We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable place to stay when you are in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed two nights in Ilona's B&B Hemingways by the Sea. We had a luxourious room with a lot of space. Ilona is a very friendly host and gives good advice where to go; a must go is Butchard Garden and a walk into town via the foot path close by the B&B. Finaly, Ilona serves an excellent breakfast. We would advice our friends to go here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

I am so glad that you feel so good about your stay at my B&B. We try so hard to make our guests happy. It is so exciting when a guest takes time to tell us so. Thanks a million. Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is our second visit to this B&B. We stayed here on our 30th anniversary and now we came back on our 40th anniversary. We had a bottle of wine and card waiting for us in our room What a nice touch!! Ilona is such a charming hostess and we enjoyed her just as much on our second time around. We stayed again in the Serengeti Suite which is a large bright lovely room. Ilona makes a delicious breakfast served in style in her gorgeous dining room. Ilona is also very up to date on travel in the area and this makes your stay very interesting & fun. The location of this B&B is perfect. We loved just taking the walk along the bay to the downtown area and stopping here and there to take in sights and have a bite to eat. Victoria is such a pretty city, especially at night with all the bright lights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

It was great to have you back again. Thanks for the kind remarks. Coming back for a second, third and fourth visit, is the best compliment we can get. See you again, hopefully sooner. Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had a wonderful, restful stay at Hemingways! Ilona is a very gracious and warm hostess and we want to thank her so much for her wonderful breakfasts and excellent ideas of where to visit on Vancouver Island! Her bed and breakfast is a good value, located in a quiet residential neighborhood only about 10 minutes drive to downtown Victoria. You can see the water and Olympic mountains as well. Thank you very much, Ilona! The Brady's

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thanks for your kind remarks. I work hard to make sure my guests are well looked after, so when we hear back, we know we are headed in the right direction. Come back soon. Love Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We visited Victoria in July with family and the plan was to visit the Butcharts gardens which took us longer than expected. I had not booked any rooms in Victoria and in desperation, started to call B&B's at 10 pm. All were full or reluctant to accept guests that late. But not Ilona. She accepted us with open arms. It was like we knew her for a long time. The place was very clean, very charming and very inviting. As is obvious from the name, the place is a shrine to Hemingway. The breakfast the next morning was cooked by Ilona herself and she joined us at the table. We just felt like we were visiting a relative in another city. Our one night visit was the start of a friendship which I hope will continue. We look forward to staying at this lovely place again. I even left my wash bag behind and Ilona was kind enough to mail it to me. Thanks Ilona for being such a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Thanks so much for your kind remarks....it makes me feel special when I get such nice comments. Come again, for a visit. Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to book Hemingways by the Sea for a 6 night stay. We had rented a car, so traveling to Victoria was not an issue. Hemigways is located in the Esquimalt area and a very short walk to the ocean. Walk one block west and 2 blocks south and you will arrive at a walking path that runs along the oceanside. If you walk one block east you will enter the naval base, so the road that runs in front of the B&B is extremely quiet.

We arrived prior to the check-in time and warmly greeted by Ilona with cake and tea. We stayed in the Kenya room - first room to the left at the top of the stairs. We could see the ocean from our window and Ilona had explained to us prior to booking that the B&B is not oceanside. However, we were close enough to enjoy the sea gulls and deer in the area.

This was my husband's second stay in a B&B and he thought the room was a fairly good size. The room also had a mini fridge, so that was nice to keep our drinks cool. Room also came with a table, 2 chairs, TV, cable and internet connection. Bathroom was straight across the hall from the bedroom and was for our exclusive use. Hubby would have preferred to have an in-suite bathroom, but it really wasn't an issue for our stay. I just reminded him that we weren't staying in a hotel - it is someone's home. The Kenya bathroom has a tub, shower, hair dryer and basic ammenities. Water pressure was excellent.

Ilona provided us with bottles of water on our first excustion and we re-filled them every morning. She also provided maps on how to get to our destinations in the quickest time possible. She recommended a few things to do and see and was a gracious and friendly hostess. The breakfasts were excellent. There were 3 nicely set tabled areas and on some of the mornings, all 3 were in full use with the guests. Breakfast is set for 9:00am, however Ilona was flexible when some of the guests came down a little early for breakfast. She also has a nice patio area to sit and take your coffee before breakfast. Over the course of our stay we ate toast, raisin toast, scrambled eggs, pancakes, crepes, french toast, rice pudding, hard boiled eggs, and an assortment of fresh fruit. When I explained that I didn't like pancakes, Ilona immediately said she would make me some eggs or something else that I may like. I declined and told her the toast was good enough, but she worried that I would still be hungry :-) Really a lovely woman.

We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return to this B&B

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Can_Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Manager at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

We are so glad you had such a great time at our bed and breakfast. We look forward to your return so we can pamper you again! Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Clean and lovely home, with a warm welcome from the owner/hostess. She was very accommodating about breakfast and helpful planning our visit to beautiful Victoria! We loved the ocean view from our room. Our private bath was across the hall but not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Angus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

It always makes me feel like the hard work is al worth it when I get a review like this. It is wonderful to be appreciated. Thanks, Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Ilona became a fast friend. We really enjoyed her home,breakfasts and guidance of the area in Victoria. She made several very good suggestions. Her home is very cozy, private and comfortable. She goes beyond to make her guests feel at home and loved. I would highly recommend staying with her for a relaxing RR time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghelmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you so very much for your kind remarks. They are sincerely appreciated. Perhaps we will see you back here again. Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Prior Castle Inn
#21 of 92 in Victoria
26 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#2 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
529 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing