We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a classic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murchie's

Murchie's
Ranked #1 of 42 Dessert in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
friday harbor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a classic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

a must when travelling to Victoria. incredible teas, coffees and pastires. murchies has been around as long as I can remember, so at least 45+ years. Just walking in you can take in the sights, sounds and aromas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank orenpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    216
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good tea, great pastries and a great choice to skip bother and expense of Empress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Since I travel with my 10 and 12 year old boys, I didn't want to bother with the elaborate and expensive tea at the Empress. I am a tea junkie, and very particular about how it is prepared and the quality. Murchie's does a great job. Tea is brewed in a pot with sufficiently hot water and it's easy to get milk; ceramic mugs and real dishes are used if you tell them you are eating in, but take-away cups are also available. The pastries are fantastic - I tried the lemon meringue tart and the cheese scone. My MIL had the carrot cake and said she could tell it was made from scratch with quality ingredients.
The format is a little like Starbucks - you wait in a line along the pastry case until you place your order at the till. Then you wait at the end of the counter for your tray to come out and go find a seat. It can be tricky to get a table on a busy day, so if you have more than one person in your party, have someone grab a table while another goes to place the order.
Prices are good - in the Starbucks range. Portions are a good size and can easily be shared.
The other side of the shop has tea and tea accoutrements for sale, although I didn't have time to shop in there. Many of my friends went in to buy gifts for people at home (Seattle).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tempting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

If your on a diet don't go in here. Coffee snack bar type place with a fantastic range of top quality food. They cakes and snacks are out of this world. Can get very busy, prices reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rapidsjonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best tea shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

As we were exploring the old historic district of Gastown, we came across this marvelous tea shop...Murchies! It was such a nice place to relax for a bit, and have one of their tasty pastries and a delightful cup of tea! They have a full selection of teas, coffees, spices, etc. that make great gift ideas. You will really enjoy this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a nice find - highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We came across Murchies while we were looking for a place to have an afternoon tea/coffee. It said that it had been established since 1894 and so we thought we'd give it a go. Great tea, scones and hit chocolate. We then find out that is was a friend's favourite tea shop. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murchie's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Murchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing