We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Museum”
Review of Royal BC Museum

Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.05*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
More Info
US$136.70*
and up
Victoria Grand City Private Tour and Craigdarroch Castle
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Victoria Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 181 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside and experience British Columbia. Since 1886 the Royal BC Museum has preserved and shared the human and natural histories of this province. Discover the famous First Peoples, Natural History and Modern History Galleries – a feast of sights, smells and sounds of British Columbia. The Royal BC Museum is also home to a cultural precinct including the BC Archives, Helmcken House, St. Ann's Schoolhouse, the Netherlands Centennial Carillon, Thunderbird Park and Mungo Martin House/Wawadit’la.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch Museum”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved the diversity that was available - we were able to find something for the whole family to enjoy on a rainy day. Was disappointed that the IMAX was under construction so we were not able to catch a show - but look forward to the new setup next time we are there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,932
    1,190
    242
    30
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great Natural history museum with animals in diarama displays rather than cabinets. Other floor has a good First Nations and early settlement gallery

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo,BC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Educational”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had visitors from another country and even they enjoyed the museum. One thing that spoiled it was the fact that the IMAX was not open. All in all it is a great value for the money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Royal BC Museum is a must visit!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I as well as my mom and I have gone to a number of special exhibits at the Royal BC Museum and have always come away feeling it was one of the best and most memorable museum experiences! The museum itself is amazing and then add to that the level of special exhibits they have and I would recommend you take the opportunity to visit next time you're in Victoria but give yourself a day as the exhibits are large and if you go with someone or a group of people you'll want to enjoy the experience with others as well. Enjoy!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed the current display of marine life but would have been stoked if we saw the new Viking one coming soon - maybe we'll come back for that! The IMAX was having a reno done so not open. It was $16.00 pp and felt we got our monies worth.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing