We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wife is still mad at me !”
Review of Paul's Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paul's Motor Inn
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Wife is still mad at me !”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

As a birthday treat I took my wife to the Sting concert which required an overnight stay in Victoria.
I chose Paul's because it is one block from the arena . We checked in after the concert around midnight . Two steps into the room and I knew by the smell I had made a mistake . It smelled of fourth years of smoking and old sheets . Cobwebs on the ceiling and towels so thin you could see through them . I got on the phone and tried to book elsewhere but all other rooms in town were booked .
My wife spent all night on the bed with her jacket on and her arms crossed . I'm pretty hardy but you know what they say " Happy wife ... Happy life "
It spoiled what could have been a great birthday !

Room Tip: Book elsewhere......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    89
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
37
69
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Paul's for two reasons: it was dog friendly and dirt cheap. It definitely feels like a motor inn. Our room was a little creepier than I would like it, even given the fact that it was dog friendly and would therefore be one of the less updated rooms. Wood paneling, basic bedding, and a very worn out bathroom with stained linoleum made me feel a little bit like I might be unwittingly starring in some kind of horror movie where the staff were filming us secretly and planning their midnight attack. That being said, it was reasonably clean and more than enough room; I also liked that there was a sink and vanity area outside the (very small) bathroom. The diner must also be checked out - it is a retro gem with great, down to earth true diner gals - when I asked for my leftovers to go, I was brought a giant piece of foil to my table (which was truly the best way to take away the rest of my sandwich). Loved it. If you want a cheap place to crash that will accept your furry four-legged friend, go for it. If you are particular at all or simply
don't want to feel like you have walked into the motor inn you stayed in while on a cross country driving trip with your parents in 1976, do not go for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVegasBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

It's great if you want a cheap and convenient location. I've gone here every year for years.Always cracking jokes on it and not wanting to answer when store staff ask you where your staying. It's not the cleanest. My last experience was probably my worse. My toilet seat is sani safe but the actually toilet was dirty and the showers were growing yellow in the corners. Not enough towels for two people in a two bed bedroom and if you ask for more, leave a tip, you still won't see'em. The beds are rock solid and for a Queen size bed you get two piddly (barely twin size pillows) I always wake with a stiff neck but their powerful showers work it out (Unless your too tall for the shower, like my friend, she got the crick in her neck just trying to wash her hair). I wouldn't recommend Paul's if your counting on a strong wi-fi signal, our group, multiple devices couldn't connect. As safety goes I've had no problems but have heard my door knob jiggle in the night so lock up. The rooms are stuffy so we do sleep with our windows open It was great for when I was broke and needed to stay in Victoria for shows but now I'm older I'm sure I can do better! Also arguing with the staff that I wasn't in fact the one who threw up in front of my rooms door at check out, left a bad taste in mouth...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Golden, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. I would class this motel as "utilitarian". The rooms are in need of updating, but they are clean and comfortable. We found the staff friendly and obliging. The location served us well as we were able to walk to our destinations.
Tip: Spend the extra and book a "Courtyard Room". It is very private. We did not notice any city traffic noises from our room.

Room Tip: Try the Courtyard rooms for a secluded quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2SpryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Staff and manager were all excellent and went out of their way to help.
The diner food was so good, large portions made from scratch, and lots of comfort food.
Front desk staff were always helpful with anything I needed,
Housekeeping was awesome, especially Carly.
Michael the manager is a gem of a person.
The chef was a real pro with some wonderful specials every day.
My room was soundproof, the bed and duvet were comfortable.
coffee machine, fridge, hair dryer, and microwave, and laundry facilities made it more convenient.
I had a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with your own inner courtyard would be the best choice, and furthest from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bustedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are VERY outdated and rundown but VERY clean. Beds and pillows were very comfortable, free wifi and parking. There aren't enough outlets in the rooms that are accessible. Amazing location, close to everything. Staff is very bland, not friendly or welcoming. It's a suitable place to stay if your on a budget and need somewhere to sleep. It's not the place to stay if you are looking for an amazing experience. I would however stay again for the price I got.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Scalded not once, but twice in 2 different rooms by the shower. Mouthy and argumentative housekeeping supervisor. No air conditioning, was NOT offered a fan, even though one was available in the room the we moved to (broken fan, but worked none the less)
Rooms are old, dated and not up to the standards that are offered in other hotels/motels.
Restaurant was really good, but can't save the "stuck in the 50's" feel of this place.
stay away and spend your money at a real motel.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, pay the extra money for the courtyard rooms. bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
227 reviews
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
404 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 49 in Victoria
884 reviews
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paul's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paul's Motor Inn

Property: Paul's Motor Inn
Address: 1900 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Paul's Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paul's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paul`s Motor Hotel Victoria
Pauls Hotel Victoria
Paul's Motor Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing