We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“familystay in 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #22 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valle Gran Rey, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“familystay in 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

lovely location with excellent breakfast and interesting anecdotes of the past
very delightful stay
thank you

Room Tip: all seem to be at the same level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasDerDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
66
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our last stay in Canada after à three week holiday. THE warm welcome by Ilona and her caring way of hospitality was warm and wonderfull. Her breakfast was even more surprising! She is a magigan in her kitchen!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
We are super glad we could make your visit to Canada complete. It was a pleasure to have you visit our B&B. Thanks for your most generous comments. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Ilona was very gracious, warm and friendly. We had a wonderful time at her b&b and Victoria. Her breakfasts were tasty and delicious and She is an excellent cook. We loved to hear the seagulls. Ilona knows Victoria and was very helpful suggesting nice places to visit. We would go back to this warm, cozy Hemingways by the Sea.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbugs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed two nights in Ilona's B&B Hemingways by the Sea. We had a luxourious room with a lot of space. Ilona is a very friendly host and gives good advice where to go; a must go is Butchard Garden and a walk into town via the foot path close by the B&B. Finaly, Ilona serves an excellent breakfast. We would advice our friends to go here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
I am so glad that you feel so good about your stay at my B&B. We try so hard to make our guests happy. It is so exciting when a guest takes time to tell us so. Thanks a million. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helens, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is our second visit to this B&B. We stayed here on our 30th anniversary and now we came back on our 40th anniversary. We had a bottle of wine and card waiting for us in our room What a nice touch!! Ilona is such a charming hostess and we enjoyed her just as much on our second time around. We stayed again in the Serengeti Suite which is a large bright lovely room. Ilona makes a delicious breakfast served in style in her gorgeous dining room. Ilona is also very up to date on travel in the area and this makes your stay very interesting & fun. The location of this B&B is perfect. We loved just taking the walk along the bay to the downtown area and stopping here and there to take in sights and have a bite to eat. Victoria is such a pretty city, especially at night with all the bright lights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
It was great to have you back again. Thanks for the kind remarks. Coming back for a second, third and fourth visit, is the best compliment we can get. See you again, hopefully sooner. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had a wonderful, restful stay at Hemingways! Ilona is a very gracious and warm hostess and we want to thank her so much for her wonderful breakfasts and excellent ideas of where to visit on Vancouver Island! Her bed and breakfast is a good value, located in a quiet residential neighborhood only about 10 minutes drive to downtown Victoria. You can see the water and Olympic mountains as well. Thank you very much, Ilona! The Brady's

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thanks for your kind remarks. I work hard to make sure my guests are well looked after, so when we hear back, we know we are headed in the right direction. Come back soon. Love Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We visited Victoria in July with family and the plan was to visit the Butcharts gardens which took us longer than expected. I had not booked any rooms in Victoria and in desperation, started to call B&B's at 10 pm. All were full or reluctant to accept guests that late. But not Ilona. She accepted us with open arms. It was like we knew her for a long time. The place was very clean, very charming and very inviting. As is obvious from the name, the place is a shrine to Hemingway. The breakfast the next morning was cooked by Ilona herself and she joined us at the table. We just felt like we were visiting a relative in another city. Our one night visit was the start of a friendship which I hope will continue. We look forward to staying at this lovely place again. I even left my wash bag behind and Ilona was kind enough to mail it to me. Thanks Ilona for being such a wonderful host.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thanks so much for your kind remarks....it makes me feel special when I get such nice comments. Come again, for a visit. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosemary Inn
#1 of 1 in Esquimalt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing