We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and kindness owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly and kindness owner”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent very wonderful time for staying.
We got a lot of advices for sight seeing from host. It was very helpfull for us.
We want to stay next time .
Also we want to recommend this B&B for my friend or family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_style0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that I had a small part in making your trip memorable. I look forward to your return. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
66
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This a nice house situated in a residential neighborhood. Ilona is a very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hostess. The breakfasts she cooks are good and substantial. Just be aware that the location is fairly far away from town (we did walk it, but it is a very long walk) and this is not really a bed and breakfast per se, but is a converted house. It suited our needs, but if you want to be in the center of town you will need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The room we originally booked was supposed to have a private bathroom, but the bathroom was located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for the kind comments. I try hard to make sure every customer enjoys their stay and gets what they need to make their visit enjoyable. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and stayed there for the last two nights of our visit to the Island. It was a very nice and relaxing place to stay. Ilona was a great hostess who was a delight to talk to and provided great breakfasts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Serengeti room and you could hear a bit from the pipes, when water was running but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for the nice review. I am glad your found our place relaxing. I try to make it that way and so it is nice to hear that it is working. I also take pride in my breakfasts, so it is great to hear that they are enjoyed. Come back again. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My boyfriend and I came here for my birthday week and it was so relaxing. The B&B was right by a beach/ park called Macauley Park, so it was nice that the beach was right there. The B&B was in a very quiet neighbourhood which was nice b/c we're from a busy city. The owners were so nice and quirky and really friendly. They had plenty of ideas on where to go for site seeing and different towns along the coast. We stayed in the Hemingway suite which was so spacious and uncluttered. It was a large room for two people and had a really nice bathroom with a huge tub. The B&B is also only a 10 or 15 minute drive to downtown Victoria. There are also grocery stores in the area.

Ilona and her daughter were so gracious and made sure we had everything we needed. All in all it was so much fun and we made so many memories there. I would definitely go back to stay when we get another chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your birthday week. We are happy we could help make it better. That is our job, so it is really nice to get the feedback. Come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My friend and I booked our weekend stay at Hemingway's via Hotels.com where we paid $178/night plus tax for the 2 bedroom apartment (named as The Lion's Den on Hemingway's own personal website). Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find that the property was not quite as pictured on the websites (hotels.com and hemingway's own site). Although we were greeted very kindly by Ilona and her daughter, the mood quickly became uncomfortable when Ilona indicated that we would both be sharing one bedroom. After a discussion about my booking and showing her my email confirmation clearly reflecting a booking of the whole apartment, she requested an additional payment from us, her reason being that she needed to make some profit from her bookings. We were tired from a long day and agreed to pay her because we'd already paid a total of $400+ for two nights and did not want to forfeit the total amount over it. The apartment was sufficient in that the beds were comfortable, nice bedding, it is however, completely outdated. The bathroom was clean but nonetheless it appeared like something out of the 70's and just didn't give one the feeling of cleanliness though I would not go as far as to say that it was dirty. The toilet flush is so loud, there has to be something done about it (using the bathroom in the middle of the night results in a startled awakening for any other occupants of the suite). The sink tends to clog up quickly and you have to give the water a few seconds to drain. The room named as Peru (the door has a small sign labeled Peru) which is named the The Lair on the Hemingway site, is cozy but unfortunately the pipes are SO LOUD. Everytime the water was running (somewhere in the b&b i'm assuming) the noise would awaken me and didn't make for a very restful sleep. It totally sounds as if the water is about to come bursting through the walls. The suite itself is situated next to the main kitchen, coffee at 8am and breakfast at 9am makes for a very noisy morning. If you are going for rest and relaxation, I would seriously consider all of the above and to be fair I will state that perhaps a room located elsewhere in the B&B might be more pleasant. The dining area is a nice open space with 2 small and 1 large table, very spacious and the part I liked the most. The breakfast was also light & good, cheese on bagel, scrambled eggs, turkey/veggie on toast, fresh fruit, tea/coffee. The whole experience with charging us extra money the night when we checked in left a slightly bad impression upon us. The location is away from the city centre but to be honest it is not a long drive to get in to the city. The sea is nearby as the name indicates, no complaints there as we were aware that it was Hemingway's BY the sea and not Hemingway's ON the Sea. Overall, if they would most importantly be honest about their pricing and sort out the issue with the insanely loud pipes/toilet, it could make for a good stay.

Room Tip: i'm guessing that rooms on the opposite side might have less 'pipe/water noise'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soni k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
I am truly sorry that you are disappointed in your stay with us. Your booking came through from Hotels.com and it was for one room for two people. When you arrived, for some reason you thought you had booked two rooms. So, to accommodate your needs, I gave you a very special rate on the two rooms. If you had booked directly with me, I doubt that this confusion would have happened. We did everything possible to accommodate your needs within reason. Sorry things did not happen the way you planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary with a trip to Vancouver Island. Hemingway's-by-the-Sea was our first stop. We stayed four nights. My husband and I have been staying in Bed and Breakfasts for almost 30 years. Ilona stands far and above any of the innkeepers we've met.
We stayed in the Key West room. Waiting for us was an anniversary card and a lovely vase of flowers. The room has a huge bay window with binoculars for exploring. We were quite comfortable, but wished there were some drawers for our clothes.
We were spoiled for the first two days as we were the only guests and had Ilona and Nicole to ourselves.
Ilona was recovering from a scary health issue and had her amazing daughter, Nicole, helping out. In spite of everything, Ilona was vivacious, warm and tremendously helpful. She has a stack of Victoria maps which she highlights as she talks about places to go and things to see in Victoria. She showed us a good place to park our car and then walk across the bridge to downtown. Ilona strongly recommended the Maritime Museum, which did not disappoint. It was a perfect activity for a rainy day (in September!)
The breakfasts were varied with many choices. There was always music playing softly in the background.
The day we left, Ilona had written out points of interest for our drive to Nanaimo. What a special lady.
PS upon our return home, we had an email from Ilona and Nicole telling us how much they enjoyed having us at Hemingway's-by-the-sea. Classy!

Room Tip: The best way to decide is to communicate your needs directly to Ilona. She will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thanks for the very kind words. We are oh so glad that we could make your anniversary a bit more special. Ilona and Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We just returned home yesterday from our three night honeymoon stay at the Hemingway's by the Sea, staying in the Hemingway Suite. From the stained glass mermaid window and mirror in the bathroom, complete with two shower heads and a large garden tub made of marble; to the partial canopied extremely comfortable king size bed; to the personal balcony; to the mammoth fireplace, this room was the epitome of luxuriousness. The European style breakfast was a fantastic spread, different each day with cheese and fruit plates, variety of breads and one or even two main dishes made from fresh local ingredients, plus a great cup of coffee or tea! The owner Ilona and her daughter Nicole were excellent hostesses, great company and very helpful.
We will return!! xoxo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
The Hemingway Suite was made for Honeymooners. Thanks Annie for you kind comments. We really enjoyed having you at Hemingway's. Have a great life together. Ilona and Nicole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosemary Inn
#1 of 1 in Esquimalt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing