We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
pandpd
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Amazing hospitality

Review of Fairholme Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2016via mobile
This B&B is comfortable in every way. The rooms are beautifully furnished and large. The Breakfast every day was wonderful. Sylvia, Ross and their team are so helpful and make the Fairholme 'The' place to stay in Victoria.

The location just out of town makes it quiet but with easy access to the surrounding area.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£258
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £295
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£173
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £173
1.2 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£198
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £198
1.3 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£167
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £167
1.2 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£287
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £287
1.8 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£349
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £349
1.5 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£272
  • Hotels.com
  • Delta Hotels
  • Booking.com
1.7 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    £220
  • Expedia.com
    £234
1.5 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £252
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Fairholme Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £370
  • travelup.com
1.3 miles from Fairholme Manor
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Victoria
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
304
13
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
13
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews government house craigdarroch castle gracious hosts second bedroom every morning b bs oak bay downtown victoria ross suite canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We had the most amazing room (I think it was called the Olympic Room) which was massive with a separate sun room and private balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was huge and the room was very comfortable with its own dining table and chairs in the alcove and sofa.

The breakfasts were also wonderful and Sylvia's home made granola is worth buying her cook book for.

Location is really good and about a 30 minute walk into Victoria Harbour, it is really quiet.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mazval
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The location is perfect in the quiet residential area of Oak Bay, our hosts were wonderful and helpful and our breakfasts were superb, what a chef! We enjoyed a good nights sleep every night and we're looking forward to going back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 587Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We had such a great time at Fairholme and are so sad to leave. The tranquility, the garden, the view and the food all wrapped together in one nice place, was superb!
We stayed in the Rose Garden Suite and enjoyed every minute. Perfect for our family of 4.
Thank you Sylvia, Ross and Susan for making our stay a true vacation! ;-)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SusanneBronnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

These people are really nice. The rooms are well-appointed with all the amenities you'd expect. The windows open to let in air, and serious shades keep out the northern summertime late-evening sun. The garden's lovely. The location's right next to Government House, with 30+ beautiful acres to stroll around, and a few blocks from Craigdarroch Castle, for those who like to tour grand old houses. Restaurant recommendations are on offer, including some you can walk to; you can also walk to the sea. Breakfast was plentiful, varied, delicious.
One quibble. B&B owners always tell you breakfast is served late because that's how their patrons want it. But on our last morning, when they agreed to start a little early for us so we wouldn't miss our ferry, I noticed that all the other guests showed up early as well. Hmmm.

Room tip: Gov't House has free concerts Thursdays 6–8 pm in the summer. Rooms right beside it are seriously noisy during them.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Upon our arrival, Sylvia welcomed us warmly with an explanation of the hotel, recommendations for dinner, a map of the island, and a brief tour of our penthouse guest suite. The manor was a bit hard to find because of our confused GPS but we found it after looking around. Our suite was prepared and clean, there were some complimentary tea and coffee in the kitchen and also some hygiene products. Sylvia also told us about the jacuzzi and gave us the wifi information. There was a lovely guestbook for guests to sign and I enjoyed writing in it. I was particularly satisfied with the view from the room and the comfort and welcoming atmosphere the room showed. Breakfast next day was delicious and was one of the highlights of our stay; we had homemade sweet breads, yogurt, strawberries, blueberries, granola, and well-prepared Benedict poached eggs. The eggs were laid on a crumpet with either the choice of ham, smoked salmon or spinach and topped with Hollandaise sauce. We were offered tea, coffee, or hot chocolate and were full and happy with all the food. Sylvia also has some cookbooks that were for purchase and had tons of traditional Fairholme recipes that were served on different days. I would come back ASAP because of the wonderful stay and the unique experience! I would recommend you to book early because Sylvia's place is usually booked and encourage you to book this because of our wonderful stay!

Room tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, please tell Sylvia as most rooms are on the second floor.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews