We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a downtown hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

When I booked the Sandman in Victoria I didn't do my homework too well.... I thought this was a downtown hotel with everything within walking distance. Not doing my homework before a trip is so unlike me. But as I drove from the harbor to the hotel I realized my error.

Sandman is located a couple of miles north of the city center. There's not much to do and the liquor store across the parking lot didn't make it any better at first sight. But like many other hotels the surroundings didn't seem to influence the standard of the hotel nor did I have any problems with the liquor store. This is Canada after all.

The hotel is clean and it's worth the money spend on it. It's not more, it's not less. The rooms are nice, the pool is nice and the location actually became very convenient when I headed north a couple of days later. But that's it... It's nothing special and I don't think it is meant to be more than ordinary.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    51
    64
    23
    15
See reviews for
45
51
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here 1 night in September 2011. Location a bit far out of downtown Victoria. Check in good - friendly staff. Reasonable size room at back of hotel, so nice and quiet. Free on site parking. Didn't use hotel for dining. Went into downtown. Had a drink at the sports bar - service good but very noisy! Hotel fine if you are travelling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelstar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thanks you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us back in September 2011.

We are in fact in the downtown area, and are 2.3km ,10 minute drive to the inner harbour. Guests seem to like our location for the fact that we are centrally located to all of the great attractions throughout Victoria and we do offer free parking.

It is a ten minute drive and 25 minute walking distance to the inner harbour. We also have a bus stop located right outside the hotel which can take your directly to the inner harbour or other various attractions in the Victoria area. Some guest prefer this for the convenience of not having to pay or locate parking in the inner harbour area

We also have been and will continue to add new features to our guest rooms to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and well deserved stay with us. Our front desk team can assist you with any area tourist recommendations as well in this great city

We hope we will see you again soon!

Regards,

Brian Johnson
General Manager
Sandman Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Last week we stayed here for 3 nights in a King Kitchenette suite. Very comfortable and surprisingly quiet, considering the location is at a very busy intersection. The rate was good and the staff helpful and accommodating. However, the TV reception definitely needed to be upgraded. The kitchen was adequately stocked with the basics and everything worked. We're locals and would stay here again if the need arises.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coquitlam, british columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The place was nice but in a seedy location. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. They stated that they would be changing them over but 'haven't got to it yet.' breakfast downstairs was good and they gave me a huge omelet- more than I could eat. The price was too high for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tromponya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a total of six weeks. The front desk staff is very polite and helpful with pretty much anything you inquire about. The rooms are basic and a little bit out dated/run down. I would suggest asking for a room away from a stairwell as the sound proofing is not 100% so the doors opening and closing will certainly keep you up at night. The housekeeping is a little bit slow. I was always out during the day and would return in the evening to no towels, shampoo etc. about half of the time. The other half of the time the rooms are very nicely kept. The hotel gym is a bit worn down but it's nice they have one! They also have coin laundry and other surprising and convinient ammenities. I would stay here again based on the welcoming staff and the location, not necessarily the hotel over all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaMarie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. And thank you for the compliments regarding our front desk team. We all take pride in our superior guest services.

In regards to your comment regarding housekeeping service, our housekeeping team does try to do all of our stayover rooms first and foremost. If you ever require or would like your room cleaned at a certain time please be sure to let us know and we are more than happy to do this daily at this time for you.

We are continuously doing upgrades to our property and sure on your next stay with us you will notice some of the changes.

If there is ever anything I can do for you during your stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

And again thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel is used to be good 7-8 yrs ago but it's gone to the "bad hotel" category in my opinion. Towels are worn out, decors outdated, pillows and bedding were disgusting. Here is the worse part... I left my lap top charger in the room, realized this after leaving town. Phoned 4 times. Twice to their house keeping, once to their office manager and once to their central reservation center. Nobody bothered to call back. This shows me serious lack of customer service in their culture. Better choices are out there folks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy72A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I appreciate your feedback and thanks for taking the time to make a review. I can assure we take great pride in our hotel and all of our guest rooms. All of our linens are replaced often to ensure cleanliness and comfort.

If there is ever an issue with your room or your sty please feel free to bring it to our attention and we can and would rectify this right away.

In regards to your misplaced item, we do keep a daily log of any lost and find items and any of our team at the front desk can verify if something was located in the room. I can assure you we do take great pride in our guest service and want to ensure each guest has a comfortable and relaxing stay with us.

I do apologize for your experience and if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Again thanks for your feedback and I do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Regards,

Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

we got into Victoria late and were looking for pretty much any place that had vacancies for the night. my husband grabbed us a room here and it was easily the worst place we had encountered on our trip. the rooms were freakishly small, air was stale, and no way to open a window. the first room we were given literally smelled like sewage. with no way to open a window, it was unacceptable. they gave us another room after I complained which also smelled like sewage, but less so. the carpet was dirty in the room and my pillow stunk of the previous guest's sweat. the beds were very uncomfortable, so I tried sleeping on the love seat. i don't know what the deal was with it, but I was itching all over when I got up. sleep was terrible due to the noise of a very loud ice machine that woke me in 20-30 minute cycles out in the hall. if the family had not been so exhausted, i would have turned around and found another place despite it being 11pm. i am surprised this place gets away with charging people $160 per night. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the ice machines on every floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
747 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 49 in Victoria
887 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
287 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Victoria

Property: Sandman Hotel Victoria
Address: 2852 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful capital city of British Columbia, Victoria is one of BC's most popular tourist destinations. Filled with amazing history, architecture, and a vibrant arts scene, Sandman Hotel Victoria is ideal for long restful vacation stays and short business trips. Whatever your reason for taking a trip to the sensational city of Victoria, Sandman Hotel Victoria will make sure your stay is absolutely flawless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing