We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Search no more!”
Review of Fairholme Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairholme Manor
Ranked #4 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There are not enough delightful adjectives to describe our experience at the Fairholme. We have stayed here three times over the last ten years. My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here and have returned for other anniversary trips. Most recently for our 10th. Sylvia and Ross have mastered the fine art of hospitality and service. Every attention to detail is exquisite and deliberate, from the award winning gourmet breakfast, to the immaculate grounds and property to the fresh flowers next to your bed, in the dining room table, the bay windows etc. The manor was built in 1885, it is older than both the Empress hotel and the Craigdarroch castle, restored to grand elegance and beauty. The only reason the Fairholme is not rated # 1 in trip advisor is because the number of reviews. I have seen the other B&Bs, and although quaint and cute, they are not in the same league as the Fairholme in suite size, elegance and luxury, if you are visiting Victoria, search no more, you have found your home away from home!

Room Tip: If you planing a longer stay, the Rose garden suite and the Penthouse suites have kitchens. All suit...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeLv2travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Fairholme Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the award winning breakfasts to the attentive and gracious hosts, and the fabulous heritage home, this is a truly wonderful holiday. Everything is done to make your stay a memorable one. Sylvia and Ross are so thoughtful and knowledgeable about Victoria. Everything about this stay was a joy- I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting Victoria who is looking for something just a little bit more special.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank natanntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived to the aroma of fresh blueberry scones being baked. Every morning there was a new tantalizing smell filling the house. Usually eating out wears a little thin on long trips even when on vacation but I could eat Sylvia's cooking everyday for years. The house and yard are relaxing, elegant and welcoming. You really feel like you are staying with friends. Both Sylvia and Ross are a delight, (not to mention their daughter). The house is located close to all the action but in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood so returning after a hectic day of sight seeing it feels like a sanctuary.

Room Tip: Every room in the house is perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had the privilege to stay at "The Fairholme Manor" the past two nights. I don't think there are enough adjectives to describe this beautiful B & B.
From the moment you walk in you are treated as welcome guests in a beautiful, warm home filled with bright light, beautiful colors, comfortable yet elegant furnishings. The rooms are spacious with beautiful flowers from their garden. In each room we are offered chocolate on our pillow, bottled water, tea and coffee.
Sylvia greets everyone at breakfast as she offers her delicious pastries, yesterday cherry scones, today maple scones served with her own home made jam. Fresh fruit, homemade granola and a hot entree each morning.
A slice of heaven.

Room Tip: I am sure any would be wonderful. We had the "Presidential suite" with a view of the harb...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grpandnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We couldn't be happier with our decision to stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast. My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May 2014. The suites and property were immaculate, and the owners Ross and Sylvia went out of their way to make sure our visit exceeded our expectations. We stayed in an upstairs suite that had a wonderful view of the gardens and out over the coast. The room was clean, spacious, quiet, comfortable, and included all necessary amenities. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The property is located adjacent to the Government House which is open to the public and is surrounded by wonderful gardens- perfect for a nice stroll. Restaurants and shops are walking distance - a nice 20 minute walk through the quaint neighborhood. The owners, Ross and Sylvia, were extraordinarily helpful in offering great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. I really can't say enough about how pleased we were with our stay and highly recommend Fairholme Manor to anyone planning to spend some time in Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Fairholm Manor is impeccable in every way. It is graced with lovely restful colors throughout. The rooms are elegant and very spacious, Each room is thoughtfully decorated. Paintings from a local artist and fresh flowers are lovingly placed throughout the inn. The home is adorned in a classy yet comfortable way. Unlike competitors nearby, you won't have to see tacky Victorian style wallpaper or outdated decor anywhere on the property. If you are fortunate enough to stay in the upper level of the home, the views will astound you as your senses take in the beauty of the surrounding grounds, the sea, and Olympic Mountains.

The Innkeepers, Sylvia and Ross Main, are as lovely as the home itself. They serve from their hearts and you feel it. The food was outstanding, a good variety, and generous portions were served. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I think Joanne and the others said it completely and accurately. The proof of how wonderful it is is that we cancelled our trip to Vancouver and stayed the entire time in Victoria. I loved the city itself, just walking around and exploring. No one should ever miss Butchart Gardens; they are designed in such a way that from a distance it looks like an oil painting. Spectacular! We also had High Tea in the beautiful restaurant there, which is worth the time and money and so much better than The Empress Hotel. No matter where we went, though, it was the best part of our day when we went back "home" to the Fairholme. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Olympic Grand Suite and catch it on a day when we could sit outside on the deck with a glass of wine. It couldn't get much better!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,052 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,802 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholme Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholme Manor

Address: 638 Rockland Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £102 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholme Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fairholme Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholme Manor Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing