We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2008

My new bride and I were looking for a cozy, relaxing place to stay that would have lots of great amenities but still be rather reasonable for our budget. I read one scathing review of Hemingways on this site, but all the other reviews were very good, and the rates were very reasonable compared to other B&Bs in the Victoria area, and the room (Hemingways Suite) had everything I was looking for. So I called and booked my 5 night stay. The innkeeper, Ilona, was very helpful, and I was actually delighted to hear a German accent! Amber and I are non-drinkers, and Ilona of course switched the champagne in our package for something non-alcoholic.
We had a beautiful wedding on April 5th, and arrived at Hemingways the next day. The whole honeymoon was a surprise for Amber, and she was delighted as we drove up and were welcomed inside, and I was very relieved and surprised :-) The room was spacious, had a walk-in closet, a huge two-person tub with double showerheads, and the most water pressure I've ever experienced! The decorations in the room were tasteful, and gave the whole room a lovely ambiance. The meals in the morning were more than enough to eat (a big plus in my book!) and delicious. We had crepes, french toast, egg dishes, and always with a large selection of fruit, tea, coffee, homemade wheat bread, jam, etc.
Ilona was so helpful with sight-seeing plans and showing us on the map which routes to take for a more scenic trip. We were more than pleased in every way with her hospitality and company. However, she was very careful to give a honeymooning couple as much space and alone time as they wanted. She has been there at Hemingways for 10 years this year, and we could very much see that she loves people and loves what she does.
I was pleased to find that the bad review of Hemingways was very flawed and due to misunderstanding on the part of the people who wrote it. There are just some people that are impossible to please. Ilona was very respectful of our privacy, room service was provided, and there is a placard in the bathroom explaining how room service is conducted. There are two thermostats in the room, and wood was provided if we wanted to have a fire.
Hemingways was only a 5 minute stroll to McCauly Point, a harbor and park with a walking trail right along the ocean and only 3 minute drive to Saxe Point, a beautiful park with lots of trails and flowerbeds, right on the ocean. Blockbuster, Pizza Hut, Pizza Factory, A&W, Quiznos, and several very nice restaurants were only about 3-10 minute drive.
We had a wonderful time, and hope that this review might help you in your decision.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JacobThrelkeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2008

I had been wanting to visit friends in Victoria for a long time and finally had some time free so booked it for January.

I chose Hemingways by the Sea after having it recommended to me by my friends. I checked out the website and I have to say I was not disappointed! The weather was not nice but the room was cozy and warm with a lovely fireplace. My stay began with a hot cup of tea brought to me by the owner, and she also provided me with all the information I needed on what to see and do in Victoria. I found her to be most welcoming, friendly and hospitable!

One of the highlights had to be the breakfast - I had a delicious cheese omellete, fresh fruit, a choice of delicious breads and jams the first day and a fabulous crepe with fruit the next day. The coffee was European - lots of flavour and freshly made!

Although renovations were underway, it did not impact my stay at all. In fact, I can't wait to see the upgrades when I return during a warmer season!

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank Barbie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

This Bed and Breakfast is owned by a woman who's character is an integral part of your stay. The bed and breakfast itself is excellently maintained. The place is spotless, and you get a real sense that there is a lot of love poured into it. The owner, is more than helpful and her passion for what she does is invigorating. The location is a little bit out of the main action area but if you have a car it is no problem. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for something a little bit different, it is not just 'a roof over your head', it is a place where one woman fills the space with her life (literally)
Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delilah-Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannelore v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: De hemingway room is de grootste met eigen badkamer en toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank franklN1789WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Prior Castle Inn
#21 of 92 in Victoria
26 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayridge Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 92 in Victoria
17 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#2 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £88 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing