We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for vacation hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I will always live in this hotel. when I go back to Victoria for vacation. cause is clean , the worker there are Nice n the price is not bad. with a pub down stair $6 a LB of different kinds chicken wings.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Conveniently located hotel in Victoria with reasonably sized and equipped rooms. The hotel states it offers breakfast, but this is a real minimum offering only muffins and yoghurt. The breakfast does not offer a choice for people with allergies.

Room Tip: Be aware that the breakfast is just very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud_Vandeursen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night on Saturday June 7th, 2014. I booked 3 rooms for 3 families (2-3 members). Hotel is on the old side and the rooms reflect it. The room was very hot upon check in but the AC worked very well and quickly cooled the room down. AC unit looked quite new. Ran it through the night to stay cool, was a bit noisy but have you ever had a hotel room AC unit that was quiet? I asked for the quiet area they put us on the top floor side by side by side. The pool is a good size and a huge bonus is the deepest part is 9'. The pool is WARM, another huge bonus. I'm not a big cool water fan and I had no hesitation jumping in over and over. Too bad there is no hot tub. The light breakfast was included in our room rate but it consists of a "cake" muffin and a small yoghurt with coffee/tea. The overall value was good considering the price. I think the rooms were $80/night if I remember correctly.

Room Tip: Our room had the AC unit on the opposite side of the room as to the headboards of the beds. Our frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The posts of others are true there is no heat control in the rooms. There is AC though. The cleaning staff took the towels away and never replaced them. Nor did they replace the soap. I stayed for 5 days and had the room cleaned once on the third day. The pub is loud, as most are. Keep in mind tour paying $71 a night so what do you expect.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keadyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Has all of the amenities that you need and they also include a microwave and a coffee machine. Plenty of plug sockets.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MrsBJohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is located close to the Gorge Waterway in Victoria which is convenient for those of us who are dragonboaters going for a sporting event there. Our hotel room included a kitchen with a full size fridge, two Queen size beds that gave some visual separation by having a room within the room for the 2nd bed. Window opened for fresh air. We had a quiet sleep.
The downside is that it is not easy walking distance to the tourist area in the downtown Harbour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 47 in Victoria
818 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 47 in Victoria
972 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 47 in Victoria
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 47 in Victoria
254 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Address: 310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £36 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing