateries. The most amazing feature of this gem is the breakfast. Sue is an outstanding cook who provided top notch, delicious breakfasts not unlike those found in high end restaurants. She was attentive to food allergies and food presentation. We highly recommend this BnB experience!
Bell's & Renz's

Room Tip: Each room are of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorib814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in March 2013 and really appreciated Sue's hospitality. She has thought of everything and is passionate about running a quality B&B. We stayed upstairs; the bedroom was a nice size and the bathroom quite an indulgence. Breakfast was such a treat; Sue loves to cook and again goes out of her way to provide quality food. The B&B is a 10 min bus ride from centre of town or a quick 30-40 min walk.

Room Tip: I would choose a room upstairs; close to sitting room which has a very nice views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

SO many great things about this little B&B! First of all, Sue and Zen are amazing hosts and incredibly accommodating. They picked us up at the Clipper ferry (we didn't have a car) and offered to hang on to our luggage and meet us at the ferry the day we left so we could enjoy our last day in town without having to carry our bags around. They gave fantastic suggestions for restaurants/pubs based on our interests. And Sue cooked us a delicious and huge breakfast each morning. We stayed there for 2 nights and since the King bedroom was not booked during our stay they gave us the option to upgrade. And although both rooms appeared immaculate, comfortable and cozy, we took the upgrade. :) The bathroom had dual showerheads with great water pressure and there was also a spa/tub to boot. The B&B is about a 45 minute walk to the downtown, but the walk is quite pleasant and refreshing with a very well maintained, well lighted path right along the water and we actually walked most times we headed into town and back, including at night. Another bonus is a generous supply of cookies available in the rooms and additional brownies and tea/coffee around the B&B. We hope to come back in the the future and we are telling all our friends to stay at this wonderful gem when they are in Victoria!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My guy & I stayed here a week ago for one night. But We LOVED it so much we stayed for two! It was right along the harbor, and had a walk way all along the water to downtown. We never drove once! The rooms were beautiful. Sue & her hubby were sooo friendly and more then accommodating! The breakfast was "unreal" as Troy would always say! Done up like we were in a fancy restuarant! Rooms were clean, cozy, good sized & had more then we could ask for!

Hope to come back again!! Definitely recommending it to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kingfisher!! So beautiful.. private and a step and we were on the back deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_t04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acrosstheharbour, Manager at Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We know that you loved our oceanside walkway to town and the views all along the way, that make our little piece of heaven ...well...heaven! Breakfast was our true pleasure to serve and fun to enjoy your exuberant reaction! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked two rooms, one for ourselves and another for our children. The rooms were both fabulous, warm and spacious. The hosts were welcoming, warm and very helpful. Breakfast was a highlight of the stay., after which we went for a very pleasant walk to downtown through the waterfront. We checked in as guests and left as friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acrosstheharbour, Manager at Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you so much for your visit with us! It was our pleasure to welcome you "home" and we look forward to seeing you again ...soon, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 93 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 485 Head St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our contemporary west coast home overlooking Victoria's outer harbour on the quiet side of Victoria. Relax in your private guest room with 3 of our 4 rooms offering king size beds, jetted tubs and fireplaces. Each of our tastefully appointed rooms offers TV/DVD player, complimentary wireless internet and ensuite bathroom. Enjoy artfully prepared breakfast in our harbour-view breakfast room. Browse our complimentary DVD library and enjoy popcorn, bottled water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple cider anytime. From our door, stroll the picturesque ocean walkway to town or in-season, hop a water taxi and experience the Inner Harbour by boat. Complimentary on-site parking is provided. Sea kayaking rentals are right next door and scenic bicycle trails are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Across The Harbour Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing