We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately, not a very good experience.”

Hope Key Restaurant
Ranked #352 of 1,186 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, not a very good experience.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had visited Hope Key for dinner around a year ago during a previous trip to Victoria and were actually quite impressed. So needless to say when we returned to Victoria a little while ago, we were excited to return to enjoy the food again. Unfortunately this go-round was anything but appetizing.

We opted for the buffet dinner as we had the previous time, and before we even started eating were a bit disappointed. The buffet had a poorer selection of offerings than it did when we were there last time, but we decided to go with what they had anyways in hopes that they would have adhered to quality over quantity. That was however, not the case.

The food was quite poor and was an incredibly shocking difference than the quality fare we had once experienced here. The buffet items were bland, dry, and to put it politely, simply not appetizing. Meats were tough and fatty, noodles were dry and occasionally crunchy, items were greasy... Just not good. Nobody could believe the difference between the meal we had once had here and the swill we were eating now.

The only reason I give this place two stars is because the service is truly top notch. The ambiance is quirky and charming and the owners are some of the friendliest people you will probably ever meet in your life. However given the dreadful food we experienced, ambiance alone will not be enough to bring me back.

I truly hope we just caught Hope Key on an extremely 'off' night and that this isn't the direction this once delicious restaurant is descending towards. However given our appalling experience there, I think it's safe to say this place has turned into Hopeless Key. Sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheYYCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service with a Smile!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was recommended this restaurant and not disappointed! My big portion of wonton soup and prawn appetizers were fabulous. Try the bubble tea and enjoy sitting in chairs with unique names. The hosts are marvellous and the menu has many delicious options.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Awesome Chinese restaurant located on Douglas St. Very easy to find and excellent food experience in this beautiful city Victoria. Came here very often myself, one of the warmest restaurant I've ever been to. The lady owner is extremely friendly and you will feel like home eating here. Food is nice and warm, buffet has new cousins almost every day. Not the biggest restaurant but defiantly one of the best in Victoria. Come here and you will be welcomed by everyone here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DDJKSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy Delicious Food in Hope Key Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Every day Hope Key Restaurant is full of people. In the restaurant, there are different kinds of food on the table, such as fruit, desserts, and so on. people can choose buffet take out or all you can eat. All the foods in there is fresh and warm. Eating in there is like eating in your own home. All the people in Hope Key are very kind and outgoing. Hope key always my first choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
703 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Was directed here by the tourist office as we just fancied a Chinese Buffet. Easy to find on Douglas St (Trans Canada H/way) near the junction of Yates St. about 10 minutes walk from the harbour. Not inspiring from the outside but as has been mentioned the lady owner? seems to welcome everyone as old friends. A very friendly lady. The food isn't very warm for the most part. The rice, noodles, and fish seemed the warmest. It was OK but frankly would not recommend it or return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hope Key Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Hope Key Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing