We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Spring Visit - beautiful, elegant and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Exquisite Spring Visit - beautiful, elegant and charming”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

From our initial contact through our departure, our experience at Villa Marco Polo Inn and Spa was exceptional in every way. My wife and I were celebrating our 34th anniversary with a three-day, three-night mother’s day weekend visit to Victoria. We arrived from the airport by taxi on the Friday evening to a warm reception by Liam Morton, co-owner and proprietor of the Inn. Liam, is a most personable, charming and knowledgeable host who is keen to provide guidance and offer suggestions for dining and sight seeing choices. Having chosen not to rent a vehicle, we got ourselves around Victoria on foot, by transit or taxi throughout our stay. The Villa is centrally located a pleasant 30 minute walk to downtown Victoria along Fort St. Lower Fort St. offers boutique and antique shops to browse through on your way into the old town.
We had not eaten prior to our arrival. Liam directed us to the Ross Bay Pub, a neighbourhood pub at the foot of St Charles St. at Ross Bay. It was exactly as he described. Offering good pub food, at reasonable prices, served by very attentive and friendly staff.

Booking
Booking was done on-line and availability information was accurate. Liam promptly returned our call to confirm booking details.

The room
We booked the Persia, a lovely Victorian style room with a view of the garden and reflecting pool. Most of the flowers were in bloom – it was beautiful! The room had a large walk-in closet with built-in dresser. The bed linens on the king size bed were very high quality as was the mattress. (and we are definitely linen and mattress snobs). The fully equipped en suite bathroom was very large with a sitting area and double Jacuzzi tub that offered a view of the gardens. Separate from the sitting area was the sink, toilet and large walk-in tile shower complete with a hand-held showerhead. There were ample plush bath and hand towels. There were even tea candles and matches provided for us to create a relaxing, romantic atmosphere. We highly recommend this room.

Breakfast
The highlight of each day was the perfectly portioned, five course, gourmet breakfast. Each breakfast consisted of a fruit and yogurt smoothie, fruit cup, warm pastry or muffin, hot egg dish and a “dessert”. Each day was different. Even the charger plates were different colours. All food was prepared in-house, using quality, fresh ingredients. The cuisine appealed to our discriminating pallets. (we’re food snobs too).

Housekeeping
We were immediately struck by the extreme cleanliness of the Villa. it was immaculate, not a speck of dust anywhere!
Each morning, while we were at breakfast, our bed was made and towels left in the tub were replaced. Every evening the bed was turned down and dark and milk chocolates were elegantly presented on a ring pillow in a silver and glass container.

Celebration Package
We purchased the celebration package, which consisted of a dozen roses, gourmet chocolates, made locally in Victoria, and a chilled bottle of very nice semi dry method champignons wine.

Spa
On our anniversary, we pampered ourselves with massages and a pedicure in the penthouse spa Hamaam. The oak trimmed and open beam surroundings were elegant and soothing. The spa also overlooked the garden. Our massage therapists / esthetician, Ricardo and Sandra were a very pleasant and attentive husband & wife team who took very good care of us. The pace was leisurely and the deep tissue massages we had were thorough and exactly what we needed. The pedicure, provided by Sandra, included a soothing foot and calf massage.

We consider our stay an exceptional, shoulder season, value. We highly recommend going to Victoria at this time of year, the weather is pleasant and the flora and fauna are in glorious bloom. Our weekend get-away experience at The Villa Marco Polo ranks among our top three B&B stays across North America, Continental Europe and Australia.

Room Tip: We highly recommend rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
185
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We spent our wedding night at the Marco Polo Inn and can not say how much we enjoyed the experience. To return to our beautifully appointed room after the reception, the house so quiet and inviting with it's elegant furnishings and air of old world charm was a perfect ending to a perfect day. As late as it was, our host, showed perfect hospitality when he brought us an ice bucket to chill our champagne, thank you Liam ! The four course breakfast was more than I could possibly eat - each bite delicious, I especially appreciated the espresso. I have to say I would have been happy to spend several more days enjoying the ambience of the Marco Polo.

Room Tip: Only four rooms to choose from, each lovely and spacious with large bathrooms. There is a spa on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Excellent place for people to enjoy vacation in victoria,Best B&B ever.. My girlfriend and I went and found it very relaxing and private .Excellent place for people to enjoy vacation in victoria,Best B&B ever.. My girlfriend and I went and found it very relaxing and private .Excellent place for people to enjoy vacation in victoria,Best B&B ever.. My girlfriend and I went and found it very relaxing and private .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Villa Marco Polo Inn is a wonderful place for a romantic get-away. My husband and I went and found it very relaxing and private. Liam and the staff are very friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and so beautiful and spacious. The jacuzzi off the bedroom was perfect for unwinding and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and 5 star quality.You could also request specific foods if you have dietary preferences. It really did feel like we had escaped the fast-pass life and were in a world of our own. We enjoyed the experience and would highly recommend staying at this Inn over any other in Victoria.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

During my niece's Spring Break we decided to spend a night in Victoria. A few years ago when we came for the first time, we stayed at the Empress Hotel off of the harbor, a very elegant, but expensive venture. I browsed for something more affordable and the Villa Marco Polo came up. We booked a room immediately and we're so glad we did. Upon arrival, Liam sat down with us and really made sure we had all of our bases covered. He asked us about dinner plans and helped us book a fantastic restaurant (The Clay Pigeon, we loved it!) Our room was exquisite, even though it was the smallest of all the suits. After settling in and going to dinner, we came home to find he had fluffed the pillows for us and gotten the bed sleep-ready with a few after-dinner chocolates waiting for us in a delicate golden tin. Since I'm an early riser, Liam had even prepared a pot of coffee for me to complete my mourning routine. The breakfast in the morning was exquisite. He really spoiled us with course after course of fresh, unique and delicious foods. We had time to walk around the beautiful gardens and sit in the library, and upon checking out Liam reminded us that we had our luggage that we would have to carry around in town all day before our ferry left at 4pm. He even offered to drop the luggage off at the ferry dock at 3:30! He really thought ahead for us and made sure that we were well taken care of! I know you said that this experience would be different than the one we had at the Empress, and it was - it was better!!! Thanks again Liam! We hope to be back soon and will recommend you to all our friends and family going that way! - Janice and Tanisha

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I promised to review this beatifull Inn earlier, but I didn't got the chance (because of work). So sorry, Liam.

My wife (27y) and I (30y) went there early december 2012 (honeymoon). It was our way to relaxe after two weeks skiing in Whistler.

If you want the full romantic package, book this inn!

It is really lovely and the decoration is superb. They have paid lots of attention to the details and therefore it looks absolutely stunning.

The rooms were clean and spacious. We have booked the smallest (and also the cheapest) room, but that was perfect for us. Everything is luxious and of great quality, from the bedsheet to the shower curtain.

Furthermore, we got a very hearty greeting from the proprieter, Liam. He's truly very helpfull (he helped us book a whale tour and gave plenty usefull tips for restaurants) and on top of it he makes the best breakfast ever!!!

At the time we were the only two guests in the entire inn, so we got to talk to him alot and he told us all about Victoria and the history of the inn. Great guy.

The location of this inn is also pretty good. It's in a high class neighbourhood (so not a backalley), but it's still pretty close to downtown victoria. 20 mins walk to the centre.

Just book it if you want a romantic vacation (or short stay like us). You won't be disappointed.

Gunnar & Rosanne Oudshoorn
The Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We went to the Marco Polo Inn for our honeymoon over Christmas. We absolutely loved it! We actually missed our ferry for the first night, but Liam was extremely accommodating and we felt as if we were talking to an old friend whenever we dealt with him. He also gave us some very good advice and ideas on restaurants and places to tour. The breakfasts were superb! Very well prepared and presented! We were upgraded to the Persia Suite when we stayed. The room was gorgeous and so perfect. We rarely heard a peep from the other guests; we almost felt like we had the entire house to ourselves. This is definitely a place worth the stay! We hope to be back for an anniversary in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marco Polo Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing