We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Centre???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
A TripAdvisor Member
bay area , ca
211
Reviewed 9 August 2005

This hotel is ok if you don't mind being out of the city center. Honestly, after going on former trip advisor's comments, I'd have thought that would have been mentioned. Without a car, it's a long taxi ride. The hotel staff was nice enough and the room adequate, but why others said they extended their time at this hotel, I can't imagine. There are far more choices closer in, many of which sound considerably better at almost the same price-I'd say, Keep Looking.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2005

I stayed at the Hojo City Center for 2 nights in July, 2005.

Upon check-in, I requested a change to my reservation as I now needed a smoking room. No problems...they gave me the large 2-room suite, one room had two double beds and the other had a sofa bed and kitchen. It was spacious and comfortable, and was really an improvement over the standard room. We even had a view of the harbor and lots of trees outside of our window.

The room was clean, and had a full kitchen with a stove, fridge, microwave and pots/pans/dishes. There was also a small dining table and chairs. Perfect for a family vacation.

The staff there was so friendly, every time I saw someone in the hall or the elevator, they greeted me with a smile and genuinely wanted to help with anything that I needed. I really wasn't expecting very much from a Hojo since I've had some bad experiences with them in the US, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The location was ok for me, it's actually fairly quiet there since it's away from the downtown area. It's a little far to walk to the inner harbor and the shops and restaurants, but I didn't mind driving downtown. It only took a few minutes and I had no problems finding parking.

There is a restaurant/bar in the lobby area. It seemed nice, but I never ate there.

Overall, I really liked my stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again if I returned to Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mars_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2005

My mother and I visited Victoria for the first time July 19th - 21st. The city is beautiful. Downtown is only a 10 minute bus ride from the hotel. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and some place to lay our heads. The downside was the noisy air condition units. If you are looking for some place affordable to stay in expensive Canada, then Howard Johnson is your hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickiunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manhattan, NY
14
Reviewed 1 January 2005

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
18
Reviewed 27 December 2004

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Barcelona, Spain
12
Reviewed 27 October 2004

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2004

1  Thank Akarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
813 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 47 in Victoria
963 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 47 in Victoria
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 47 in Victoria
254 reviews
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 47 in Victoria
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Address: 310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £35 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing