We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time away in a quiet, restful Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Hemingway's By the Sea is warm and welcoming. The owner is very personable and provides great informtion to help your stay be enjoyable. We were provided a variety of locations to visit. The rooms were elegantly decorated and clean. The breakfast was good and included a main dish as well as fruit.

The location did not have a great view, but provided a short walk to the ocean and easy direction to get to local shopping areas.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

We had been travelling throughout Alberta and BC staying mostly at B&B's. Although many were quite adequate but none can compare to Hemingway's. It begins with Ilona, the quintessential hostess. Ilona is a warm and informative hostess with a wonderful European flair. The Hemingway motif is carried throughout this spacious mansion with great style and class. It creates an atmosphere of a romantic bygone area -- quite refreshing from the conventional. The location is quiet, the gardens are beautiful, the breakfasts superb, ample parking - close to the ocean, shopping and restaurants. A great find!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sookebroncofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed in the Sarengetti Suite for two weeks in beautiful Esquimalt, Victoria.
Ilona was the sweetest hostess and was very helpful in suggesting places to sight see including beautiful gardens, beaches and excellent resturants!!! Ilona really knows the city and we would have been lost without her suggestions!

Ilona's breakfasts were phenominal, great apple creppes and organic sausage and eggs!! The common lounge area is also very beautiful and we miss chatting with Ilona over a glass of wine and we miss her tasteful choice of background music playing as the day unfolded.

We are hoping to visit Victoria again and are definately going to be staying at Hemingways again next trip!! Thanks for everything Ilona and you are a prefect hostess and great friend !! Miss you lots!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephNL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Not downtown, and that can be a plus - no traffic noises, harbor noises, sea-planes. Even in July we slept with the balcony door open and windows open, and it was cool and delightful. Ilona, the hostes, and Laurie, her helper, were superbly friendly and helpful, even to the point of providing us a lawn chair to use for the Saturday night fireworks at Buchart Gardens. Travel around Victoria is easy - car, taxi and bus (#25 bus stop 1/2 block from Hemingways !) are readily available. We loved Victoria, and we felt pampered and well-cared for at Hemingways By the Sea. Thank you, Ilona, for helping to make our vacation in BC so memorable. Breakfast is superb and not to be missed !!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzy_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This B n B exceeded all our expectations of what makes a good bed and breakfast (or, rather, in general, any place you'd stay at while on vacation). The hostess was exceedingly helpful, welcoming, friendly and professional. It's very clean (immaculate actually) and it has a great atmosphere. It's close to the harbour and the boardwalk around the harbour which makes for a really romantic walk.
The breakfast in the morning is excessively delicious, the lounge by the fire place very inviting and the patio lovely. I would reccomend this place to anyone that asks as a must if you're staying over in Victoria and want to be utterly charmed and completely relaxed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saylith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This was our second visit to Hemingway's and we will be back. Location, cleanliness, and food were all great. Our hostess was also a delight. Being in Victoria was an added pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

My wife and I just visited Victoria with my mother-in-law and stayed in the Hemingway Suite. It was plenty roomy for the three of us, by using a pullout couch to compliment the large bed. It had a nice quite balcony as well.

It is just the right distance from downtown if you like it a little quieter. The area is interesting with the water nearby.

We enjoyed nice walks in the mornings before we ate and set out. We didn’t do it, because we discovered it too late, but there is a nice boardwalk along the water nearby that will take you all the way to the heart of Victoria, in a pleasant stroll.

Breakfasts were great and the hostess, Ilona, was super helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
280 reviews
James Bay
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#27 of 92 in Victoria
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#5 of 92 in Victoria
487 reviews
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing