We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never would've expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I don't remember the last time I stayed at a travelodge (maybe never?) but thought I'd give it a shot because I was booking three/four rooms and needed to be budget conscious. I can't say I expected much, driving up and seeing that the front lobby was under construction. However, this place proved to me how a simple place could far exceed my expectations! Upon arrival, the front desk receptionist was very friendly and knew our booking exactly as soon as I mentioned we had multiple rooms. She had it all ready to go and was able to accommodate rooms next to each other (I had e-mailed the general manager a few days prior to arrival requesting rooms next to each other). It would have been nice if we had adjoining rooms, but they were not able to accommodate it based on the rooms that were occupied that week. However, having rooms next to each other was fine anyway. We went into our room and was pleasantly surprised!! I was expecting a somewhat old-looking room, with very basic ammenities. However, this was more like a 3 1/2 star hotel, with renovations and upgrades throughout. Within a few minutes of settling into our room, the front desk had already called to make sure our room was okay. Really? Never expected such service! We've stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and have never experienced this simple gesture that makes such a difference!! We mentioned that we would be needing a crib. The front desk said that she would try her best and within 5 minutes, there was a knock on the door with a crib! The rest of our 2 night stay was fabulous and we had no problems except for the lack of parking sometimes at night. Check-out was quick and efficient. Hotel staff (both reception and cleaning staff) were all fabulous. Amazing service, friendly. Very pleasantly surprised!! I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Victoria!!! Props to the general manager. Has changed my view of travelodge!!! :)

Room Tip: One on the first floor if you have a lot of luggage as there is no elevator. Rooms further away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carollynnwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. It is certainly gratifying to hear that we have made a Travelodge guest out of you! We do this by always finding ways to offer more value to our guests like in our enhanced guest room amenities and consistently friendly service. There is definitely more to our hotel than initially meets the eye. We pride ourselves on the high levels of quality and service that we offer to our guests and on our most recent inspection, we were once again awarded the Travelodge Canada Quality Excellence designation which places us in the top 10% of all Travelodge properties in Canada based on the comfort, cleanliness, and service that we provide. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

I visit Victoria about 8 times a year. I used to shop around and stay at random hotels until about 2 years ago when I stayed at the Gorge Road Travelodge. The location is great for heading downtown or up Island. The rooms are clean and spacious. In the morning I enjoy the walk through the park to the walkway along the Gorge. The front desk has always been helpful and informative.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the park and water. They tend to be quieter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you have found a home away from home in Victoria for yourself at our hotel! We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable guest rooms along with great service which keeps all of our loyal guests coming back to see us regularly. The beautiful walk to the Gorge Waterway is also an added bonus for our guests. Thanks for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again soon on another one of your many trips to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel is located away from the tourist area and the downtown core, which in Victoria is a good thing. The downtown area has really gone downhill over the last few years. This hotels location at the Gorge waterway (river?) makes for a very nice neighbor-hood/ country feel. The downtown and local tourist area is close enough by way of the Galloping Goose Trail, which is not too far away to access from the hotel. The price was excellent for the room. Two comfortable queen size beds with modern bedspreads and good, large pillows that didn't smell of the last people who laid their heads upon them. The large flat screen t.v. was nice. The shower flow was powerful. They do take pets which is great. The woman at the reception was friendly, sincere and courteous. My only issue is the stairs outside, if someone is running up them it can be quite noisy.
The room was quite clean as well. Yes the hotel is a little older, as many are the world over. They can't all be new. As long as it sparkles with cleanliness who cares how old a hotel is? I would stay there again and recommend it to friends. Why stay on the noisy strip when this little gem is tucked away around the corner on a serene waterway?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you found great value in our accommodations which is exactly what we strive to offer. Our location, just outside of the downtown core, certainly does have its advantages including a quiet, family friendly neighbourhood atmosphere along with quick and convenient access to most parts of Victoria while offering spectacular views of the Upper Harbour. I am glad that you enjoyed it. We are also very proud of the cleanliness of our hotel which can be attributed to an experienced and dedicated housekeeping team which we are very proud has earned us the Travelodge Canada Quality Excellence designation for our last 3 consecutive inspections. Thanks for noticing our hard work and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We just spent our annual Christmas vacation at the Travelodge Victoria. We expected more from this hotel. We felt that the fact that we spent a week here was to our disadvantage. We were skipped over, and missed numerous times for housekeeping. We even had to go to the Front Desk to ask for towels, because the housekeeping staff had left for the day, and not serviced our room. Apparently, the staff only services an extended stay room two times during each week. Also, we used the guest computer available for use in the lobby, although every time my husband went to use it he was asked if he was a guest by the Front Desk clerk.
Geez, after you've stayed somewhere for a couple days doesn't the staff recognize the guests!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations. Extended stay guests typically pay the lowest rate in the hotel which is why we only provide limited housekeeping service. By keeping costs down, we are able to pass the savings on to our guests. I do apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding this may have caused. If additional housekeeping services are required, we are happy to oblige and offer it to our guests if requested within a reasonable time frame. In regards to our lobby computer, we do get a lot of our restaurant guests using the computer which is why the front desk tries to be diligent to ensure that it is only used by hotel guests. I apologize that we failed to recognize your husband as a hotel guest. If you wish to discuss this further, please contact me at darryl@travelodgevictoria.com Please know that guest satisfaction is very important to us and we will do whatever we can to rectify any outstanding issues in the hopes that you will consider us again in the future. We pride ourselves on maintaining our brand promise of "Nice Rooms, Great People!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed with my Family at the hotel on August 2011. The hotel is simple and a bit outdated but it was clean and the staff were very friendly (come to think of it everyone in Victoria was very friendly). The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very easy to find even though I had never driven around Victoria before. The breakfast was very good and price was reasonable. The lady at the restaurant was very friendly and made us feel at home. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the lower level, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviator74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us this summer. I am pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations. We value the feedback of our guests and we are always looking for ways to keep improving our hotel and keeping it up to date while still offering our guests the best value around. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Last month we had to find a pet-friendly hotel in Victoria and needed to be close to the emergency vet clinic. We selected this hotel based totally on location. The price was quite low so our expectations were not high but we were pleasantly surpised. We have stayed in many luxury hotels with beds that were not as comfortable as this one. And the bed linens were immactulate! For this price it was an absolute deal!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASnugHarbourInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thanks for sharing your most recent experience at our hotel. I hope that everything went well at the vet clinic. We value our pet guests as much as our regular guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed your guest room and that you found our new beds to be very comfortable. Next time you're in town, be sure to ask our front desk about our luxury pet beds also complete with white bed linens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I got a really good deal on this hotel and I'm glad I did, because if I'd paid full price I would have been disappointed. The room was clean, but freezing; they didn't turn the heat on when when came and the room wasn't comfortably warm until late in the evening. In addition, I suspect there was nobody in the room below because the floor was freezing! The bathtub was clogged, but the water pressure was great, (you long haired girls know what I'm talking about) and the shower was hot, which I also used to heat the room.

Location was good, price was good, and if you just want somewhere to sleep, I'd recommend this place, just ask them to turn on the heat when you book.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canonball770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. I am sorry that your room was not pre-heated prior to your arrival. Our housekeeping department does typically set a standard of pre-heating rooms for all of our arrivals but yours must have been missed. I apologize for the inconvenience and I assure you this is not a routine occurence. We pride ourselves on offering great value to our guests even those who pay full price. If you have any suggestions on what would make our hotel worth the full price, please let me know as value is important to us and our guests. Feel free to e-mail me with your suggestions anytime at darryl@travelodgevictoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
826 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 46 in Victoria
228 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
258 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Victoria Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Victoria Uptown

Address: 229 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Victoria)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#19 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £46 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Victoria Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden City is yours to explore at our Victoria, BC hotel Enjoy a beautiful seaside getaway and warm energy when you choose our Days Inn Victoria Uptown hotel. Located in the heart of scenic historic uptown Victoria, and minutes from the Inner Harbour area, our pet-friendly Victoria, BC hotel offers easy access to Victoria International Airport (YYJ), as well as our fair city's many delights. Add thoughtful amenities that include two on-site restaurants, free WiFi, well-appointed guest rooms, and warm hospitality, and your stay at our hotel in Victoria is assured of ultimate comfort. Enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and two on-site dining options Among Victoria, BC hotels , ours is well-equipped with amenities that ensure satisfaction. Break a sweat in our fitness centre, swim a few laps in our indoor pool, and relax in our sauna. Our spacious guest rooms feature free WiFi, mini-refrigerator, 43-inch flat-screen TV, and coffee maker, and kitchenette suites are also available. We also offer a business center and airport transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Victoria Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Victoria Hotel Victoria
Travel Lodge Victoria
Victoria Travel Lodge
Victoria Travelodge
Days Inn Victoria Uptown Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing