We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Hostess with the Mostest"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #21 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Hostess with the Mostest"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary with a trip to Vancouver Island. Hemingway's-by-the-Sea was our first stop. We stayed four nights. My husband and I have been staying in Bed and Breakfasts for almost 30 years. Ilona stands far and above any of the innkeepers we've met.
We stayed in the Key West room. Waiting for us was an anniversary card and a lovely vase of flowers. The room has a huge bay window with binoculars for exploring. We were quite comfortable, but wished there were some drawers for our clothes.
We were spoiled for the first two days as we were the only guests and had Ilona and Nicole to ourselves.
Ilona was recovering from a scary health issue and had her amazing daughter, Nicole, helping out. In spite of everything, Ilona was vivacious, warm and tremendously helpful. She has a stack of Victoria maps which she highlights as she talks about places to go and things to see in Victoria. She showed us a good place to park our car and then walk across the bridge to downtown. Ilona strongly recommended the Maritime Museum, which did not disappoint. It was a perfect activity for a rainy day (in September!)
The breakfasts were varied with many choices. There was always music playing softly in the background.
The day we left, Ilona had written out points of interest for our drive to Nanaimo. What a special lady.
PS upon our return home, we had an email from Ilona and Nicole telling us how much they enjoyed having us at Hemingway's-by-the-sea. Classy!

Room Tip: The best way to decide is to communicate your needs directly to Ilona. She will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thanks for the very kind words. We are oh so glad that we could make your anniversary a bit more special. Ilona and Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
66
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We just returned home yesterday from our three night honeymoon stay at the Hemingway's by the Sea, staying in the Hemingway Suite. From the stained glass mermaid window and mirror in the bathroom, complete with two shower heads and a large garden tub made of marble; to the partial canopied extremely comfortable king size bed; to the personal balcony; to the mammoth fireplace, this room was the epitome of luxuriousness. The European style breakfast was a fantastic spread, different each day with cheese and fruit plates, variety of breads and one or even two main dishes made from fresh local ingredients, plus a great cup of coffee or tea! The owner Ilona and her daughter Nicole were excellent hostesses, great company and very helpful.
We will return!! xoxo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
The Hemingway Suite was made for Honeymooners. Thanks Annie for you kind comments. We really enjoyed having you at Hemingway's. Have a great life together. Ilona and Nicole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is why we love bed & breakfasts! Our room was clean and comfortable, and we slept really well! The hostess was delightful and very accommodating. She tried very hard to meet our every need for comfort, schedule, and help. It was relaxing and lovely. We stayed in the Kenya room. The bed was extremely comfortable. The large (private) bathroom was just across the hall from the room and though it was not en-suite, it was private, convenient and clean. Breakfast was delicious. It was quite close to downtown without the noise and traffic of downtown. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks Beth for the kind remarks. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first B & B experience so I was anxious that my husband enjoy it (he seemed uncomfortable being in a house rather than a hotel). We booked the Hemingway's Suite which was enormous. It had a new king-size bed that was the best bed I had found in a hotel ever! There is a large soaking tub and a lovely balcony. There is a minimal kitchen facilities but we didn't use them.

Ilona and her daughter were very welcoming offering a hot drink or filtered water on our arrival. They also made great recommendations for sight seeing and dinner. The breakfast in the morning was beautifully presented and excellent.

My husband and I enjoyed our first B & B experience. As he noted, this is not a cookie-cutter experience. Every B & B is going to be an adventure. He seems up for that!

Our first impression of the property was a little disappointing as we approached it via the sketchy streets of Esquimalt. It is not on a large property. We thought it would be "by the sea" so we were surprised to find it on a suburban street. However, it is only a short walk down to the nearby Saxe Point park overlooking the harbour. It is a beautiful spot. The area is quiet and close to downtown Victoria.

I found it a bit pricey for a B & B and because it was a distance from most of the tourist sites however, if you want a lot of room and a great bed and a yummy breakfast, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The Heminway's Suite could accomodate children or another couple since there is lots of room. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks Linda for the kind remarks. We are so glad we could help convert your husband to the Bed and Breakfast experience. There is nothing like it in hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location is minutes from downtown. Ilona was very helpful and friendly. She and her daughter provided very nice breakfasts. Music played during breakfast and food included crepes, french toasts, bagles, fruits, eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, smoked salmon, soft boiled eggs and more. Ilona helped us to plan our day trips. The room we rented was large and clean. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for the kind comments Alan, we work hard to put on a great breakfast. Glad you enjoyed it so much. Come back again. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Four of us stayed in the Serengeti room for a weekend of tourist activities. We enjoyed the quiet B&B and our innkeeper's sweet nature and delicious breakfasts. We had a king bed and hideabed, which wasn't ideal but all we could afford. The B&B was close to the marina and we took a water taxi to downtown. Very relaxing stay. We would love to come back sometime!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We are very glad you had a great stay and would love to see you back again. Thanks for taking time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garwood, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The owner & her daughter were great hostesses. The home has plenty of room to provide privacy when you want it, but great common areas when you want to socialize. They revived my interest in operating a bed & breakfast, which I had set aside 15 years ago. They were very patient, considering all the frustrations they could have with guests in their home.

Room Tip: I think any room would work. All the other guests expressed that they liked their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. This summer was a true test of our business due to an illness, so your comments mean more than every. Thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosemary Inn
#1 of 1 in Esquimalt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing