We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but pricey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westbay Marine Village & RV Park
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Location, but pricey”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hard to beat an RV park that is within minutes of town and on the water to boot. However, you pay the price to stay here with very high nightly rates and no discounts for longer stays.

There isn't wifi at the site which was hugely disappointing and made me wonder how they justified the cost.

Most sites have at least water glimpses, if not full views, but you gotta love your neighbours to be watching their every move here since they are so small and close together.

All facilities were acceptable, but nothing special and nothing extra for the kids at all. Paid showers and laundry. The restaurant on site is pricey.

The location is really the only reason to consider this park. After a couple of nights the novelty of being at the marina had worn off and I moved on to a cheaper place.

Room Tip: Outside sites are located on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kweega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We've have stayed at this RV park for years, we “were” loyal customers. Its a lovely location, and we always chose it to visit Victoria or stay over before we went to the states. But we will never stay here again, I don’t think we have ever been treated so badly at an RV park for absolutely nothing.
We’d had a problem for a few years with them putting us in the wrong site for the type and size of our RV, so this time when we made our reservation we specifically asked for a trailer hook up, we asked several times to make sure it was a trailer site, they had put us in a motorhome site by mistake , and for one nite its ok but for a week which was our stay this time it would not work not having sewer for the whole trip. We had nice plans as it was valentines we were going out for dinner, and had just travelled all the way down 4 hour trip, and get here, and when we checked in we found they had done this again. We were in a motorhome site. So we were frustrated call the after hours number , the girl comes we tell her what happened but she tells us that she doesn’t ever make mistakes! never. She then says ..we have nothing left if you can’t stay there then you will have to leave and stay elsewhere.

In this town there is no elsewhere, we needed to be close to town.. as my husband is disabled and has a hard time setting up once let alone a number of times moving around..and now we have no where to stay due to this error again.. So we decided because this has happened many times we should call the manager, we understood that people make mistakes but we didn’t want our whole vacation ruined over this yet again. Well what a mistake that was.. His name is Mark Windholm, a local lawyer in Victoria B.C …after having the unfortunate experience of speaking to him we will never to come back to this RV park, never.

I spoke to him first.. and after apologizing to HIM for possibly interrupting HIS valentines evening, I told him what happened with the spot they gave us and it had happened a few times prior to this, and was really hoping for a understanding manager who could help, and do something about it. I couldn’t have been more wrong, He suddenly got SO angry after telling him the story, he yelled at me so rudely saying OK I have listened to you now YOU WILL to listen to ME!.. I was so taken back by how rude he was, he said MY staff are completely competent and never make mistakes!?? he is yelling at me to get ahold of myself??… even though we are completely frustrated after a long drive, its now dark and my husband is trying to set up and our valentines dinner is ruined the reservations are past, he told me completely off , yelling at me to get ahold of MYself, all I did was tell him what happened, at that point I gave the phone to my husband, the manager is on speakerphone my husband is getting furious as he is listening to this man tell me off for nothing, he was the one out of control. He was absolutely frightening the way he spoke to us.
He starts yelling at him too, saying you better get ahold of your wife , she is out of control, he said they never make mistakes and we have nothing to be upset about….he tells us to set up there and we will have to leave in the morning, not even caring we have no where to go , we made a res for a week here and had to be close to town. then he just ended up hanging up on us and not answering further calls even though we said we wanted a refund which he did not give. WE said we were leaving and wanted our money back, he just hung up.
I have dealt with many managers and issues over the years and any manager I have ever dealt with immediately says oh so sorry we are there is a problem we will take care of it , my employee should never have said she never makes mistakes, of course everyone does and I see there has been one made here we will l take care of it in the morning, just set up for the night have a dinner out like you planned and we will figure something out , but instead now after years of staying at this RV park we will NEVER ever return here again it was the worst service and experience we have ever had for a mistake they could have easily rectified. Instead he made sure I was crying by the end of the call so upset it ruined our entire night and he has not only lost us as a customer forever but hopefully anyone who reads this will think very carefully before giving your money to someone who attacked us for nothing, all because we had a problem that wasn’t even our fault? Still shaking over dealing with this man, don’t stay at #Westbay Marina in Victoria B.C until they change ownership or management. Give your money to people who deserve it. Or if you do stay watch out if you have a problem , it will be your problem, not theirs, they don’t make mistakes the manager/owner says. Beware

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank angus1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This RV park has a lovely view if you are on the outside sites (very small sites). If you are on the inside, your view is your neighbor accross from you and all of the hoses and cords because they expect everyone to drive into their sites. All hook ups are by the road. This park is tidy enough, laundry and washrooms are adequate and it does have a lovely walkway (no bikes allowed) to downtown. HOWEVER, there is no 50 amp power, pay only WIFI, pay laundry, no pool, hot tub or club house, no activities................a one star RV resort compared to most others. In January a monthly cost $570 + or, as we found after being here for a month and deciding to stay two more weeks, $565.00 for those two weeks. Much too expensive for what you get as a monthly rate, but by the week, it is exorbitant. Would not have stayed if we had been told this before hand. We suggest a pass on this place. There are others that are just as good, with much more reasonable fees.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank efuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

a few hours into our our RV, took the ferry from VC and landed in lovely victoria;
this campsite is a boardwak away from the wharf and the town, and has a strong personality; our site was literally acros the colorful boathouses, comfortably nested there; of course little trees, no space, but aboslutely to be expected in a populated area.
and what the capsite does not offer in terms of space and nature, it makes up through charm, situation, hospitality etc
the welcome was awesome, we had minor issues on our camper and the handyman was really helpful too;
and we got to enjoy the town with spectacular views to and fro.
one of our top 5 campsites from our BC/Alberta trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gedecharbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This RV park was perfectly located to bike or walk into Victoria. Our site was on the water looking across the inlet at the parliament buildings and waterfront area. We rode our bikes into Victoria which was about a 20 minute easy slow ride. The sites were on gravel and clean. The WiFi access was free for only 15 minutes otherwise you had to pay extra which is a cheap approach in this day & age. Otherwise we certainly enjoyed our stay at this RV park and would definitely come back again. This is the only park located this close to Victoria.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Wow , that's all I have to say . Weather Perfect . RV park quiet , staff friendly . Walking distance to Victoria . Water Taxi available from the grounds to Victoria . Only complaint , we'd love to have a water front site instead of inside just so we can see the sea life and activities on the ocean .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This place is a great RV park, cable hook up which is great for those days that is rains (which it did while we stayed).
Although the park is a little out of the way, it is a really nice walk to Victoria centre (about 20 minutes), you can walk around the path that leads to the centre via the edge edge of the river mouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
4.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbay Marine Village & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbay Marine Village & RV Park

Property: Westbay Marine Village & RV Park
Address: 453 Head St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Westbay Marine Village & RV Park Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing