We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant oasis in great location”
Review of Paul's Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paul's Motor Inn
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at Paul's Motor in for 2 nights in August at the end of a camping and hiking trip through British Columbia. We splurged a little and got one of the courtyard rooms--highly recommended. It's a quiet, secluded outdoor courtyard with tables and comfortable seating. Great for sitting with a cold drink and a newspaper or guidebook while your roomie showers. Staff was very helpful, especially Ryan (I think?), who seemed to always be there and was unfailingly quick, efficient and friendy. He revised the date of our booking (we decided to arrive a day early) quickly over the phone, gave us great whale-watching tour advice and quickly booked us a seat (the zodiac is a great way to go). The next morning, he quickly and politely handled a line-up of people checking out (which is more than I can say for some of the guests). The rooms have some funky 1950's charm which we were happy to see has not been ripped out in favor of the generic hotel room you see today. Comfy beds, coffee maker in room, clean, wifi, plenty of space. A peek into the non-courtyard rooms (fronting onto a large, free parking lot) showed rooms that seemed to be more generic and with no courtyard retreat--so not as nice, but still looked fine for a night or two. Great location, easy walking distance to chinatown, downtown restaurants and the waterfront--and Victoria is wonderful for walking. Breakfast not included, but that's okay, there are some fun breakfast places in Victoria that I am glad we visited (such as John's Place). Did not try the onsite restaurant --the waterfront beckoned. Overall, not a fancy place to stay so don't expect multi-star, but a signficint step up from the typical motel experience, and even more so if you pay a little extra for a courtyard room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArborLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2009

We liked Paul's Motor Inn! It's very conveniently located and an easy walk to Victoria's Chinatown, brewpubs, waterfront, and other tourist stuff. Plenty of free parking. The rooms are not fancy, but clean and utilitarian, and all with a kind of '60's throwback feeling. Our reservations were in order, and the staff was friendly and helpful. No AC in the rooms (but the windows open the windows if it gets warm. Quiet, only occasional traffic on the sidestreet. Fairly priced for the location. Some reviews thought it was located in a bad part of town and felt unsafe. OK, if your trip is going to be ruined by a panhandler then you might think about staying home. I'll stay there the next time I visit Victoria BC!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The hotel is really a motel but it's clean and comfortable (in downtown Victoria and you don't need a car to reach Victoria’s attractions). I suggest booking a "courtyard room" because it's safe and located in a nice and separated courtyard. The staff is extremely kind and avaible to satisfy all requests. Rooms are retro (they have a 60’s furnishing) but spacious. If you drive a car this place is worth it: the parking lot is free. This is a good two star hotel/motel but I don't think the rating could be higher than a two stars (I booked it as a 2 1/2 rating...for this reason my comment is not 100% positive).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We liked it here. Great location and price. The rooms are retro and clean. Breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Good value hotel in what can be an expensive city. Staff and facilities were all fine. Lacked a/c in what was a very hot month but did have a fan in the room. Was about a 10 minute walk from main town which was fine for us as a young couple.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernMonkey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed here when really tired - and slept like a log. Enjoyed breakfast in teh attached diner.

Get a Courtyard room (was recommended in the guide book). Quiet and cool.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank YTSnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The good-the rooms were spacious with ample bench space for luggage. The bad:no air conditioning and, depsite provided fans, the rooms remained stifling hot. Prostitutes were present on the walk between the hotel and harbor area. There were people screaming irrationally outside of our windows each night. We did not feel safe in this area. We had a nonsmoking room but there was a smoking area below our window causing smoke to come in though the open windows. There was a lot of truck traffic at all hours just outside the hotel property. Overall probably one of the worst properties we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missouri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 47 in Victoria
972 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 47 in Victoria
225 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 47 in Victoria
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 47 in Victoria
818 reviews
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#27 of 47 in Victoria
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paul's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paul's Motor Inn

Address: 1900 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £52 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paul's Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paul's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paul`s Motor Hotel Victoria
Pauls Hotel Victoria
Paul's Motor Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing