We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous for a family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Weirs Beach
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fabulous for a family reunion”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We rented the entire house for a week in June this year. We had a family reunion with grandparents and 4 families with small children. The house was fabulous. The kids could nap upstairs, and we could still use the downstairs or be outside. The kitchen was well stocked to do our own cooking. The bedrooms had plenty of room for the kids to have little beds on the floor (we brought mattresses) and our pack 'n play even fit in the bathroom to keep the baby separate. The owner was very flexible and easy to work with . The beach is AMAZING! Beautiful sand for building sand structures, fabulous tide pools for exploring, and plenty of beauty for the adults watching the sunset or sitting in the hottub. We had a fabulous week, and hardly went anywhere because the weather and location were so nice. It was just the kind of set up we had hoped for, since enjoyable vacation options with small children are so limited! We would definitely consider doing this again.

Room Tip: There are 2 larger bedrooms on the top floor that have plenty of room for extra mattresses or cots f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

There is a feeling of luxury to this property bathed in the serenity and simplicity of nature and well-mannered hosting. It is impeccably clean, well-cared for, and quietly welcoming. Every view, every seating area, the plant groupings, all are perfectly balanced to offer a zen feel to the experience. The backdrop of the ocean with natural BC coastline completes the effect. The result is complete calm. The views are stunning from most of the rooms. We were soothed to sleep every night by the sound of the waves lapping the shore...

You may opt in or out of a prepared breakfast. The kitchen is fully equipped and available for the use of guests; complementary coffee/tea is provided. (A great restaurant is a few minutes drive down the road, along with a deli/bakery, and the area is full of artsy shops, gardens, and kayak/other possibilities; Victoria and Sooke are both about 25 minutes away.)

We did not take advantage of the Yoga classes; they are in a separate (beautiful) room with an ocean view. We DID enjoy the hot tub and Marg was always quietly available to assist us. The lodge exudes peace, harmony and a sense of intrinsic well-being. Had it been raining, we'd have also been content in our rooms overlooking the ocean. ( We rented 2 rooms which had an adjoining, private deck....very nice touch!)

I would definitely recommend this lodge..... It will feed your soul.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with the sitting area/ocean view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargLachmuth, Owner at The Lodge at Weirs Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay at the Lodge, and hope to see you again in the future. When the weather turns cold and snowy in Alberta, consider returning to Vancouver Island!

Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Yoga seems to be the theme of the lodge - which is fine if that's what you are keen on. We hosted a 4 hour board retreat here and although the location is amazing there is a lot to be desired. While we met in the yoga room we had lunch in a the dining room (arranged our own catering) and other guests were walking through and past us as we ate and talked.
There is a kitchen (shared with other guests) but no real food/beverage service - basics like coffee and tea. Parking is a challenge and there is a large RV park next door.
It was nice to get out of the city but I dont think they are prepared to host corporate clients.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a B&B - ask for one of the upper floor suites with private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargLachmuth, Owner at The Lodge at Weirs Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback - I am so sorry that you found your experience less than favorable. Following three visits to the Lodge to discuss and plan this event, I felt certain that everything would meet your expectations.

We encourage groups planning corporate events to visit the Lodge to make sure that everything will work for them (the space, the parking, etc.), plus we book corporate events in the off season, when there are no other guests staying in the Lodge. We generally follow this policy as we want all of our guests to have a memorable experience during their time at the Lodge. Making an exception for this event should not have happened, even though it was done to meet client deadlines. In future we will adhere to our policies so that corporate clients, as well as B&B guests, can experience the peace and serenity described in other postings.

Thank you so much for your review,
Marg Lachmuth (owner/operator)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We walked to the Lodge from Esquimalt (about 28 kms). Our accommodation was fantastic and there was a yoga class for guests as part of the accommodation cost. Breakfast in the morning was great, very suitable for long distance walking. Along with some other guests, we made our own dinner in the evening.

There was no swimming pool but the hot tub was glorious.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazycycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Excellent in every respect. Lovely and quiet off season. Very comfortable rooms. Great Views. Interesting wildlife - Eagles, Great Blue Herons, otters and seals, hawks and humming birds. Helpful, accommodating hostess and marvelous service - great food and welcome restorative yoga.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KioniKanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The property is a half hour drive from downtown Victoria in the little town of Mechosin. Our room was very comfortable with a king bed and a breathtaking ocean view. From the balcony, we could see several cruise ships approaching Victoria harbor in the distance, blue herons on the beach, and a young girl on horse back. Breakfast was healthy with home-made granola, organic eggs from the neighboring farm and home-made blackberry jam (the best jam ever). Make sure to attend the wonderful "restorative" yoga class (offered only on Mondays). I slept like a baby that night following the lesson. Thanks to Living Social for this amazing deal and to Marg for her hospitality - Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanSolo1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The location of the lodge is great. The view from the balcony on the bay is outstanding. However we are giving the lodge a poor rating. We purchased LivingSocial deal to stay two days at the lodge which included a yoga class for two, both she and I like yoga. When we requested the advertised yoga class, the owner did not offer us a separate class as promised, but suggested my wife join a regular class the owner is teaching for women only. Since I was not a woman, I was not welcome to the class. I think this is bad karma for her business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marg-VictoriaBC, Owner at The Lodge at Weirs Beach, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
In reading this posting, it appears as though these guests did not understand that the promotion with Living Social included free admission to a regularly scheduled yoga class at the Lodge, and not a private yoga class for the two of them.


When informed that the Wednesday evening class was a Wild Women class, the guests asked for a class for the two of them. While a private yoga class would normally cost $50, I did offer them a 1 hour class at 5 pm on Wednesday evening, prior to the Wild Women class. The guests did not return to the Lodge for this class.

Although this misunderstanding is unfortunate, I do not believe that it involves 'bad karma' for business at the Lodge as it was definitely not an act that intended to do harm to anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Weirs Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Weirs Beach

Property: The Lodge at Weirs Beach
Address: 5195 William Head Rd | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V9C 4H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Weirs Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Weir's Beach is a beautiful bed and breakfast in Victoria, British Columbia boasting an expansive property, as well as the perfect vacation spot for individuals, couples, families and larger groups. Regardless of the size of your group, you will be able to enjoy a variety of optional amenities including a delicious breakfast, yoga sessions, massages, and the beautiful, serene landscape of the beach. At The Lodge at Weir's Beach, we offer several private beachfront bedrooms. Guests have complete access to all of the common guest areas of the house where you can mingle and relax. We strive to make our place your home away from home. For this reason, we go to great lengths to ensure you have everything you need to fully relax and enjoy your stay. To learn more about our bed and breakfast in Victoria, or book a reservation, contact us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge at Weirs Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weirs Beach Hotel
The Lodge At Weirs Beach Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing