We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”
Review of Ramada Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Victoria
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Earlier this year we found this place and I wrote a review as I thought this Ramada Inn was good value for the money. It was so good that we came back for a three night stay with our 3 granddaughters.
We enjoyed a 1 bedroom suite which we found clean and very comfortable for three of us. The house keeping staff was friendly and very helpful and made sure we had plenty of towels as our granddaughters made good use of their outdoor pool.
The pool was our kid's favourite thing in the hotel. Our favourite was the very extensive free breakfast each morning.
The only con was that there noisy construction during the day as they are rebuilding their restaurant.
We have and will continue to recommend this Ramada Inn to friends as a great place to stay while in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsoldgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendations. We are a very family friendly hotel so it was a good choice to return with your granddaughters. The pool is always a favourite with kids…they are always reluctant to leave.

I will pass on your kind compliments to the housekeeping staff as it is always good to hear about a job well done.

We try to keep the construction noise to a minimum and schedule any disturbing noise to the mid day hours when most people are out for the day. We look forward to a beautiful new restaurant when it is done.

We thank you for your stay and we would be honoured host you and your friends again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    231
    208
    86
    105
See reviews for
296
200
60
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The room was a good size, breakfast was good, the pool gets sushine,and they have a free shuttle to downtown - just what we needed for a quick trip to Victoria. The price was reasonable, so we used the extra money to experience a nice meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We’re happy that you had good weather and were able use the outdoor pool. There’s no better place to be when the sun is shining. Having a shuttle during the summer is also a perfect way to visit downtown without worrying about parking. Thanks again for your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Ramada was a reasonably priced hotel. Good parking - as you'll likely want a rental car if you're staying here. Was rather disappointed with the painfully slow free wifi though. Quite close and accessible to the centre of Victoria with only a 5-10 minute drive. The continental breakfast was fairly average, and very well attended - although I think they are currently renovating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from international guests to know how we measure up worldwide. We are taking measures to resolve the slowness of the wifi connection as we know that many people now stay in touch with family or business online so these are important amenities for guests. It’s true that most hotel guests avail themselves of the free continental breakfast, but we apologize that because of preparation limitations it can’t compare with the freshly cooked meals our restaurant will have when it re-opens. We wish you a happy and safe trip and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Very good rooms, comfortable and quiet. Check-out easy and the price for a room in town very reasonable. They offer a shuttle tour bus into downtown. Taxi phone in lobby makes a trip into town very quick and easy. Bar downstairs was packed on a Friday night for comedy night, we came in halfway through the show and the bartender/waitress got chairs for us and set us up on the pool table. Great service. Restaraunt was closed down so they had a continental breakfast set-up in the conference room. Food was good, everything you'd want.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornToBeMild5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this very good review of our hotel. You have mentioned some of the advantages of our hotel location, its amenities and pricing. Comedy nights are very popular so I’m happy that the staff were able to arrange seating for you. We hope that our restaurant will be open this fall, and although this will mean the end of the complimentary continental breakfast, it will also mean that guests can again have an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. We hope to see you next time you travel up to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We as a family of 4 went to Victoria for 3 nights and booked this hotel based on reviews and pictures. The lobby looked decent but as soon as you get in the hallways they stink, the stains on the carpets, the rooms smelled as well.
If I were you I would stay away from this place.
I was really shocked by this place and it made me realize that I was lucky up until now to avoid places like that.

Room Tip: Comfort Hotel was better and yet cost the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We were disappointed to read this very negative review of our hotel. We can account for some hallway odour in one section of the hotel that was directly above the kitchen and restaurant which suffered a fire earlier this year. We continue to take measures to eliminate the traces of this faint smoky smell completely.

Our hallway carpets are cleaned at least a couple of times a year. Because it has been a very busy summer, and many people take their coffee from the continental breakfast to their rooms, inevitable spills happen as they walk down the halls. We clean these on an ad hoc basis and do complete carpet cleaning at several stages through the seasons. The next cleaning is scheduled for this week.

Our housekeepers make every effort to eliminate any traces of room odour, but sometimes with a short turnaround time between one guest leaving and the next one arriving, it is impossible to neutralize the room completely. If a guest notices an odour in their room and inform us of this we do everything possible to remedy the problem, including moving the guest to another room. We make every attempt to make our guests comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Room was what we have come to expect in these hotels....fairly cramped, but standard features. The continental breakfast was, however, a pleasant surprise. Good variety, including egg, meat and hash-browns.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rareaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for your review of the Ramada Victoria. I understand your comment on the lack of space in your room…and I’d love to make the rooms larger if I could. Our standards dictate that all of the furniture items are present in every room, from work desk, to activity table, to the number of chairs, and although they are convenient it doesn’t leave much floor space, especially in a room with 2 queen-sized beds. Fortunately most people use their hotel room just for sleeping and are not staying in all day.

We have been offering our complimentary continental breakfast all summer while the restaurant and kitchen are under renovation, and because we can’t provide a freshly cooked breakfast (which was not free) at the moment, we have tried to put as much variety into our continental breakfast as we possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Free bus to city downtown makes up for this hotel being a little out the way. Most comfortable bed we had during just over two weeks holiday. Room had fridge and coffee maker. Basic room but clean and tidy. Breakfast included was nice surprise. Not the safest feeling area to walk at night and some quite drunk and dodgy characters emerge from the bar below. But a good base hotel - would be ideal if you had a rental car, but we made use of the free bus into city and found it just fine. Good clean basic hotel - all you need really.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We’re happy that you took advantage of the free bus downtown and even with just a few departures in the morning and returns in the afternoon it’s a convenient trouble-free way to explore the center of Victoria on foot without worrying about parking. The local city bus also leaves from a stop just near the street entrance to the hotel.

Although we do have a sports pub below one section of the hotel, and its true that some their clients may overindulge from time to time, the downtown area is full of pubs and bars that generate the same type of late night noise and traffic…much more than ours.

We’re pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
898 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
217 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Victoria

Property: Ramada Victoria
Address: 123 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Victoria Hotel provides ideal Victoria hotel accommodation, location, and exceptional value. Our property is just a five-minute drive from downtown, the famous Inner Harbour, and its most popular attractions. Upon arrival at the 3 star Victoria Ramada's 90 room property, you will be greeted by warm smiles confirming that you have arrived somewhere special. We have recently gone through some light renovations have changed the face of our property! Please come visit and let us show you on the great new changes with our rooms, linen, carpet, 37" HD LCD televisions with a generous selection of stunning HD channels and public areas while still providing that excellent customer service! Our full service property offers large, well-appointed Victoria hotel rooms, deluxe kitchen suites, an exercise room, guest laundry, complimentary business center, plenty of free parking, an outdoor seasonal heated pool, on site restaurant, on site sports bar & grill, liquor store and a banquet hall for up to 225 people as well as other conference rooms. Please come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Ramada
Ramada Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing