We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“OK for the cost”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night on Saturday June 7th, 2014. I booked 3 rooms for 3 families (2-3 members). Hotel is on the old side and the rooms reflect it. The room was very hot upon check in but the AC worked very well and quickly cooled the room down. AC unit looked quite new. Ran it through the night to stay cool, was a bit noisy but have you ever had a hotel room AC unit that was quiet? I asked for the quiet area they put us on the top floor side by side by side. The pool is a good size and a huge bonus is the deepest part is 9'. The pool is WARM, another huge bonus. I'm not a big cool water fan and I had no hesitation jumping in over and over. Too bad there is no hot tub. The light breakfast was included in our room rate but it consists of a "cake" muffin and a small yoghurt with coffee/tea. The overall value was good considering the price. I think the rooms were $80/night if I remember correctly.

Room Tip: Our room had the AC unit on the opposite side of the room as to the headboards of the beds. Our frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    101
    97
    52
    60
See reviews for
110
99
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The posts of others are true there is no heat control in the rooms. There is AC though. The cleaning staff took the towels away and never replaced them. Nor did they replace the soap. I stayed for 5 days and had the room cleaned once on the third day. The pub is loud, as most are. Keep in mind tour paying $71 a night so what do you expect.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keadyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Has all of the amenities that you need and they also include a microwave and a coffee machine. Plenty of plug sockets.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBJohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is located close to the Gorge Waterway in Victoria which is convenient for those of us who are dragonboaters going for a sporting event there. Our hotel room included a kitchen with a full size fridge, two Queen size beds that gave some visual separation by having a room within the room for the 2nd bed. Window opened for fresh air. We had a quiet sleep.
The downside is that it is not easy walking distance to the tourist area in the downtown Harbour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Noisy room, lots of creaking and building noise from room above. Bed was against stairwell so very loud all night with people in stars. To loud for good sleep. Room needed airing out was stale and stuffy. Ground floor windows was not able to be open more than 1 inch.

Good price, great location right on Galloping Goose Trail but run down and many things were broken out of order. I wouldn't choose to stay again, chose due to location being few blocks from wedding family was attending

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 49 in Victoria
725 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#24 of 49 in Victoria
866 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
173 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#31 of 49 in Victoria
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Address: 310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing