We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost English charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntingdon Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lost English charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff are very friendly and tried their best to be accommodating. It's close to the wharf and downtown and is reasonable priced.This hotel has so much potential to be an unique and charming place to stay. The interior decorating is so outdated!!! Beds were hard, bedding old and pillows flat and old! Our loft room required many repairs....no plug in sink, poor wiring, outdated TV, carpeting old, probably the cause of the musty smell in the room. I really hope the owners update but maintain the uniqueness and the English charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for having stayed with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay, but do understand your comments regarding the required renovations and upgrades.
The property is in the process of being aquired by a new ownership and we are very much hoping to be able to start a renovation process in the very near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    186
    92
    25
    21
See reviews for
155
186
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at the Huntingdon for four nights while attending a conference in a loft suite. The first room they gave me was covered in shards of broken black plastic - obviously had not been vacuumed. The man at the front desk informed me they did not have an on-site cleaning crew (seriously? a large hotel with no cleaning crew at 4:30pm?)- so I was moved to another room. The second room was clean, and I appreciated the full kitchen and supplies provided. However, the decor was very outdated, carpets stained, the tv from before the turn of the century, and I did NOT appreciate sleeping under a painting of a fox hunt! Who actually decorates with hunting images??? The bed was hard and the pillows old and broken down.

The architecture here has such potential - if they redecorated this could be a very classy and unique hotel, but it is run down and not being maintained. Location is fantastic, and rooms are unique - but please clean this place up?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of our employees, and particularly here Housekeeping and the Frontdesk, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
Your comments and concerns have been addressed with both Departments to ensure a similar experience will not occur again. Again, our aplogies.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were visiting Vancouver with some other families and decided to stay in Victoria for a night and booked 3 rooms in Huntingdon hotel. This hotel is located in the heart of Victoria with walking distance to all attractions and most of all, the parking is free which is rare these days in any downtown property. Both front desk and housekeeping staff are very professional and friendly and the only downside of thei propeerty is the rooms has very old furniture and stained carpet. Hotel needs major renovations and new amenities. Overall we enjoyed our stay for a night there and will consider staying here again.

Room Tip: If you have vehicle this might be the only place in downtown Victoria to offer free parking. Get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMHojoYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for having been our guests and thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay and do look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

For the price, I couldn't pick a more perfect location! Just blocks from the harbor & downtown. The beds were a little too firm for my comfort, but everything was clean & the front desk staff was friendly. Hot shower & strong water pressure. Secured underground parking for guests (usually $9/day) was great! I was excited to see they had a hot tub, but disappointed that it was being decommissioned. No free continental breakfast is offered, since the suites resort next door serves a sit-down breakfast. I may try another hotel next time, but it may be hard to beat this price.
Another review says that the property may be under new management soon, so we'll see what changes they make (hint hint: better beds, toilet paper rolls that roll & don't shred the paper, & new hot tub!)

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we do appreciate your comments.
In behalf of all our employees we thank you for the opportunity to have been your host and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Step off the street into a glimmer of days gone by. Back thirty years ago this hotel was in its hay day, now it still holds its old world charm. Very reasonably priced you can be in Victoria's charming downtown core, walking distance from everything. The rooms are clean, the service was adequate as we were only there one night, I'd stay there again for $79 a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and we certainly appreciate your comments - thank you.
In behalf of all our employees, we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upper island
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in the Dorset suite and it was large and very nice. They paid a lot of attention in their reno to make it appear very modern and comfortable. However, they were lacking in the small but extremely important details. Like comfortable bedding and pillows. The pillows were obviously old and were lumpy and flat. The pillow cases were scratchy and the sheets were not a very high thread count. There was no privacy curtain or panels for the up stairs bath. The upper windows should have remote control darkening blinds. The towels were not soft and they need larger bath towels. Also very limited, if any, hot water. Oh, and you could hear the TV in the suite beside us and the people in the hallway as clear as if they were in your room. It still needs updating to improve in these areas.

But, the front desk was very informative and courteous. The view was outstanding and the hotel room was more like a condo than a hotel room. The price was reasonably good, the location excellent. We were impressed. Just change the few things mentioned and it would definitely be 5+ stars.

Room Tip: Always ask to view the room before taking it. Check the comfort of the bed and the cleanliness of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chariotawaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy yo hear you did enjoy your visit to Victoria and your stay with us.
As the property is in the process to acquire new ownership, we are committed to extensively renovate the interior and exterior, hopefully within the next months, and do look forward to your next visit.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Yes the place has seen better days and their coffee shop isn't that good either service or food wise. However, we had a nice suite with a king sized bed and a basic but functional kitchen. The room was clean and although the TV was almost an antique, it worked well enough for the news headlines - we don't watch much TV so no biggie.
The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Free wifi was nice and it worked fine in our room and everywhere on the property. We got a great rate through the AAA/CAA and will definitely return on our next visit. Nice people, clean and great value.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor and on one night it sounded as though Cirque du Soleil was rehearsing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancanman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and we certainly appreciate your comments - thank you.
In behalf of all our employees, we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA
0.1 mi away
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Manor Hotel

Property: Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Address: Huntingdon Manor Hotel 330 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambiance of this classic Victoria hotel. Newly re-furbished rooms, bi-level gallery suites, pet-friendly rooms, and a wide range of amenities and services are available to help make your stay a memorable one. The Huntingdon Manor Hotel, located in Victoria's Inner Harbour, is only a short walk into downtown and directly across the street from the Coho and Victoria Clipper ferries. Featuring 110 non-smoking guest rooms varying in layout and dimensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Huntingdon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon Hotel And Suites
Huntingdon Hotel Victoria
Huntingdon Manor Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing