We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We fell in love with the inn on their website, and found the reality even better. The house and grounds are gorgeous, our room was even more beautiful than the photos online.....comfortable, spacious and spotless.
Breakfast was divine. Each morning the guests would happily compare notes on their days activities and dining experiences, most of which were arranged or suggested by Eliza and Liam.
The perfect place to stay in Victoria!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
183
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
446 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We have stayed at many B and Bs throughout the world and rank Marco Polo among the very best. To begin, the friendly staff helped us with all restaurant reservations, featuring only local places of high quality and reasonable prices. The inn itself was spectacular. Every detail finished to an impeccable standard. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. The mattress was firm and very comfortable. Common areas were spacious and well appointed. Outside featured a well attended garden. Breakfast could not have been better. Each course prepared and presented to perfection.... an absolute delicacy each time. We traditionally have used Karen Brown as a source for our accomodations. This is one she (missed and) would love.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Villa Marco Polo redefines the bed and breakfast experience. Nestled in a beautiful, garden-like setting, the Inn offers everything the weary traveller could hope for: gourmet breakfasts, palatial rooms and charming, dedicated hosts.
What a wonderful experience!

Karen B.

  • Liked — Spectacular breakfasts and stunning rooms
  • Disliked — A little removed from downtown
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThunderbirdsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto and the world
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We had our wedding ceremony and celebration at the Marco Polo.

From top to bottom, it was an excellent experience. Excellent host, decor, and food.

Easy parking, ensuite bathrooms, a den for lounging, fireplace, as well as walking distance to downtown, the water and Oak Bay.

I grew up in Victoria and there are not enough places like this B&B in town that offer elegance with modern style.

  • Liked — Comfortable, stlish, delicious
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay longer because we had a flight to catch
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elspethandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We loved Villa Marco Polo. The hospitality was warm, inviting and lovely. The food was out of this world. The inside of the home is luxurious and reminds us of our other favorite place...Italy. The grounds are beautifully maintained and designed. Our room, the Persian, spioled us as we came home to a much smaller and less decorated room!

We give this an outstanding two thumbs up!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank laborobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2007

My husband and I have traveled extensively in Europe and Asia. We both agreed that our choice of the Villa Marco Polo and Victoria could not have been more perfect. The peaceful Rockland neighborhood was close enough to the city and the water for easy access but felt far, far away from the somewhat exberant, touristy bustle of the Inner Harbor downtown area.
Our room was as nice as any we have ever experienced. We stayed in the Zanzibar room on the second floor with a magnificent view of the garden with the water and snow covered Olympia mountains in the background. Every detail had been attended to resulting in that rare combination of luxury and home-like comfort. Creating that kind of decor is an art that the proprietors of Villa Marco Polo have perfected in the rooms, the lovely library, the garden and the living room.
Breakfast was elegantly served, beautifully prepared delicious and healthy! What a switch from many B&B breakfasts that overwhelm one with fat and sugar!
This is no ordinary place. I can't wait to go back and have already emailed friends and family suggesting they put this Inn on their list of future vacations.

  • Liked — Beautiful environment, attention to detail, friendliness and knowledge of staff
  • Disliked — Had to leave too soon!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MimaNMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2007

My wife and I stayed there for a weekend getaway and loved it. It was my birthday and they went out of there way to surprise me with balloons and a strawberry daiquiri. Way over the top of what you would expect. Great breakfast and hospitality! Very clean and a very nice place to stay! They even made dinner reservations for us and were very knowledgeable about the area and the best places to eat. It was all and all a great weekend and they were very friendly and went out of their way to help with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jnahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,634 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,178 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marco Polo Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing