We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old motel with a facelift” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zed
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old motel with a facelift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Zed while in town for a wedding. I used to live in Victoria and remember the not-so-great motel that was formerly at this location. The concept of Hotel Zed is awesome - funky, retro, hipster and oh-so-Victoria, but the execution didn't quite pan out. The rooms have all been redecorated but weren't gutted during the renos, which means the gross old hotel smell still lingers and the showers are very dated. The rooms don't have air-con and only a very tiny part actually opens so when it's hot, it's very hot and the heat makes the smell worse. Luckily in Victoria this is not an issue most of the time. Pool was nice - looked like work was being done on a hot-tub area. Overall, it's a cheap hotel for Vic, but still slightly overpriced for what you actually get. Located slightly out of downtown, but not super inconvenient.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from Douglas as it is a main road. My road faced the back parking lot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yycgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    129
    44
    18
    7
See reviews for
114
84
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The price is good, the staff fun and friendly. They offer a shuttle service in a cool Volkswagen van downtown if you don't feel like driving after you get here :-) they also have bikes available.

Overall a very Victoria, British Columbia experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SpencerTouchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Zed is clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff friendly and eager to help as much as possible. It felt like more of a motel than a hotel but the 3* rating seemed appropriate.

We booked this hotel thinking that it was very close to the centre of Victoria. However it is situated on the main road into Victoria and whilst this is convenient if getting a Pacific coach to Victoria or for public transport the area felt very industrial.

The decor is certainly quite eccentric and the attitude of the staff and general feel is in keeping with this. Whilst to us this felt a little incongruous in Victoria, Hotel Zed achieves the zany, quirky effect it strives to achieve.

The hotel shuttle bus runs 12.30pm - 7.30pm but the lady on reception seemed a little surprised when we enquired after another means of transportation into Victoria outside of those hours.

There wasn't a hairdryer provided in the room but the staff on reception were more than happy to provide one upon request.

Whilst there were a few other minor gripes - the toilet didn't flush properly and the bedside lamp didn't work - we didn't notify Hotel Zed's staff about these as we were tired from our journey but I am sure that they would have been quick to try to help.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sophie304

Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback on your stay as we strive to make Hotel Zed the best place to stay in Victoria. Hope to see you again.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zed - it's clean, bright, quirky and there are lots of sweet perks.

We took the bikes out for the whole day and went all over Victoria. The location is on the edge of town, but on the bikes -along the galloping goose trail it is pretty quick and easy to get downtown. There's also the shuttle and lots of buses if you don't fancy a bike ride.

We played ping pong, wrote postcards on the old typewriters and drank lots of free coffee. The pool slide was being finished, so we didn't get a swim in - but we were so busy doing other things it didn't matter at all. If you like to stay in a place with lots to do, this is it.

Everyone was super friendly and helpful to us and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missrich100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Missrich100

Thanks for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

When I found this hotel online I knew this was going to be awesome for me and my teen daughter on our Mom-Daughter backpacking trip. Happy to say our expectations were met and exceeded even. This hotel just opened in May so the pool was done but not quite ready, that's okay. Loved the lobby area and the gourmet coffee. The front desk staff was super friendly, fun and so helpful. The vintage VW shuttle downtown was fantastic! No, wait, groovy, man...as was the driver. I mean they dropped us off where we wanted and picked us up downtown where WE wanted! The desk staff helped me figure out the ferry-bus business back to the mainland which was helpful. We loved the room and the ability to wash our clothes, all the details. I wish them so much luck and if I get back to Victoria, this is where I will stay!

Room Tip: We were right next to the laundry room but it was quiet. Not sure if we could have done better. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnazarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnfromaccentinns, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear bnazarian,
Thanks so much for choosing Hotel Zed during your Mother-Daughter trip. How cool you guys travel together. We are a family owned business so stories like yours really connect for us. Thanks so much for the very kind remarks on our new Hotel and for your patience with the few items we are still finishing. Thanks also for mentioning our staff. We think they are great but it means so much when they get to read that a guest appreciated their efforts. Hope we do get to see you back in Victoria soon and in the meantime, always remember your "Eh's to Zeds". :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a little gem of a hotel in Victoria, BC.
Clean, funky 70's decor, dial phones, a 60's VW bus that takes you around where you want to go. They have a boffo pool, laundry facilities, free Keurig coffee and tea in the lobby. There is a mall across the street, Denny's a couple of blds over and Swiss Chalet a block away. They have bikes to use and typewriters in the lobby to play with.
Beds were great, staff terrific and we'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: Give 124 a miss - it's across from the laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyandcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked this motel for our week's stay in Victoria based on the Hotel Zed website which seemed to promise a funky, retro style stay. The decor is definitely coming along and the lobby looks great with cool retro offerings like a turntable and vinyl as well as typewriters for guest's use. The lobby also offers Keurig coffee and tea free, which was nice.

We booked the suite which offered a separate bedroom as well as a microwave, a small fridge and cooktop. Dishes, cutlery and cookware is also provided. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were quality. Now for the negatives:

1. Upon check-in we noticed what looked like construction. The clerk assured us that only painting was going on. Well, 7:30 am brought the loudest painting I've ever heard in the form of construction work going on around the pool area that was directly below our room. This went on all day for the duration of our stay. It was rather annoying to be lied to since obviously it was construction and not painting and the clerk had to know that.

2. The room smells weird, kind of like a dirty bathroom. I think it might be whatever industrial cleaner they use but whatever it is, it does not smell nice and the smell does not go away. We bought a plug-in to use and that helped.

3. There is nowhere to put your clothes if you are staying for more than a day or two. No closet, no hangers, no dresser. I had to put some clothes in the filing cabinet they had as a desk which didn't work very well and lived out of the suitcase for the week. Not so great.

4. Housekeeping is inconsistent. One day, the room was dirtier than we left it; we found goldfish cracker crumbs and pieces on the floor by our bed, crackers we had not eaten. The bathtub was not cleaned for 2 days and the bed was not changed until we insisted it be done (there was actually a dirt mark on the bottom sheet which I assume was there when we checked in, gross). Not only that, the bed looked like an 8 year old had quickly tried to make it. When they finally came to change the bed, the two housekeepers spent the whole time complaining to each other about how hard it was to make the bed. Vacuuming was also barely done until we complained. I had left a tip for housekeeping and was annoyed that they took the tip but never seemed to do much work. After complaining, the room appeared to be better cleaned, possibly was different girls. One day we were sitting in the room waiting to go meet family and housekeeping told us they had a short work day so we needed to leave if we wanted the room cleaned. I have never had to arrange my schedule around housekeeping's work hours before.

5. The road in front of this hotel is VERY busy at rush hour morning and night. Not a huge deal but something you should be aware of. It may be because of construction in various places along the street, as well as untimed traffic lights down this road.

6. Our TV did not work well and we complained twice but it was never checked on. The first day we were told they did not have time to do it. Fortunately we mainly watched tv in the evening before bed but with a tv that would go really dark off and on it was quite annoying.

I really wanted to love this stay; the concept completely appealed to me. I would maybe give them another try someday, but would definitely want to be sure they were done working on the place and had ironed out all the problems I've mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TCon_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Property: Hotel Zed
Address: 3110 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zed 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel
Hotel Zed Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing