We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - off the beaten Track !!”
Review of Chalet by the Sea

Chalet by the Sea
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet by the Sea
Ranked #48 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2006

Stayed at this delightful B & B for 3 nights following the recommendations seen on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The hospitality demonstrated by Ava and Alex was first class. Alex was extremely helpful in providing details of good restaurants and advice on trips. The home cooked breakfasts were delicious and varied (we never had the same thing twice) setting us up well for the days sight seeing. The chalet was tastefully decorated throughout - We stayed in room 3 the Garden Room, very spacious, clean with TV / CD player, the wardrobe was huge with plenty of space to store cases and hang clothes. The location was within a few minutes walk to the sea with fantastic sunsets enjoyed, although was a little out of town for downdown but still walkable at a push (shortcut through the Beacon Hill park). Found a fantastic italian restaurant IL Terazzo in downtown Victoria which was cavernous inside despite its insignificant exterior - the heated outdoor terrace was romantic and popular. Would definately choose to stay here again, however, Ava and Alex were looking into changing from a 4 room B & B to 2 self contained units next year - It is a shame to miss out on Avas breakfasts!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alibobs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2006

I've stayed in b&b's all over the world and this one is truly "world-class!" The rooms were immaculate, the common areas as well. While all modern conveniences were included (unobtrusive TV with built-in DVD for our 3-year old), both rooms and parlors were appointed with wonderful antique furnishings to make you feel like you were enjoying the beauty and elegance of a simpler, Victorian era.

Attention to detail was fantastic, including neatening and cleaning bedroom and bath each day, making bed, etc. Preferences on food items at breakfast were remembered, giving the feeling of being pampered by a favorite relative.

We also happened to enjoy the innkeepers and their child immensely, but it's clear that they are competely non-intrusive if you're not in the mood for being outgoing.

Overall, can not imagine a finer place, and have no suggestions for improvement (very rare for me). HIGHEST recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Benjamynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

The reviews already posted tell the story on this great choice for staying in Victoria. At first glance, the house seems pretty plain but the interior makes up for it. An eclectic collection of art, luxurious linens, tastefully decorated interior and the special attention of Alexander and Ava provide a comfortable and special stay. A short walk takes you to the beach, restaurants or park and a 20-minute walk takes you to the heart of Victoria. We were attracted to Chalet by the Sea by the pictures of the bedrooms. La Dolce Vita was as inviting as the pictures on their website: chaletbythesea.com. Be sure to check them out and don't make your choice based on the exterior shots I have posted. The best surprise was the exceptional culinary talents of host, Ava.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2006

We only stayed 3 nights, but wished we could have spent a week or more. Chalet by the Sea would be great for a longer-term stay because of its location. It's a block from the sea, with a wonderful walking path, and I could see taking a lovely seaside walk every morning. It's also only a couple of blocks from Beacon Hill Park, also nice for walking or bike rides. It's a bit of a hike to downtown Victoria, but we enjoyed staying in such a quiet and beautiful neighborhood.

The exterior of the house doesn't do justice to the interior, classic Arts and Crafts style, especially the entry hall. We love the Arts and Crafts style, so it was great fun to stay there. We stayed in the Garden Queen, and it was spacious and overlooked the backyard, so very quiet and peaceful. The bathroom was tiny, but beautifully done and the shower was surprisingly roomy. We had no complaints.

The innkeepers were very helpful and good at recommending restaurants and places to visit. The breakfasts were delicious, and we had farm-fresh, free range eggs two of the mornings, with wonderful artisan sourdough toast and other locally raised ingredients.

I'd recommend this B&B to anyone interested in visiting Victoria. We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveWineAndGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrisburg, Oregon
1
Reviewed 22 May 2006

Our stay this spring at Chalet by the Sea is one of the best memories of our trip to Victoria, B. C. The inn is nestled in a quiet manicured neighborhood less than a block from the sea and walking trails or just a quick jaunt by car to the all of the city's sights and sounds.

Alexander and Ava create a warm, welcoming and peaceful environment for the guests at their “casually elegant” 1911 Inn by the sea! The English Country room is a cozy sweet, sweet haven with its beautiful soothing decor, deep soaker tub with fluffy towels and robes awaiting you, charming fireplace to warm the evenings, and a comfy king size bed filled with feather pillows and down duvet to sink into at the end of the day.

Alexander provided a carafe of bold smooth coffee outside our door upon waking while Ava started our day off with a beautifully presented and equally delicious breakfast that included seasonal fruit and fresh baked goods at a cozy candle-lit table in the library with soft music filling in the space around us.

We loved getting to know Alexander, Ava and their son Gabriel; they made our stay very special by their warm hospitality, very attentive care and willingness to share not only their beautiful home but daily conversations about their lives as well. Thank You for making our stay so memorable! 5 out of 5 stars to Chalet by the sea!
P.S. Gabriel: Thank you for reading us C&H and playing your favorite songs for us!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2006

Based on other reviews here we chose Chalet by the Sea over the other B&B we were considering. Chalet by the Sea was significantly less expensive, but provided top quality service and accommodations.

We stayed in the La Dolce Vita. We chose it because of the jetted tub and the clean, elegant room decor. So many B&Bs seem to suffer en excess of frills, bows, lace, chintz and pink. None of that here: simple clean white bedding, a restrained hanging canopy (albeit with tassels).

As an example of the personal and dedicated service provided- Alexander graciously booked us a massage for two, securing two masseusses for a one hour massage at 7pm- even though his usual provider was unavailable. It was superb- just the thing after a flight.

When we arrived two brandies were waiting on a silver tray, in crystal. Everything was immaculately clean, and the kingsize bed was wonderful. I didn't expect full linen service every day for a three night stay, but each night was like the first- bed freshly made, spotless fluffy white towels and robes.

The jetted tub was large enough for two, although the jets were noisier than I expected, and were air jets, not jacuzzi water streams. So it was much like sitting in the bubble stream of an aquarium- bubbles everywhere. At the strongest, the jets did provide a gentle body massage- a unique sensation- not quite like any other hot tub we've experienced, but very enjoyable. The "water closet" has its own little room, with heated tiles (ahhhhhhhhh)- keeping the tub and shower enclosure free of 'distractions'. Because of the noise, however, the jets should only run between 7 am and 10pm- making a decadent bubble massage after a night out only possible with an early night. The tub is a wonderful soaker tub though- and can be used anytime!

The room has a beautiful little table and two comfy chairs- all gorgeous antique furniture- but not fussy- these are chairs you can use! At 6'4" and 200lbs I am cautious about dainty furniture...Also included are a CD player/radio/alarm clock with an assortment of appropriate CDs, a pitcher of water and glasses,and many tealight candles. The suite is perfect for a romantic retreat.

Breakfast was served when requested, not at a pre-set time, and all individual preferences (cream, sugar, tea, coffee, diet) are ferretted out in advance. Each breakfast was delicious - gourmet food from organic ingredients. Ava is a culinary wizard and the aromas of baking are tantalizing and promising. Simple, yet elegant: our first breakfast started with amazing freshly baked muffins, butter, homemade preserves (I think), and fresh strawberries, with a dusting of confectioners sugar. Eggs and asparagus accompanied by crusty homemade bread rounded off the meal. The coffe and tea were fresh and delicious and constantly refreshed. Other mornings were similar, but not identical. Fresh biscuits, different preserves, wonderful wholegrain pancakes which unidid any preconceptions I had; these were light and fluffy, acocmpanied by tasty sausage. I couldn't finish!

We came to Victoria to revisit our university haunts, and specifically to indulge in gourmet and unique restaurants, of which Victoria is blessed in abundance. After the amazing breakfasts, however, we found we had little appetite for lunch, and so we missed half the restaurants we were planning on. And I don't regret it a bit. Ava's breakfasts were wonderful.

Each guest has a key and can come and go at will- no curfew here- and each suite is separately locking. The house itself is a stately Victorian showpiece- filled with unique art and wonderful stained glass leaded panes, dark wood, and cushy oriental rugs.

The hosts are very knowledgeable about the local restaurants and recreation opportunities, and are more than happy to provide tips and sample menus. They will help book whale watching trips or other activities.

Alexander and Ava are passionate about local econmies and responsible buying. No Costco supplies here: everything is purchased from local small market shops, and is organic and Island produced when possible. Their attention and devotion to detail and quality made this trip unsurpassed: this is the best B&B we have stayed in. And although other B&Bs look enticing- when we come back to Victoria, we'll stay here again. Why mess with near perfection? Five stars!

Near perfection only because I have three small suggestions- none large enough to warrant dropping this rating to 4 stars. It would be a nice touch to warm the plates before serving- we savoured our food, but it cooled too quickly on cold plates. Secondly, we found the bed wonderful, but the protective plastic mattress cover made it too sweaty when the room was not cold- we've never had a plasticized pad before in any B&B or hotel. Perhaps a washable protective mattress pad could serve the same purpose- but breathe better. And last, and certainly least, the provided toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, bath mixtures) were standard drugstore fare: Suave, Fa, etc. Perfectly adequate, but when I'm king for the weekend, I would have enjoyed that extra pampering of salon quality toiletries. Mostly it was my confused expectations: I mixed up info from another B&Bs website with the Chalet's- and so was expecting salon toiletries. The provided supplies were fine - and worked fine for my planned pampering- I enjoyed my jetted tub soak with Fa. These are small things- and we didn't ask for any changes while we were there. I'm sure they would have been happy to accomodate us, had we asked.

Ava and Alexander- we'll see you again!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2006

My wife and i spent 2 wonderful nights here. We had a great room, very spacious extremely clean, and well supplied. We had 2 very plentiful and delicious breakfasts, lasted us well in to the afternoon. The b&b is well located, near the water and about 15 mins walking to downtown, lots of knowledge of the area from Alexander and Ava. We will be back again and highly recommend to anyone wanting a nice quiet relaxing get away

Stayed: February 2006
Thank caskale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,890 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,334 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet by the Sea

Address: 71 Linden Ave | (Currently Closed for Renovations), Victoria, British Columbia V8V 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet by the Sea Bed and Breakfast, in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada is a beautifully restored 1911 Arts & Crafts home offering elegant, historic bed & breakfast accommodation in a convenient Victoria, BC location. Nestled just outside the downtown core, on a quiet street, our Victoria, Vancouver Island bed and breakfast is located one block from the ocean, beaches and walking trails, with stunning views of the Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Close to all Victoria attractions, Beacon Hill Park, US ferries and the downtown Inner Harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet By The Sea Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing