We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairholme Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairholme Manor
Ranked #5 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited for the third time this past weekend, this time with 4 other couples in our family to celebrate a birthday. As always we couldn't ask for a better stay. This is what all B&B's should be like. Fabulous! The rooms are wonderfully appointed and breakfast is to die for. Everyone in our party bought copies of Sylvia's cookbooks in hopes of recreating her wonderful dishes at home. Location is great to walk to restaurants and downtown as well. Sylvia and Ross are excellent hosts. So accommodating and friendly. We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: We love #4 and #2 the best, but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
153
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our first anniversary and stayed at the Fairholme Manor. The property is beautiful, the manor is beautiful, and the rooms are exquisite and very clean. We stayed two nights, the first in the Penthouse suite (higher priced room) and the second in the French Garden Room (lower priced room). The Penthouse is absolutely gorgeous with a view from the living room that overlooks the quaint back garden and the ocean out in the distance. The only thing I was disappointed in was not having more time to just relax in the suite and enjoy the view and fresh breeze flowing through the windows. The second night we switched to the French Garden Room and although it's much smaller it was still just as quaint and beautiful and met our needs. The double-soaker tub was great to have after a long day walking and being in the hot sun. Both rooms had vases of fresh flowers from their garden that really added a thoughtful and bright touch. Both rooms were also ready with wine glasses and a bottle opener.

The hosts, Sylvia and Ross, were both very friendly and accommodating. Sylvia was full of suggestions and ideas for places to eat and general information about what was going on in the area (as we were staying over Canada Day). She also called to set up a pick-up for our whale-watching tour and called another place to check open hours for us. It was all very helpful and appreciated. Sylvia's breakfasts were both beautifully presented and delicious to eat. When my husband requested some hard-boiled eggs to take for later in the day as a snack, she happily prepared them and even added a little package of scones for me to take along. We both appreciated the generosity since it was beyond their obligation. I was so happy to go home with her cookbook, especially so I can make her granola recipe! ...And her scones! Yum!

Lastly, the location is great! We were set about a mile from downtown where it was just enough from the city to not feel too busy or noisy but still within walking distance. We actually chose to walk into town instead of taking our car. The Fairholme sits next to the Governor's Home which has a large garden with walking paths open to the public. We enjoyed a morning walk through it our last morning before checking out. It's also only a short walk to the Craigdarroch Castle.

I would return to this amazing bed & breakfast and definitely will recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite felt very private whereas the French Garden Room is a little less private as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieG334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here recently while on a Canadian holiday. Sylvia and Ross are wonderful hosts. Sylvia has wonderful cooking skills and we looked forward to our breakfasts each morning. They were prepared with great care and expertise and it is very easy to detect Sylvia's love of cooking. She is also very happy to share her recipes and she has two beautiful books published. Of course guess what....I bought both of them. The Manor is beautiful and is furnished very tastefully not taking away from the character of the building. Her use of flowers from her magnificent garden is stunning. There were fresh flowers in our room and on the tables. Sylvia even presents her food with the addition of edible flowers. A lovely touch which makes the food very appealing indeed. Sylvia with her husband Ross make a wonderful team. They are very willing to give advise on things to do and are a real mine of information on where to eat in the area.
If you are planning to go to Victoria and are looking for some special accommodation, do give Fairholme Manor a try. You will not be disappointed. We just didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey BC Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We chose Fairholme Manor to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our children for a weekend. We all enjoyed the "Fabulous" breakfasts and the beautiful rooms and gorgeous grounds. Sylvia was a wonderful hostess.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Fairholme Manor was one of our well spent splurges on our honeymoon. We booked 2 nights at the Penthouse Suite: amazing (sea)views from the living room, large kitchen with sitting area, beautiful light bed room with large bed, soft pillows & duvet, bathroom with a jacuzzi and fluffy towels and bath robes. We had such an amazing stay that we decided to stay another night. We booked the Tuscan Suite that night which was smaller but was also more friendly to our wallet. We were especially looking forward to the breakfasts after reading raving reviews on Sylvia's cooking skills: the breakfasts were just amazing. Everything was freshly homemade with organic ingredients. The pecan granola, the scones, rasberry butter and loafs were divine. Every morning, Sylvia also serves one hot dish: we had egg benedict, egg souffle and egg in filo pastry. The food was clearly made with love and as Sylvia, I too believe, that good food comes with good ingredients. Sylvia certainly knows food and she gave us great recommendations for eating out. Her husband Ross gave us a ride into town (we wanted to rent bikes) with no hassle whatever. Sylvia & Ross were excellent hosts from the moment we arrived. In the end we got a honeymoon present from her: her second cook book :)
Our stay was well worth the money. We will certainly remember Fairholme as the best B&B we ever stayed in and will consider coming back on one of our future anniversaries.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite has beautiful views, lots of light and a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wollywobbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Springs, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Victoria, BC this past May. One of the highlights of our experience was staying at Fairholme Manor. The manor is beautiful. The gardens are beautifully manicured and the smell of lavender was exquisite at the entrance to the manor. It is in a quiet street off a main avenue adjacent to Governor House. We stayed in the Olympia Suite which was more than ample space since it is a large room with a very comfortable bed, a roomy table for eating in, a spacious bathroom with attention to detail, an indoor sitting area plus the outside deck with beautiful views of the garden and views of the water at a distance. Sylvia is an amazing innkeeper and chef. I had the salmon benedict and the sauce was deliciously creamy with out being heavy. The scones were equally delicious along with excellent coffee. Sylvia was very gracious and accommodating. Needless to say I highly recommend Fairhome Manor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mig3733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
407 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

W found this bed and breakfast on the Trip Advisor website. That was a good tip. e enjoyed our stay. We walked a lot and enjoyed the beauty of the location. Our room was very large. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholme Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholme Manor

Property: Fairholme Manor
Address: 638 Rockland Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholme Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fairholme Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholme Manor Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing